a butterfly alights upon her finger

Image

image

Trista,

dear daughter in law,

wished for this sight,

Hendrix held his breath,

Lara,

Marley,

Landen,

Makyah,

Unbelieving,

Impatient,

Sought the fish pond,

Warm, misty whispers

magical inferences of

sincerity and kindness

attracted the solitary butterfly,

black with white and red spots

came visiting as it fluttered by,

decided to take a rest to everyone’s

amazement and delight,

baby Hendrix’s mouth

open in surprise!

The photo was taken
by my son, James.

We were all at the:

Franklin Park
Conservatory.

Quite a
Surprising,
Exceptional,
Extraordinary day!

56 responses »

    • I am glad you enjoyed my sharing this, Jill. My son didn’t let me close enough to get a full photo of the baby. (Imagine that! πŸ™‚ )
      Now that I look at the photo, I do appreciate the emphasis on the butterfly! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Dan. I probably would have tried to get a more full photograph of the group. I now appreciate the emphasis my son’s photo has on the actual butterfly!

    • Oh, it was magical seeing the family gathered and even the baby looking so full of wonder, Jennie.
      I was happy to hear you had a butterfly land on your camera lens, but wished it had been on a place where you could have captured it. It is indeed a wonderful memory to have stored in your mind.

  1. You captured a remarkable moment, Robin. Our wonder and awe of nature is reawakened when we witness a child’s wonder and awe as they witness a natural beauty for the first time. – Mike

    • That’s right, Anneli! πŸ™‚ Great reason to present things to babies and young children.
      Lifelong learning.
      I was talking to a co-worker and mentioned the baby liking the butterfly. She said she waited until her babies were in school considering places like the zoo and conservatory “a waste of time and money.” I tried not to give a lecture but said maybe once she has grandies she might change her mind. Plus, the older children enjoyed how the baby reacted. Lara’s going to be 12; I have the photo where no one told her to lok at the baby instead of the butterfly but her eyes are clearly observing Hendrix. πŸ™‚

      • I know that my mother had a lot of influence in teaching me to love animals and nature. Some of those early memories are pretty far back. She was teaching and mothering from day one. Why wait until you’re in school to start learning things? There’s so much we can learn to appreciate long before then.

    • We are in 100% agreement, Anneli. I am happy your mother started early with appreciation for nature and animals. I remember some toddler lessons in art, music and listening to my parents who read aloud to us. The beach as a child was full of exciting elements of sand, water, sun and endless sky. πŸ™‚

    • Lara is the big sister and I see her loving eyes watching her baby brother. This was a special double pleasure of the moment, Diana. πŸ™‚ I was the big sister and feel a “kinship” to Lara, my son’s oldest step child and my oldest daughter’s son, Skyler.

    • Experiences of nature connect us all in so many ways. Family bonds are made stronger in these small, but remarkable moments, Eric. Thank you for this great comment! πŸ™‚

    • Natalie, you know how this feels! πŸ™‚ Thanks, sweetie. Happy moments in families are certainly worth making and re-telling. Is it over another week when you have your surgery? I am at oldest daughter’s and trying to remember. It is on calendar at home. ❀ xoxo

    • Debra, it certainly was a joyful day! πŸ™‚ I have enjoyed how you take your granddaughters to the beautiful conservatory by your area you live in. I have enjoyed escaping into the fantastic photos on your blog.

Leave a Reply

