What would you call this?

Image

image

The wild, unravelled look with

curly cues, knowing it’s glass

makes an awesome impression

at Franklin Park Conservatory.

Spools of red and yellow thread,

Skeins of tangled flame and golden

yarn could be instead curly ginger hair.

Art in glass sculptures created by the

amazing artist, Dale Chihuly.

Spring photograph taken by
Robin while on tour with her
daughter and son’s family.

Grandchildren like Dora the Explorer
and Diego, awareness of Mexico
and their fight against France
Hope you enjoyed your
Cinco de Maya.
Besos y abrazos.
xoxoxo

76 responses »

    • Yes, red and yellow peppers! Great and imaginative thought went into this, Dan. It is funny in a few days, I have a spider post and it is above a Terra cotta pot that has red and yellow peppers. The curling dried red pepper really looks like a part of this glass! πŸ™‚

  1. I thought Chihuly the moment I saw this glass flower thing. The things about glass that are so visually captivating are its brilliant colors that never fade and the polished smooth surfaces. Like most people, I find watching glass artists creating their art pieces to be endlessly fascinating.

    • Great guess of the artist and I like your reasoning what glass brings to art. Dale Chihuly has reached an older age and has interns help him assemble his works now! It is a major ordeal! Thanks for this articulate reply, Mike. πŸ™‚

    • I think the building is the reason for all the fun! The architect chose such cheerful features which bring smiles to its viewers. I love the description, “a pop of fun!” Thank you. πŸ™‚

  2. I guessed it was a Chihuly! My daughter attended Gonzaga University in Spokane, WA, where he’s well known. The university has some amazing huge pieces by him. And when I went to St. Petersburg FL last Fall, I went to his museum there (amazing) and then a workshop where they show how he works on his glass. Loved it all.

    • Pamela, thank you so much for letting me know Chihuly is from Washington. I imagine Gonzaga University would have a very nice connection to Chihuly. I will check out their collection. This was a helpful addition to the post.
      I would enjoy going to his museum,too. Ohio art museums have been lucky to purchase some fine pieces and also, the traveling exhibit has visited in the Columbus, Cincinnati and Cleveland Art Museums. I am not sure about Toledo or Dayton. Your spelling this correctly helped me to go change several upcoming posts. Have a lovely rest of the weekend, Pam.

    • Pamela, thank you so much for letting me know Chihuly is from Washington. I imagine Gonzaga University would have a very nice connection to Chihuly. I will check out their collection. This was a helpful addition to the post.
      I would enjoy going to his museum,too. Ohio art museums have been lucky to purchase some fine pieces and also, the traveling exhibit has visited in the Columbus, Cincinnati and Cleveland Art Museums. I am not sure about Toledo or Dayton. Your spelling this correctly helped me to go change several upcoming posts. Have a lovely rest of the weekend, Pam.

    • Amy Rose, my dear, you chose to call this display a fantastic word: Masterpiece!
      Dale Chihuly is truly a Master of glass blowing sculptures! πŸ™‚ ❀
      Did you notice the live plants with tiny, red blossoms in the left corner?

      • At first I did not but when I went back to view it again, sure enough there they were! Thank you for pointing that out, Robin!!! Have A Blessed Mother’s Day!!! ❀

      • Hope you are having a wonderful and blessed Mother’s Day, too. ❀ It was busy from morning until slowing down just recently, Amy.
        Just about to get comfy clothes on! πŸ˜‰

      • Truth …. I’ve had better Mother’s Days, Robin. I’m just about closing up for the day and headed for comfy clothes myself. Sweet dreams!!! ❀

    • I so pleased you were impressed! That is why I asked the post title, Matt! πŸ™‚ It is quite unusual and made me wonder what people would call this art? πŸ™‚

    • Jenny, “slightly off the wall” certainly describes this! I think it looks like an explosion of colors! This would be nice to know Dale Chihuly has an exhibit of his glass sculptures in London.

