Art on a Wall (#1 in a series)

Image

image

This wall is part of my art series,

please check the others out.

~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~

The hills are rolling with

grassy green, shadows of

trees creating natural patterns.

There is a wall with beautiful colors

painted by OWU art students to

create rainbows, flashes and points

of multiple reflections of nature:

~ Like a floral bouquet,

~ Same as those in beach balls,

~ Umbrellas displayed in an urn,

~ Enhancing feathers of a peacock,

~ Resembling around the world fruits,

~ Multiple costumed children in parade.

***************

What do you think of when

a vast palatte of colors

presents itself to YOU?

61 responses »

  1. I have developed a liking for Art on walls since my visit to Chile, done beautifully it really is delightful and eye catching, I think many graffito’s now are realising that they can actually do good artwork over and above the normal graffiti.
    I enjoyed your description.
    Cheers.

    • I think this mural was done in the Pointillism style, approved by the university since it was very time-consuming with little dots to produce this lovely image, Ian. I also like random art and fantastic, magnificent paintings in galleries of major Art Museums. . . πŸ™‚ Cheers to you and Ana! ❀

    • Since it is on OWU campus property, I assume that it was pre-approved with a drawing or proposal. I love the way it looks far away but also, close up! Thanks for finding it tastefully done, Jill. Have a wonderful weekend! xo

    • Yes, art comes in all sorts of packages, big and small. I still love the magnificence of major art galleries but the special permanent “exhibit” probably was pre-approved since it had to take lots of hours on end. Each point or dot is about the size of a one inch paintbrush “dab!” Thanks, Diane for coming and sharing the view! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, dear Amy! ❀ I loved your "babies" on your post today. So quenching my thirst for wonder and amazement!
      This artwork must have had to go through the proper channels at OWU because each dot or dab of the paintbrush was about one inch big! I wish I had seen it being exectuted and seen how many students it took to make this about 20 feet long wall transform. An interesting side story which ended rather badly is they used to pile up bales of straw or hay so the kids could slide down this hill and stop before hitting the cement wall. I lived across the street so I let my kids go over any time as a group of three. My seven year old at the time, Felicia, broke through the bales and hit her head and suffered a concussion! I remember how awful I felt that I had not gone over to check the depth of the bales, because my oldest two had mentioned the straw was flying when they had come home for lunch that day to warm up and then headed back out. . . I also remember the care the pediatrician took to call as I had taken her to the hospital and he had MET us at the door of the Emergency Room. How many doctors do this?! I always feel so blessed by this, since he explained and actually gave me a flashlight, he wondered of my finances and whether I had one at home to look at her pupils and make sure they dilated every two hours. He also wrapped her head in a blue gauze with padding, which he teased her and called her, "Smurfette!" She didn't really feel the pain after hours of icing and she doesn't remember the x-rays or the one MRI. Hugs to you, and many Happy Days ahead as you start your Brand New Year in this world, Dear Amy!! ❀ xoxoxo

    • Yes to Art in all forms and sizes, Beth!! πŸ™‚ ❀
      My only regret is I didn't see it being produced, imagine all the hours with each paint brush dab being about one inch big and 20 feet of wall to cover!

    • Marissa, I love art in so many forms. My regret is I didn’t happen to pass by while they were working on it. This must have taken multiple hours and had to go through channels in the university to be approved. I would have liked to see how many artists worked on it. Imagine, the paint dabs or dots are only one inch big or sometimes two inches and 20 feet of wall to cover!! πŸ™‚

    • Yes, I am so glad you mentioned Faith and her college and lifelong art! I know she would have enjoyed seeing this twenty foot mural and pondered like I did about how it was ever done. . .

      I tried to find out who produced this or if it were a whole classroom of OWU students or only a few. Imagine using a paintbrush making dabs or dots of paint that are only about one to two inches big! I think I have a close up coming up.
      I have had a hectic week so pre-planned a few posts taken from my 10 mile walk with Anna, last Sunday. We walked in memory of our good times since her daughters knew mine in junior high school and in honor of my brother’s race in California. She is my good friend who recently got engaged and is moving away. I am happy for her, since her husband died at age 40 of cancer. She has been on her own, raised her girls, for almost 20 years. We took another observatory photo sessionof another one just down the road a bit for a Doors post, hint hint (In better condition!)

    • Yes, I love organized art but sometimes I also appreciate random art which is spontaneous. I don’t like bad art which includes anger or swearing, though! Smiles for liking this art today, Anneli.

    • I love how you responded to the art in such a buoyant way, Marie. So full of Joy!
      Thank you for being a great responder to this. I agree, more public art would brighten our cityscapes. πŸ™‚
      I also noticed your comment about “art in action.” Thank you for suggesting this. Have a wonderful and colorful rest of the weekend, Marie. hugs xo

    • I just kept getting closer and will feature closer photos of this unique wall of vibrant dotted colors, Jennie. It was amazing for my friend and I to discover this! Thanks for your expecting to like this. πŸ™‚

      • I look forward to more. This is so different for me, the person who loves and appreciates art in all forms. Painting a stone wall can grow on me. I love learning and embracing new things!

    • I like your learning to enjoy something new, Jennie. The pupil becomes the teacher, I am your “grasshopper,” equal in age but you have more teaching experience. πŸ™‚

      • Robin, as reply to you, I am furiously pounding the keyboard on my new post. When it comes from the heart (like your poetry) the words just don’t stop. So, when you read my post, it is too long, but it is the most important thing I do in my teaching. Whew! Good thing that we writers have passion! And, I am your grasshopper as well. Think about that.

      • Jennie, the words definitely dont stop and arent always neatly organized due to passion (and furious pounding on computer keys.) Oh, this makes me get a real tear. Maybe due to tiredness, but thank you. The feeling is mutual. We will take turns in our roles, then.
        As far as long posts, you may look back at some of my long ones and have your eyes glaze over. . . πŸ™‚

      • I didn’t know this, Andrew. How do waterfalls pop up? Is this really happening more than once in awhile? How cool! πŸ™‚

      • You are definitely in a world renown location for art galleries, outdoor murals and sculptures, Drew. I have been to NY City only twice, once as a middle school student and once as a twenty something! I am due for a new view from older, wiser eyes. πŸ˜‰

      • Oh, I enjoy the museums and galleries. It is the city itself that needs more beauty. I must admit, NYC has tried to beautify itself with artwork. Yes, you need to return to see how it looks today.

  2. Oh boy! I love wall art. It gives harsh blank walls a facelift that draws the eye. I’m not sure where good graffiti (as opposed to gang sign tags) crosses the line into art unless it is based on permission. I have seen some excellent ‘unsolicited art’ that wall owners have opted to keep.

    I look forward to what you will share in this series. – Mike

    • Mike, the next few day’s series was based on this wall, taking sections of it and writing something about it. πŸ™‚
      I have planned a few different forms of art continuing into May. I am glad you expressed your thoughts about street art. Sometimes unplanned art is left upon places due to a better quality art. Murals are certainly a breath of fresh air, at times!

    • Oh, this is such a fantastic response to this and I love the way you expressed it, Pauline. My “heart sings” and I enjoy the “colourful palette,” too! ❀

Leave a Reply

