Thursday’s Doors ~ Delaware Cultural Arts Center

Image

image

This is a pen and ink drawing,

I made for an AAUW historical

homes tour which was held in

1990. The tickets costs were

donated to a girls science and math

camp called, “Be Wise.”

This building was featured

on a post where the Spring scene,

doors and windows are displayed.

It was built by the founder of

Blue Limestone Quarry,

in 1854. It is representative of the

Romanesque Revival style.

It is a perfect place for a small

reception, party or gathering.

This is a non-profit arts center,

featuring a location for all the

arts of music, dance, painting,

ceramics and storytelling.

Healthy mind and body

programs are offered

such as yoga, journaling

and bereavement classes.

Performances and

Reenactments

along with

rotating

exhibits,

held in the

Main Floor

Gallery.

Sign up now, for Children’s
Summer Art Lessons,
along with Art Camp
programs.
Also, come see the
Artists’ Guild Show,
Free to view
from now until,
May 25, 2016.

Photo taken by
reocochran.
Description
provided by Robin.

Check out a lovely group of
door seekers and photographers
found on Norm Frampton’s blog:
http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

Norm has links to the other doors,
found in all areas of the world. 🙂

This is an addition to Norm Frampton’s
Thursday’s Doors posts, where you
may learn history and interesting
facts about doors from
around the world.

Please check Norm’s Doors post,
along with many links at:
http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

50 responses »

    • Thank you, Dan. This place was fascinating when Carrie was friends with Meena and spent the night there. It was fantastic that the Arts Council here in Delaware saw the “potential” since the owners had allowed pets to “reign” on one of the floors so it was a disaster until much work was done. Nice hardwood floors for dancing, beautiful walls where Carrie had several of her artwork pieces win Best of Show or Second Place. Smiles!
      I had a downtown shop ask for all the pictures of historical homes to borrow for their front window display. They used blue sticky tack and put them on big posters. This was in the 90’s, Robin O. Long, before I married my last husband, who I still use Cochran.
      The illustrations were shrunk down into note paper and postcards at the print shop to sell at the homes. Someday, maybe for fun, I will take these smaller versions and create a montage. I enjoyed this, never asking for any money. I had some extra orders though from my children’s pediatrician and others. . . 🙂

  1. Robin, you are so multi-talented! Beautiful pen drawing of a very interesting architectural structure .

    • Oh, Sandhya, you are so kind! 🙂 I am just a person who can do a little bit of everything (except Math!) I have a brother who is very talented and my oldest daughter has been very well received in art shows, too. Thank you very much. I was Robin O. Long in the 90’s. I still do baby picture names and occasionally homes. Hugs from me to you!

    • Aww, thanks April. Your creations with different materials always are amazing to me! I like the blankets and your home projects like the chairs for the porch! 🙂

    • Beth, I laugh a bit at my artwork and compare myself to a form of Grandma Moses, since I never took a perspective class. (She didn’t either.)
      My brother, Randy, who has a fine arts degree and creates major works tells me my porches look like they are about to fall off! I reply by saying, “They are quaint and antiquated so what do you expect?”
      Feliz Cinco de Mayo! I bought some Corona beer to share with my neighbor lady, with a lime to add! 🙂

    • Well, Drew. This is a very nice compliment and I am not sure if I have talent but I have always liked drawing and have developed my own way of doing it. I don’t use a ruler nor a photograph. . . Just try to depict what I see in front of me on paper! Your saying you “love it,” means if we ever meet, you will have to have sent me a picture of a house or person and I will “Award” you with my rendition of it. Smiles and hugs, Robin

    • Marissa, I drew it in 1990 and my name on the picture is “Robin O. Long,” using my second husband’s last name. 🙂 I know I am kind of wild, since my last husband and I were together 13 years, I kept his last name of Cochran.

      • Yes, I guess after a couple of name changes you just might as well pick one…ha, ha! You’re very talented! I’m surprised this is the first I’m seeing of your art.

    • Thanks, Sarah! I appreciate your kind words and it was once a home and now is the cultural arts center for our town of Delaware. My name in 1990 was Robin O. Long, second husband’s last name. I was married from 1993 until 2006 to a Cochran, so I decided to keep his last name. Smiles, Robin

    • Anneli, I developed a form of pen and ink drawing of houses and children which isn’t exactly measured or straight lines either. I laugh at my brother, Randy, who is very talented and has a fine arts degree. He suggests when I retire to take a Perspectives art class. I do tend to make things go this way or that. He mentions my porches sometimes “Look like they are about to fall off the houses!” 😀 Thank you for liking this!

  2. I like your drawing – thank you for sharing it with us. I have always been impressed by people with artistic abilities. (My daughters did not inherit that gift from me.) – Mike

    • I have developed my own sense of space and lines which is not really measured like a draftsman or someone like my brother or oldest daughter who have fine arts degrees. My brother, who is brutally honest as siblings expect them to be, says my porches look like they are going to fall off. I have heard the houses look “kind of wonky” from someone who was a dear friend of mine, Amy. She would say I had a childlike artistic talent. Maybe someday, when I am retired, I will take a course on Perspectives! 🙂

    • I appreciate this, since you have a wonderful “eye” for art and I admire how you choose lovely illustrations for your writing, photographs and art. 🙂 Thank you, Bela! A warm Aloha and Feliz Cinco de Mayo to you, my dear! ❤

    • Amy, thanks so much. I developed a way of using my eyes and trying to make the picture hold the essence of the house, church or building. I will someday take a perspective class and use a horizon to make the angles. 🙂

    • Thank you, Ian. Big hugs for you!
      Well, I have a portfolio with about 35 to 40 buildings and over 100 children’s name pictures. I used to have a small shop, run by a retired teacher, which featured my art. I created an alphabet with Teddy bears called “Letter Teddies.” It was fun but now I’m just do a few baby names. I liked a Jared with monkeys and nautical theme. . . 🙂

    • Judy, thank you very much for your compliment! I am surprised how you get to drawing with a friend and find out they have more art hiding inside them than they think! 😉

Leave a Reply