  3. Beautiful!!! I love Dale Chihuly… the MFA in Boston had a Chihuly exhibits few years ago. It was like stepping into another world, exploring the deep sea or a coral reef full of undulating tentacles and seaweed. Absolutely stunning and my kids loved it! Thanks for sharing this piece.

    • I am very excited you saw this traveling exhibit and were able to attend and share this with your children. The coral reef with “undulating tentacles and seaweed” with such excellent descriptions really added to the comments. Thank you!

      My grandchildren enjoyed the butterflies and glass sculptures at the Franklin Park Conservatory. We have permanent examples of Dale Chihuly’s craftsmanship at the Columbus Art Museum.

      • I love that your grandchildren got to enjoy the glass sculptures at the Franklin Park Conservatory! It’s so important for all of us to recognize that art comes in a wide variety of forms like sculpture, music, and architecture. Art doesn’t necessarily have to hang on a wall in a museum (not that there is anything wrong with that!). 😊

    • Thank you, Jean. I am from a family who appreciates the arts! On Thursday, I posted a simple pen and ink drawing I drew in 1990 of an arts building and a separate post with a recent photograph of our local Arts Castle.
      My youngest took jazz there, my oldest had her H.S. art displayed and won a few awards there. My grandson took a primary art class which my daighter and I split the cost for him to attend while in kindergarten.
      My son likes to doodle, paint and cook creative dishes but he took gymnastics, soccer and played baseball while young. Nothing of his life was displayed at the local cultural arts center but he attended his little sister’s recital and oldest daughter’s shows. πŸ™‚ It is a really cool part of our small town of Delaware, Ohio.

  4. The first Chihuly I saw took my breath away at the National Liberty Museum in historic Philly. This one is a beauty, thank you so much for the post.

    • Jennie, I will be featuring a few more sculptures which have permanent places in the Franklin Park Conservatory. My son and his children, wife and I spent a wonderful half of a day with butterflies, plants, and artwork. . . “right up your alley!”

    • Balroop, you may need to dig out those Chihuly photographs someday and share yours! I imagine they are quite different from mine! Did I ever tell you my little brother went to college at Cornell, in Ithaca? You were there, weren’t you? New York is a beautiful state, dear. Hope you have a lovely Mother’s Day tomorrow! ❀

      • Robin we visited our daughter when she was doing her residency in Buffalo and she took us around all lovely places. The finger lakes are as huge as a sea and Niagra falls were just 16 miles away from our home!! It was heavenly! πŸ™‚ You too have a wonderful Mother’s Day. Love and hugs.

    • I did have to ask a few people to step aside, Derrick. It seems to be growing out of the center of this room. There is a circular pathway, some balcony outlooks. I still am not sure this truly represents this piece of art!

  5. I recognize not only the Chihuly display, but the location. My niece got married there about 10 years ago!! We had a Chihuly display at our Desert Botanical Gardens here in Phoenix two years ago….at the Seattle Center where the Space Needle is located they have an entire building and ground dedicated to a very large Chihuly display! Love his work!! Great captures through out the series!!

    • Oh, Kirt! What a lovely place for your niece’s wedding! Phoenix probably has a few permanent exhibits and so glad the visiting ones came to the botanical gardens.
      Apparently, someone let me know Washington is Dale Chihuly’s home state. Crazy and exciting, for you to visit the Seattle complex and this would be a dream come true! πŸ™‚

      • I didn’t realize he was from Washington….that would explain the extensive permanent display….whenever you head to Seattle….a must seeπŸ˜€

  6. The Children’s Museum here in Indianapolis features several Chihuly pieces. I first encountered them in 2008, and I’ve never stopped being mesmerized.
    At the museum, they even have smaller plastic versions so people can design their own sculptures. It’s really neat. I have pictures of my kids with them, Robin. If I post about it, I’ll pingback to you. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

