Spring brings yellow wildflower

Image

image

~ Yellow Trout Lilies ~

They are found covering hillsides,

forest ground level wildflowers.

Look in Ohio, Kentucky, Tennessee,

the Great Smoky Mountains, too.

There are only individuals, not

clusters, but each separated.

Yellow perennials, strongly

defiant although delicate,

independent in their design.

Plenty of patchy leaves,

considered variegated

reminding one of a

smooth, spotted

charming frog.

Life itself has brown

leftover remains, which

may decompose from once

crunchy, crushed leaves.

Wet, soggy underbelly of

earth and heaven combined.

These lightly golden wild ones

look pretty while nestled

among remains.

Winter’s long gone,

left altogether, with bursts of

yellow displaying maroon “anthers.”

Enchanting bursts spread

everywhere “like wildfires.”

*******

Words written by Robin,

photo taken at Columbus

Metro Parks, Highbanks.

58 responses »

    • Kelly! I should have known you would “run” by my blog on your daily run. πŸ™‚ The wildflowers are going around so many blogs, I didn’t know if this one would create much interest. Thank you for your beautiful comment. I love all the romance you feature, along with nature, which still gives me hope. ❀

  1. This yellow flower looks just like the mountain wildflowers I have seen in the high valleys of the Olympic Mountains called Glacier Lillies or Avalanche Lillies. They push up through the last remnants of snow in an explosion of color like a yellow carpet. Thank you for triggering that fond memory. – Mike

    • Wow, Mike! These variations of Lilies spread across the country like “wildflowers!” I am glad you say they form “yellow carpets” in the Olympic Mountains. I am happy to have awakened happy memories. πŸ™‚

    • Diana, I feel very pleased with “hearing” (okay, reading) this special message from you. I actually spent quite awhile on this, so appreciate your finding a (possible) golden nugget. πŸ™‚

    • Marissa, I think the parks nearby where you live may have several types of wildflowers. It would be fun to look on a path with your little “cloud loving” daughter, Anjelica. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      • Yes, probably. The nearest park to me is just a schoolyard park so there really isn’t much nature there. Maybe we’ll have time to go to one of the bigger ones this summer.

    • Yes, “uninhabitable ground cover!” Thank you. You noticed the layers of leaves which usually smother new growth, Dan. It is the original form of mulch. πŸ™‚

    • I am glad I featured something unique, since each of your posts introduces me to a panaroma of views and fascinating history or science lessons. I forgot to tell you I liked the golden glass “amber” pieces, Inese. They were in the post with you looking out from a diamond shaped opening of a cave at the water! πŸ™‚

    • Oh wonderful, Inese! I am heading off to bed but will keep you in my emails. I usually try to delete a few before I go to sleep. Bless you, Inese. ❀

    • They certainly brighten up these dull brown leaves and soggy under layers! Thanks for the not often heard word for the day: “lackluster.” I love how wildflowers are the opposite of this. πŸ™‚ ❀ xoxo good night and sweet dreams, Natalie!

  2. I have never come across, or heard of Yellow Trout Lilies, your picture does show a very beautiful colourful flower, it looks much like a Daffodil to me, your words are a beautiful accompaniment.
    Cheers.

  3. This is the time of year for wildflowers. We are headed to a lilac festival nearby tomorrow, ourselves, so I hope to have some good pictures of them. Yellow is so cheerful, just like you, Robin! xx

    • Your photos are always exquisite and delightful, Beth. I am sending you hugs across the airwaves, dear friend. I won’t forget last summer how you and Geoffrey were so sympathetic of my purse being stolen. This true caring response by both of you bonded me “for life,” dear.
      Looking forward to the lilac festival photographs! Enjoy and again, thank you. ❀

    • You are so observant, Maniparna. I have fun reading your unique and beautiful haikus and poems,as well as that fascinating detective story which you had us in suspense awhile back. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

