Four days till the Full Pink Moon and Earth Day

Image

image

By the

Light of the

silvery moon. . .

Lavender,

soft grey,

pink and blue

lend a calm sense of

everything surrounding the

early evening sky as the Moon rises.

Not “full” but spreading moonlight

upon partial days and nights.

Where would we be without

the “Pull” from the Moon?

No waves crashing,

Less wacky

institutionalized residents.

No nursing home folks uprising.

Changes and mood swings

bring ebullience and exuberance.

Sadness creeping, lurking in

lonely song lyrics.

Life is unpredictable and hence,

we go with the

ebb and flow.

Water would not be considered

High nor Low.

64 responses »

    • The moon definitely is awesome and I need to meet your daughter some day, I think we are generations apart but “kindred spirits.” I love that she always has enjoyed it from long ago as a baby. You have allowed her to seek her natural interests. May I ask which month she was born in, Marissa? Just curious, not that I believe in horoscopes. 🙂

  1. We are scheduled to have clear skies. Of course, four days is a long time for a weatherman to be right. I do love the moon, Robin. I hope the skies accommodate us.

    • Yes, it is hard to capture it, sometimes it comes out blurry. I felt this was pretty good picture considering it was daylight still, Dan. I hope the skies accommodate us, too. Maybe you and Maddie will be out on your nightly walk?

    • Oh, sorry about terrifying you, Colleen. I don’t think you should be scared when the moon is out nor the stars. Now, when there are no stars nor moon, I do get a little nervous in the dark. My grandies love flashlight walks and I need to get another one since one of the “mechanics” in my brood, took one apart and lost the spring! Smiles, Robin

      • Love those mechanical quizzical minds!

        Oh I’m scared of the moon it’s self. I will stare at it with wonder and appreciation.

        It’s the effect it has on things here that makes me nervous. 😉

    • Cindy, dear. You are such a kind person to say the insightful part. I started out with a focus but in the middle started to ramble. . . hugs sent your way for reading and admiring the moon coming out during the early evening sky. 🙂

    • I don’t quite know why the Native Americans named their April full moon “pink” but I do notice the skies in the morning and evening seem more pink instead of orange. . . Maybe just because. I do think that having worked four years in a nursing home as an Activities Director, the nurses and nurse’s aides were adamant that the people were quite “off” during the full moon cycle.
      Diana, I like that in your fantasy books you have full moons and you name them according to the stories and legends that are passed on by your characters. 🙂

    • I used to post monthly calendars and would tell everyone about the Native American names for the moons, sometimes there are a few different ones, Sarah. It was easy to look up by writing the month and adding Native American full moon and the whole schedule comes out. 🙂

    • Sylvia, what a wonderful thing to say. I felt I started with a purpose but I began to ramble a bit. . . I appreciate you liking the way the moon was and I felt considering I used a cell phone during daylight, early evening time, it came out rather clear, if I do say so, myself! 🙂

    • I still remember the word of the day is “dewlap,” Sylvia. 😉 Unless I take a photo of its orange splendour, I don’t know how to give the word it’s “due.” Happy Tuesday!

    • Lana, you have a delightful way of rounding up the better parts in my posts and ignoring the lesser ones. Thanks for this perceptive way you have.
      When you were a young child, hanging with exceptional, older but wiser, grandmother provided clarity. Plus it helps you have a real knack for using words. 😉

      • Oh Robin, I really don’t think there is anything “lesser” in your wonderful posts. I enjoy the verses and the way you put them together in neat little arrangements. You provide terrific slice of life, daily life pieces, share your love of architecture and historic places and remind us all how precious family time is. Thanks for sharing the neat family outings and photos of happy grands that also remind me of the light in this world. Likewise, I enjoy your posts on moons and the heavens showing a part of the miracle that is the cosmos and how many of your posts deal with the beauty in nature.

    • Exactly! I saw Cindy with her coyotes and pool to provide water for them. Good looking out for the insane asylum escapees and others who may not be noticed who go crazy around this time

  2. Alok hit it spot on, that poem was flawless. I’m looking for poets to review my pieces on gastradamus. Poets always have a very unique perception to things and I would love to have that opinion of poets at my blog, because at least I know they’ll tell me the truth.

    • Please forgive my late reply and I will possibly have a busy week. I work at an auto parts warehouse 9 to 10 hour days. Thank you for you compliment and please be patient with me. Smiles, Robin

      • Oh wow, it’s so nice to hear back from you at Gastradamus. It’s been a treat, I will say. Please comment and let me know what you think of my writing style in, Hooters Favors implants.

Leave a Reply

