Thursday’s Doors ~ OWU Stuyvesant Hall (full shot)

Image

image

Sunshine and bright weather coaxed

me to take a leisurely walk through

campus. This building has been

irresistible to me since I arrived!

I like the 1930 construction but feel

its stately appearance imitates early

Colonial period and feel it

truly is conducive to learning.

It houses 237 students within its walls.

Here are some of interesting facts

about Stuyvesant Hall, the largest

dormitory at Ohio Wesleyan University:

~ There are three wings which have 

“suites”  on co-ed floors, same sex

roommates in each suite, four

students in total occupancy.

Two rooms connected with one shared 

bathroom and two shared closets,

one in each double room.

~The building has a bell tower, one

elevator to accommodate handicapped,

nice courtyard and an original “smoking

lounge” with a stage and occupancy of

up to 100 people in the audience.

This lounge and communal area

has been called since it was built,

“The Milligan Hub.”

~ The entire building’s nickname

is affectionately known as “The Sty.”

(Wonder if any of the rooms look

like my grown teenager’s “pig sties?”)

Casual performances occur here, small

concerts and plays.

~There is a much larger auditorium in 

Chappelier Theater on Park Avenue.

The largest venue on campus is

located in my “neighbor’s” Gray Chapel.

(You may remember my December

post or my “castle in  winter” you

may see from my apt. front porch.)

~ This dormitory’s only Sophomores,

Juniors or Seniors allowed.

~ There are large study rooms

located on each floor, along with

one trash room for every floor.

~ There is only one eating area with

kitchen appliances and microwaves

on the central area of the building.

~ I was surprised to read there is only

one vending machine area located in

the only laundry room.

~ There are 6 resident advisors with

two supervisory staff for the dorm.

~ Stuyvesant has its own Student

Health Center. This should reassure

the students’ parents!

This D
ormitory Hall and it’s doors

which don’t face the front, is part

of Norm Frampton’s Thursday’s Doors,

please follow the link to view wonderful

group of fellow blogging participants at:

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

Thanks for looking at the front view,

as well as the full view of

Stuyvesant Hall.

Hope you enjoyed living vicariously

through this post in what I consider

the prettiest dormitory ever.

*This is not a paid endorsement

nor did I attend college here.

I chose for my family to move to this

town due to the attractive and

busy downtown area and

it’s being a college town.*

Did you ever move somewhere

not knowing a single person?

It amazes me that three of my old

high school classmates of 1974

from Cleveland suburb ended up

here, only finding this out after a

living here a few years later.

44 responses »

    • Isn’t it? BGSU had mainly plain or modern style buildings with less heritage or meaning. This is a pretty place to walk around and thank you for joining me, Beth. πŸ™‚

  1. It’s definitely a beautiful building! Did you consult the brochure for this one? I’ve never lived in a dorm. Frankly I don’t think I could take the lack of privacy but I guess a lot of college students have fun during those years.

    • Marissa, having 2 brothers and no sisters, living in a dorm was a big adjustment for me. πŸ˜‰
      Almost every door post has the date of the building and as much information I can find. It does sounds like a brouchure. πŸ™‚ This one had history as a kind of theater in the Hub story. Thanks for asking about who I referenced. The internet has posts from the university information so parents and students get to know the campus ahead of time.

      • Yes, I’m sure. All of this is so foreign to me. I went to college almost as a place holder. I just went to the closest one and rode my bike there.

      • I like that you rode a bike to college, Marissa. πŸ™‚ I worked 2 summers at an amusement park (Cedar Point) on Lake Erie (ages 17 and 19). We all lived in dormitories and rode a ferry to town on our days off. My 15th summer got my first going away “bug” and babysat as a nanny one town away from home. The next year, I stayed in Rockport, Massachusetts with my great aunt and great uncle and worked in their pharmacy at the candy counter. Just liked trying new things. My biggest regret was getting married at age 22, while I should have tried living alone. Cannot look back though, since I love my first 2 children from marrying my college sweetheart, Marissa. My last child was from my second husband who ironically went to school with my first husband and I met him 3 hours away from their Cincinnati roots. My first husband thought he was a “nice guy and shy.” Strange, huh?

      • That is strange! Well, at least you have lived through interesting times! Yes, marrying at 22 in awfully young, especially in this day and age. My mother married when she was 22 and also ended in divorce but had me and my sister. I guess the kids make it all worthwhile.

    • Derrick, the area inside the courtyard, in the summer when students mostly head home, there is a sense of quiet and serenity. The Ohio Wesleyan University is based on the Methodist religion but one doesn’t have to belong to attend here. I feel the students take college seriously but there are big parties and music blaring in the Fall.

  2. That was well done, I like the amount of passion going into this piece. We at Gastradamus love you and we think your beautiful. We really need great authors like yourself to review our stories, they are edgy and need opinions from excusit writers like yourself

    • I am glad you think this is gorgeous, Sylvia. I showed this photo to several local residents and 3of 4 had never walked around campus. They said it was beautiful.
      At Christmas, I featured a building where the Central Ohio Symphonic Orchestra plays (Gray Chapel which looks like a castle) and they never buy tickets ($20 for adults, less for children and seniors) nor go to the theater on campus either. Sad but you know how to explore and expand your horizons! πŸ˜‰

    • Sarah, I didn’t have a sister and had 2 brothers so dorm life was a rather big adjustment! I can picture the shared closets since my youngest, Felicia’s college, UD had a long closet on one wall. The girls put their beds with heads on opposite wall and feet towards closet wall. We brought a small dresser and F. put it in her side of the closet to keep socks, underwear, etc in it. They shared a small refrigerator, between two desks on perpendicular wall with windows.
      I remember buying footers to raise the bed and she slid large tubs under her bed. πŸ™‚

      • My freshman year roommate and I were both used to having our own, large rooms at home – things were not easy when we were suddenly forced to live with someone else, in addition to the general issues with adjusting to life away from home for the first time. Our troubles were only exacerbated by having one of the smallest dorm rooms on campus – I think it may have been smaller (or at least close to the size) of both of our rooms at home, and suddenly there was someone else in that space. Needless to say, things did not go so well at all times. On the plus side, we can still talk and get along (at least, with the many years in between that time and now to help forget the problems, we can do so!).

  3. Yes, I love it too. I think you and I both share a fondness for traditional style. I do live in a city with many universities, but it’s not a college town. We had hoped / planned to live in a college town, we’d aimed for Champaign-Urbana when we relocated, but the job came here, and so we stayed.
    Yes, I have moved many, many times in my life where I knew no one. The Army move to Georgia was the only one as an adult though, and it was not a great move. I did end up meeting some fabulous people, but it took a long time, and initially, great effort. Great stuff comes from great risks πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

