Wishing you hidden jewels for Mother’s Day

Image

image

John Killinger’s quotation, on how
to describe a Mother’s Love:

“It is stronger than steel,
softer than down,
and more resilient
than a green sapling
on the hillside.”

“It closes wounds,
melts disappointments,
and enables the weakest
child to stand tall and straight
in the fields of adversity.”

“I believe that this (Mother’s) love,
even at its best , is only a shadow
of the love of God, a reflection
of all that we can expect of Him,
both in this life and the next.”

~ taken from “Lost in Wonder, Love
and Praise” (Abingdon Press).

the following is my. . .

“Gift to Mothers”
by Robin O. Cochran,

A permanent feature in one of the

many rooms shows exuberance,

excitement and floral water

swirling and twisting

or pastel fireworks.

Franklin Park

Conservatory,

Dale Chihuly

glass bouquet.

Unexpected

Jewels~

a small

token

of my

affection.

You deserve

a joyous day.

To all the mothers, aunts,

caretakers, grandmother’s,

unexpected or expected

parental roles filled

by loving people.

Sometimes your

friends “mother”

you. Pass the

hugs out to

all of them.

xoxoxo

~ Β° * Β° ~

62 responses »

  1. Happy Mothers Day, Robin, and thank you for sharing the wealth of visual beauty created by Dale Chihuly. I never tire of his uniquely creative works. – Mike

    • You are most welcome for the shares, Mike. I appreciate your kindness and friendship. I hope each piece has something which “speaks” to each person who views them. Take care.

  2. Happy Mother’s Day to you, Robin. Thanks for sharing all the glass sculptures. The artist is from where I lived most of my life and I kind of feel like I’m viewing a bit of my home.

    • Oh, April! I am so glad you told me how you feel you are getting a piece of your home when I post with Chihuly glass sculptures. I planned a few more, but haven’t written them yet. πŸ™‚ Thank you for your Mother’s Day wish! I just got in and am writing resonses to my post. Take it easy.

    • Marissa, I bet I missed some good stuff on your blog. I was busy from morning until night. (Well, 6:00 PM.)
      I am happy you are enjoying the blown glass. It seems fun to feature something I know I don’t get to see more than once a year. πŸ™‚ it has been a very fun weekend!

    • Thanks, Jay! Hope you are having a great weather weekend and head into a good week, too. I wasn’t sure if this should wish you a Happy Mother’s Day since I feel I have been repeating this so often! πŸ˜‰

  3. I can spot a Chihully a mile away :). How beautiful! I love how his work is planted all over the country (planet?). I hope you are having a lovely MOther’s Day, Robin. I know I already wish you one, but here’s another wish :)!!!

    • Thank you so very much! I just got home and was responding to my own post. Will be getting comfy clothes on and winding down for busy week at work! Thank you, Luanne for suggesting Chihuly may cover the planet with his art! Isn’t that amazing and he’s from Washington state. Wow! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, dear Carol. I was rather busy from morning till now! Getting ready to put on my “comfy clothes.” Hope you had a great one, too. ❀

    • Sarah, this is still in Columbus at the Franklin Park Conservatory. There are a lot of glass windows and high ceilings! πŸ™‚ it sure would be a super rich person to have this since it is a large, permanent installation. Thanks for asking, dear. ❀

    • I really like your lottery winning dream, Sarah! I would love to see this happen! Will Schooner and Choppy like Key West. You will you need to hire a guard to protect them from alligators! πŸ™‚

    • My DIL took her combo family/children’s fingers and dipped into paint to create petals, making 4 flowers with each name on the stem. Baby Hendrix had his hand print to add to the 4 to make a nicely decorated pot of several flowers planted inside.
      I appreciate your kind wish and hope you had a wonderful time, too. ❀

Leave a Reply

