From ground level point of view (Dandelion)

Image

image

The way I see it,

Dandelions may be best

at providing food for spring bees.

The flowers may be fermented to

become  sweet  dandelion  wine:

A little lemon, some oranges, along

with yeast, added to concoction.

Rinsed “greens” + yellow flowers 

add slightly bitter, yet tasty,  

flavor to a salad mix.

Little old ladies in the story,

“Arsenic and Old Lace,”

poisoned their gentleman callers,

served up villainous dandelion tea.

You can brew the leaves into an

herbal potion to create lovely,

healthy complexion.

/  /  /  /  /  /

The song, “Dandelion” was written

by Keith Richards and Mick Jagger.

It contains charming nostalgia and

whimsical childhood ditties,

wishful hopes about time.

Although it was on the “B” side

of the 45 record, it exceeded

beyond the “A” side to

reach #14, on the U.S,

and UK music charts.

It has never been sung

“Live” but remains a

Rolling Stone treasure.

~~   *   *   *   *   ~~

Do you know anything else

to add about dandelions?

~~   *   *   *   *   ~~

Photograph taken by Robin,

research and words also by her.

51 responses »

  1. We like dandelions. Our neighbors probably wish we didn’t, but I just can’t help but smile when I see them, because I remember our daughter playing with them.

    • This is great, Dan! I always wanted to keep them but had an ex who would get rid of them! He did use “pet friendly” products so Toby’s paws and feet didn’t get any rashes or irritations. Mon used to spray vinegar water on something but probably not for dandelions! They are pretty hardy! 🙂

    • Sometimes we wonder who started things. Like why would someone say, “Let’s kill all the dandelions in our yard?” Wild violets are left alone, as well as other “weeds.” I had an average work day but fun with my grandsons at Library Lego Club this evening. 🙂

    • Free and plentiful, excellent qualities for fun for children. No one gets in trouble for picking them either! Thanks for reminding us, Diana. Do you remember people putting them under someone’s chin to “see if you like butter?” Wonder who made that one up? If the chin reflected yellow, then you liked butter! 😉

  2. When I was 2 or 3 I learned that Moms liked to receive flowers, so I dutifully picked mine all kinds of dandelions, which she just as dutifully would put into vases like they were treasures. I didn’t learn until much much later that they were weeds – my mom always made me feel like to her they were roses.

    • Aww! Jay, you were a loving little girl to gather up dandelions and bring them to your mom! The final note you added was equally precious: your mom making you feel like they meant as much as roses.:)

  3. Oh this is such an adorable post, Robin. I LOVE the way the dandelion sees. I think you have all the facts I know about dandelions so I cannot add any more. ❤

    • Thanks, Amy for enjoying the dandelion’s playful outlook! I thought you, of all people, would join me in this! Your joy shines through the air to me, now my face is smiling! 🙂 This was enough to add, no need for more dandelion details. Thank you, dear Amy. ❤

    • Judy, “live and let live” covers a lot of territory! Sometimes I understand weeding them out of gardens because they take up space. I also think they aren’t too bad in a salad but don’t go get them to eat, very often. They are decidely helpful for bees, prolific and accessible. Thank you for sharing your thoughts! 🙂

  4. We used to call Dandelion seed heads ‘fairies’ as they floated past on the wind – I believed for a long time they really were. I like dandelions and put them in the wild flower category – as weeds are really unlovely plants or pests 🙂 Your photo is really special Robin – I love the perspective.

    • Pauline, I wish someone had told me about dandelions’ seed heads floating on air were really fairies. This is a special, magical suggestion. 🙂
      I agree, dandelions are wild flowers.
      Sometimes I don’t know what possesses me. I decided to get down on moist grass, was looking at the long-distance perspective of the sun setting. The dandelion was just there. 🙂

  5. Nothing to add, although I always had to be careful the dandelions I harvested while on the mainland US had not been soaked with dog urine (!) Other than that, great spring tonic, loved the buttered greens with salt and pepper. Mmmm 🙂

  6. I love this photo so, so much!

    As for dandelions, I know that I, for one, am not a fan of them in my salad. I *may* have told the caterer at our wedding that I didn’t want the guests to be eating something that they could reach down and pull out of the grass when we were discussing salads (we had our reception on the lawn at my parents’ house).

  7. Wow, I didn’t know about ‘Arsenic and old lace’. I can add that for some reason animals like rabbits and guinea pigs love dandelion leaves, and so do chickens 🙂

  8. Nice shot!
    I like dandelions. One of the problems I had in suburbia was that everyone had to kill all the dandelions. Yes, they are one of the bee’s first foods of the year. Also, ladybugs use them as nurseries for their yellow eggs. They are pretty. I don’t know why people hate them so much! Not much is prettier than a green field sprinkled with pops of yellow dandelions! Spring isn’t spring without them 🙂

Leave a Reply

