Art on a wall (#2 in series)

Image

image

As Cinco de Maya approaches,

what better way to honor and

respect the holiday then to

celebrate with more wall of art?

It looks like all the colors

found in the May Day ribbons,

new crayon points of amazing hues,

sometimes given the name of

Pointillism.

~ both above and below~

these words written by Robin

with another angle taken

on cell phone by me.

~~~~~~~~~

Colors

Trying to fit in,

Conforming, hiding,

Pushing to be accepted,

Courage for expression.

People of every kind don’t

need to change but

must simply

Be.

57 responses »

    • Thanks, Ian! I was fascinated by the intricate designs and couldn’t resist “dwelling” on this mural. Hope it doesn’t get too boring? Smiles, Robin

    • Yes, this is moving to me, something about picturing the time students took and how they had to know what they were trying to create. . . I am glad you love the beauty of all the colors mixed together, Beth. Thank you.

    • Thanks so much, Ann! I am glad you found this amazing wall mural created by the Ohio Wesleyan University students. I only wished I had passed by this at the time they were working together. Each of those dabs or dots are only one to two inches big! I cannot imagine this! πŸ™‚

    • Dan, I was hoping people would be like myself, captivated by the details and seeing more of the work it took to create the huge wall mural. Thank you! πŸ™‚

    • Rashmi, thanks so much for your enjoying the words I chose to describe in my mind how this mural made me feel. I pictured many students of college age, patiently creating this out of dots and dabs of paint, only one to two inches big and this is 20 or so feet long! I may be underestimating it since I didn’t pace or measure it! Hugs sent you way, dear. ❀

    • My last three comments must be in your awaiting approval, Rashmi. Maybe being away, it doesn’t remember me, but I have in green print, “Following” on my end of the computer. So, I am still following you. . .

    • Definitely, this is pointillism and Seurat was the pioneer, as you mentioned, Jennie! Thank you for adding his name and giving him as the students’ inspiration, too. You are the best mentor and teacher I know, dear. Your wisdom shines in so many ways a light for us, me especially. Thank you.

      • Robin! That is the nicest thing, ever…thank you!! I have to say that your poetry combined with photos is THE best. I always look forward to your blog posts. Really.

    • You are so kind, my poetic thoughts seem like ramblings. I will accept your compliment because I feel you are one who would not give them out lightly. Thanks, dear Jennie!

      • Actually, I was thrilled to read this. I always feel that my writings are ramblings. Really. Thank goodness my husband is a terrific writer and proof reader. He doesn’t see the ramblings, either. I think it’s just us.

      • I like this comment and good to know I “would fit in with you two!” I am glad you sometimes “get me,” Jennie. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Mike. I love the word, “striking!”
      I was hoping this might capture more of the details and essence of the college students’ efforts. I picture their making a drawing and mentioning which parts they would take, but unless there is a hidden write up on OWU website I could not find any details or explanation. I know it wasn’t here last Spring or Summer. . . Right across the street, heading left away from this, I listened to several concerts in the park, behind our fire station. Morgan Treni, Felicia’s friend who sings in the style of Cole Porter songs, but some have a bit of “bite” to them, too. I have her CD and when we were over at the concert, Carrie, Micah and I headed back right past the top of the hill that looks down on this! Smiles, Robin

    • Anneli, thank you for reading the words and commenting, my good friend! πŸ™‚ I am glad you didn’t mind seeing more of the details in this mural. ❀ I found the dots fascinating!

    • I think the closer you get, the better. Don’t you think Sgt Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band belongs on this patio with the sun going down and a spotlight where you would see this as a back drop. I like “Across the Universe” or “Yellow Submarine” which would lend a whimsical tune to the scene. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you for enjoying the art and glad you liked the words, Brenda. It was a great change from the “blah” gray wall. I would like them to have concerts on the patio and people could sit on the hillside. I was telling Nia, I could picture (although some are gone already) Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band singing there! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

