Flowering trees “Out of the shadows”

Image

image

I hope you remember the ‘shadowy

silhouettes in black’ of these two

trees, where branches were

beautifully intersecting. . .

Now, you won’t have

a scary picture of

the trees which

“guard” on both

sides of my

apartment

building

entrance.

** ** **

Photo by

Robin,

putting

a positive “spin”

on natural scenery

found in an

unlikely

location!

÷ ÷ ÷ ÷ ÷

There are dividing words,

÷

There are combining or joining words,

+

I feel compelled that I was about to

express these words on another’s

post. It may be wrong but I have to

express these on my own post in

reaction to someone’s thoughts on~

“Oneness”

by Robin O. Cochran

“Being ‘One’ with nature,

means you love and feel content

among trees, plants, weeds, flowers. . .

Nature’s company is enough at times.

~~~ *** ~~~

I was wondering if I looked at the

history of ‘One’ and I pondered upon

‘Loving One’s neighbors as yourself’

and

‘Being One nation under God.’

Maybe ‘One’ seems unrealistic,

as you suggested in rejecting concept.

Your saying~ ‘Maybe we should

focus on our differences,’

I must reply~

‘Emphasizing how

we aren’t the same,

has NEVER worked!

“We are all One”

in my mind.

Bringing people together was

what drew millions of people to

this place where I still embrace

the concept of a ‘melting pot.’

A response to an unnamed blog,

which sounded reasonable

to a certain degree:

If we admit we are

all different we may

have a better chance

of understanding each other.

In my mind and other’s, this

thought breaks down and

separates people into groups

of “Us” and “Them.”

I must reject this concept

whole-heartedly and

continue to embrace

“Oneness.”

You may express

anything you wish

here or on your

blog but I will

believe in

MLK, Jr,

Malcolm X

and Nelson Mandela:

Together we will overcome differences.

Thank you for time you took reading.

Peace be with you.”

~Robin

46 responses »

    • We are always “on the same page,” or close to it. I love your proverb today and grandies, Beth. Today, we have the seeds of Peace and Love, your grandchildren and mine, plus others out there, just wanting for us all to get along. . . ❤

    • Thanks, Jill. As you drive through two gates into our parking lot, there are two trees on either side. It really looks better from the car. I live in a three story apt building which has a verandah with white pillars. People have to be buzzed in and have sticker on windshield or get towed.

    • This is a way which includes needing to see differences, Derrick. I think this is what the writer of the other blog was saying.
      I guess I like the way children playing in a sandbox share and build castles and roads, but don’t stop to stare or focus on how the other person looks on the outside.

    • I am glad you have had such open, loving children, Derrick. The photos you took of your grandchildren radiate beauty. Thanks for your contribution to this comments section.

    • Marissa, you remembered! It is funny how in the dark, with shadows playing on the wall, they did look “ominous!”
      The thoughts people express here, including yours, are very thoughtful. Thank you.

    • Aww, April. The answer to ours and MLK, Jr’s dream would be so awesome. ❤
      Why haven't I seen your posts in my reader? (How were your trips? Or was it an extra long double trip?:) )
      I have to admit I have been "flying by the seat of my pants" while blogging.

    • I checked out your country (small town) home post and you certainly tackled some challenging projects, April. I think you, your husband and family will visit this home and celebrate holidays there for years to come! 🙂

      • I hope so. I have been going back and forth whether or not I would be happy there or near one of my kids. It’s a hard decision, but we are taking it one day at a time.

  1. That tree almost looks like it’s covered with snow! So different from those shadowy limbs. Beautiful statement at the end, Robin. Divisions and separation do nothing for the world, where finding common ground and acknowledging our common humanity is the work of compassion and peace.

    • I am glad you remembered the bare branches which in the dark look different from these “snowy” ones. The white pom poms (blossoms) do look like tiny snowballs!
      Diana, you summed up much more clearly and beautifully what I was trying to express about oneness. Thank you.
      It is awkward when I try to explain why examining differences just doesn’t sound hospitable nor welcoming. I embrace different foods but would try to provide a buffet of choices, including the guest’s and my own. Breaking bread is another way to feel “at one” with someone. Marriage includes the words, “and two shall become one. . .”

    • Thanks, Pauline for liking these trees. Every morning, when I have been heading off to work this Spring, I see two sets of these on either side of the parking lot. My friends tell me not to give too many details, they fear an avid, “rabid” reader will stalk me.
      “Living it as best we can” is a helpful way of explaining how to proceed in our one-ness.

  2. Hi Robin, that is a very thought provoking writing, I like the way you have exposed the use of the word One.
    At the end of the day I like to think that we are One Planet with One Mankind, it’s only Man who has dissected and torn apart the word One, to fit their own definition based on personal beliefs.
    Cheers.

    • Hi, dear Ian. I was hoping you would weigh in on this conversation. I like how you almost give the equation of One Planet = One Mankind. In children, unless you say: “Don’t play with so and so,” kids don’t care. I have noticed with my grandies, on our public beaches along Delaware Reservoir, they will run up and start splashing and playing. . . why can’t we, as adults? It just hurts. . . hugs xo

    • I am glad you liked seeing my flowering “sentinels” that stand on either side of the gate. Thank you for sharing how you feel about emphasizing differences among humanity.

  3. One. That is a beautiful word. I teach this every day in the smallest of ways, because those little moments of acknowledging ‘one’ are the building blocks for accepting ‘one’. Thank you, Robin.

    • Nia, you are really spending some time here. Thank you for loving this image! ❤
      I agree, the contrast between white flowers and branches help this picture. I wasn't sure if you remember the atmospheric, shadowy night picture of the tree, but I like driving into my parking lot and seeing these trees. It designates "home" to me.

  4. Pingback: Unite – Simply Snapshots

Leave a Reply

