Building Castles in the Air

Image

image

The distant purple clouds,

Rolling and billowing were

hard to capture,

~ Like lassoing wild horses,

~ Like rounding up  toddlers

or children at playgrounds,

~ Like catching the so-called

“most eligible bachelor in town,”

~ Like those silly greased pig

contests where everyone ends

up empty-handed.

The dreamy clouds looked like

snow capped mountains,

where overlook paths

display beautiful,

faraway vistas,

Only in my

dreams.

Photograph taken
by reocochran,
April, 2016.
Original
words.

Building castles
in the air may have
come from the book,
“Walden,” (1854) by
Henry David Thoreau.

Not too long later,
you may find a chapter
in Louisa May Alcott’s
book, “Little Women,”
published in 1870.

44 responses »

    • The colored beads strung together is such a nice image to give me. I am pleased you enjoy my words I put in my posts. Yours are such lovely words that I take this as a high compliment, Emu.

  1. Hi Robin,

    As a child I could never understand the meaning of this phrase – ‘building castles in the air’! Now I build many and they are so beautiful, with ‘vast vistas’…providing such a beautiful view of all the hues of the sky and the earth looks fantastic from those castles. πŸ™‚
    Loved this poem! Was it inspired from the picture or vice-versa?

    • Balroop, I really am honored you liked these poetic thoughts. I am truly not a poet; you are one! I like how your imagination wasn’t as open when you were very young but now, as an adult, you can see far and wide from your own personal castle. The sky changes but does seem to hold so much beyond what the eyes can see. Thank you for sharing this with me. Hugs, Robin

    • Marissa, you rhyme and add a tempo to your words which I WISH I could do! ❀
      Thanks for saying this one was better than others, since I did take some time to rewrite this one!
      I think it would be fun to try catching a greased pig. πŸ˜€
      I have tried the log rolling contest at the Ohio State Fair!

      • Ha! Didn’t mean this one was better than the others! That would be kind of a backwards compliment! Ha, ha! Just noticed a little more poetry here. Greased pigs and log rolling could be fun. Remind me not to wear my heels!

    • No, I like to know which posts have more interesting content and I think your comment was positive and helpful to me, Marissa. Sometimes hearing “that’s great” (or pretty) means more if you know why.
      No heels but boots may work! πŸ™‚

    • I am glad you share plenty of beauty from places you travel to. No need for imagination when you have real mountains and Castles to climb and explore! Thank you, S n S for this lovely comment. xo

    • Merril, there are a few effusive friends but I am not fool enough to feel I am a poet. πŸ™‚ Your poem would be lovely to read. I hope soneday you will find the image which represents your poetry.
      Sometimes I will say “poetic thoughts,” as a way of expressing the words are my own. Thank you for your visit today. I wish to let you know, spring and summer season I work longer hours so if you see a bunch of likes and comments from here on, you will know I am busy catching up. Smiles, Robin

    • Judy Collins wrote in her lyrics an extra detail to the old expression, Castles in the air. She says, “Ice cream castles in the air. . .” I will look up when the expression came about. It is not mine nor Judy C’s, but longer ago. . .

    • Thank you, Amy. I wrote a series of road trip posts last week and mentioned I was going “off the grid.” I plan on catching up with your blog tonight. πŸ™‚

  2. This is beautiful. I love the title, too. Hubby used to hold our son up in the air when he was a baby and say “Castle’s in the air!” and he would giggle and giggle.

    • Those purple clouds were rolling quickly and came out blurry, Sylvia. I had to keep retaking them. The closer and higher clouds were like stretched cotton and “held in place.” I was imagining with my grandies lassoing clouds! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

