Randy’s mural, “The Past” ~ part 1

Image

image

There is a glare due to fluorescent

lights but a Grand Opening event,

~ April 13 – -April 17, 2016 ~

Red ribbon cutting and samples

of natural foods, meats and pies.

Homemade oatmeal bread,

Salted caramel or Buckeye bars,

Caramel “turtles” with pecan “feet,”

Bacon chocolate chip cookies,

Tallow homemade candles,

Frozen homemade ham loaves,

Frozen homemade meat loaves,

(Instructions on baking included)

Grain and grass fed beef,

Grain fed pork and bacon

with other choices to buy.

Under my brother’s mural,

notice barn siding countertop,

with linseed oil rubbed into

the grainy, worm-holed wood.

Bluescreek Farm Market has been

for 30 years a “staple” or booth

manned by this farming family,

in the North Market. Their meats

became popular and parking crowded,

loyal customers declared they would

drive to this brand new location of,

“Bluescreek Meat Market and More!”Β 

My brother took a couple of weeks

to paint two walls in this room

and another smaller mural

~ cows in pasture ~

over refrigerated case of meats.

Bluescreek Farm has been around

for generations in Marysville, Ohio.

Randy D. Oldrieve was commissioned,

given numerous family and friends’

photographs to place in the two walled

murals.Β  The boy climbing the tree,

the boy holding beloved cat,

the timeline goes from

right to left.

Past,

Present,

Future.

Horse drawn buggy with lettering

of the farm traveled to customers

with fresh meats, fish and produce.

There is portrait of grandparents.

Later, the blue van with refrigerated

storage went up and down

country roads to serve.

Driver is owner’s Dad.

A white van with all the

modern conveniences is

driven by family member,

Jamie in red shirt and glasses.

Young mother and most motivated

business entrepreneur.

You’ll see this and much more.

As guests Thursday evening, we

were regaled with family stories,

humorous pranks and tales.

Jamie is who hired my brother to

paint the family portraits in time

for the “soft opening” on 13th.

The cows are in their own mural

over the meat counter, with the

artist posing in next photograph.

X x x x X x x x X

Proud big sister of artist didn’t

take the best photos, but just

wanted to say this market place

is located on Ste Rte. 42,Β 

300 yards from Rte. 736.

There are a few more

painted parts of murals

to share. No need to

comment on all.

If you live in

Central Ohio,

fantastic

weather

for a drive

in the

country.

Try free samples!

33 responses »

    • Thank you, Beth! I am catching up slowly but surely on a few posts I dropped the ball on! Thanks for heading over to Marissa’s blog and checking out her amazing and fun style of poetry! You will have a blast there! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Derrick. I appreciate your looking at this and admiring his mural. I know you would like my artist brother and my running professor brother, too. I have no sisters so this was Randy and you checked out the marathon running brother, already. Sorry I am late and dropped the ball on responses! πŸ™‚

  1. Your brother is lucky to be so talented. I’m in awe. I can only imagine how difficult it is to paint a piece this big with such attention to detail. Sounds like a fun event too.

    • Anneli, can you believe I got so busy that I only checked out one of my mural posts and wrote replies! I am so “bad” at keeping up with my blog. But, I do feel that everyone enjoyed Randy’s mural! Thank you for your really nice comment about walking right into the field. It took him two weeks of long days but he placed about 20 family portraits into this mural. The family were very pleased, so was I to be at the Opening Event! πŸ™‚

  2. Add me to the list of folks who are impressed. I love the way it changes the room from (what I would imagine would feel) small to something that looks like you’re almost outside. Very nicely done!

    • Dan, thank you belatedly for this excellent comment. I wrote back responses on one of the mural posts and dropped the ball on this one! I am thinking it did widen up the room and made you feel like you were in a movie or on a set or in the past, depending on the place you stood. I like that on the other post, you said you would enjoy eating here. πŸ™‚

      • You’re welcome Robin. I had to think, because you just had a post on a mural and I didn’t remember wanting to eat there. I looked again. I really do like that mural.

      • Sorry I missed your comment on this one. Soon will get to the waterfall post. Thank you for liking this farm history mural. πŸ™‚

    • Natalie, I was very “bad” and didn’t read all of my comments on the mural posts. I think I only responded to the other one! Anyway, you are so right! The food was delicious, I took a piece of the pie home and two kinds of candies. My daughter and brother bought some of the meat. I would like to go back soon, it is only half an hour away, to get the ham loaf, which is covered with a syrupy topping including pineapples. It comes with baking instructions and looks delicious! πŸ™‚

      • I like pineapple rings on a ham with cloves, too. I used to choose ham loaf at a local restaurant, but they changed owners and they don’t serve it anymore. I could learn but the cost for this at this fresh meat market was reasonable. I could slice it in half and freeze it. Too bad I couldn’t buy it, bake it and make a meal for you and your husband, James. πŸ™‚

  3. Your brother is really talented, and those murals are all so lovely! Sounds like a great place to eat n’ shop! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    • Joey, thank you so much for this lovely comment. I was pleased to show Randy off but didn’t get back to reply to both the posts. . . I appreciate your comment about Randy’s artwork. I also believe you would visit this and purchase some of the delicious choices here. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

