Pink Dogwoods, with glimpse of downtown

Image

image

The rain poured down,

more like a deluge, some may

call it, “raining cats and dogs.”

The bricks were redder, nearly

scarlet in embarrassment.

While the dogwoods blushed

pink in delight, green was greener,

and mulch was deeper, darker brown.

The town was given a big spotlight,

The sun shone brightly afterwards,

with details specific and no leaf

nor bit of nature left untouched.

When rain pours down, whiter clouds

emerge while I go chasing rainbows.

67 responses »

    • Elizabeth, are you going into Autumn soon? It is always interesting to realize how far away and different our seasons are. I appreciate your stopping by since I may have missed a few posts. Hugs, Robin

    • Oh, Rashmi, sorry to hear of upcoming monsoon showers! 😦 We are in a rather moderate season, not too cold, not too hot; at least right now. Take care! ❀

    • Marissa, I forget about your warmer, less rainy climate. You and Beth Byrnes are my California sunshine “girls!” πŸ™‚
      Thank you for your realizing I was using personification. One of the coolest parts of your writing is how you are so aware of language. Your rhyming poems include such a humorous, sometimes sarcastic tone or technique! πŸ˜€
      Have you been enjoying NYC or are you back? Busy work and grandies celebrating music in Orchestra and choral concerts. You would have had a blast, not as good as you Cheesebergens, though! πŸ™‚

      • I haven’t gone to NY yet. Funny, I booked the tickets so long ago, it’s like an eternal wait. We leave on the 7th. Sounds like you are having a lot of fun. Ha, ha…never thought I’d be referred to as a Sunshine Girl!

    • My days are long (people are worrking on their cars in our district, now thst itvis warmer- we ship auto parts to Ohio and Indiana stores) so it feels like much longer time has passed since your plans were made, Marissa. Sorry to be rather annoying but am excited for the family to finish school and escape our East, dear.:)
      Of course, you are a “California girl,” brunettes and special younger friends are “girlfriends” plus, you live in California, so there you go, girl! πŸ™‚

      • Oh, no problem Robin but when I do go to NY, I’m sure you’ll be hearing about it! I’ll probably take the week off and then hopefully have some funny poems afterwards, trip inspired.

  1. ‘Scarlett in embarrassment’ – such a wonderful turn of phrase! Despite the pollen and a bit more sneezing, this is my favorite time of year. Blossoms are regaling us with color, and several months of warm weather lie ahead.

    • Hi am saddened to know your spring is almost “bittersweet,” Mike.I like your noticing the details, especially tried to be both humorous and poetic. Hoping to be witty, but am still working on that skill. When you were in your world traveling blogging days with Florence, you would really regale us with fine tales. . . πŸ™‚

      I am not quite sure what’s been happening~ but have you been on the Comments section of WP lately? I swear it has changed and while I was responding to comments it started on the top of the blog, skipped the middle and had me go to the ending or closing responses. I missed a few and now, possibly am caught up. Have a wonderful weekend to you and Florence!

      • We are off to explore Charleston, SC, and historic Fort Sumter over Memorial Day Weekend – just a four hour drive and a ferry away from Greenville. Perhaps I will have a story or two to follow. – Mike

    • Liz, I remember your stories about your Great Aunt, looking forward to reading more of your posts. Life sometimes brings people’s paths to cross in real life, picking up where they left off. I am so glad this happened. πŸ™‚

      • I’ve been wondering about that – whether a course would work. But isn’t poetry all about writing what you feel in the way you want to express yourself? Who says it has to be so many lines, and so many beats, and all that rigid stuff? But maybe they teach other things than that, and maybe it would be a good thing. I don’t know.

    • I think a course may help me be more formally structured but my thoughts usually try to make up a story of sorts, or a whimsical expression. I asked my grandson to help me with a murderous post coming up. Lol πŸ˜€

    • Oh, Diana, it is amazing to see how trees are transformed. Your recent Child’s Moon post captured the emotions of new beginnings when people emerge. I like how you felt the colors went together beautifully.

  2. Beautiful poem, Robin. You have wonderfully imagined the bricks going redder and then scarlet in embarrassment while the dogwood is happy after getting a shower….you have made the picture more beautiful with your words…:-)

    Have a great weekend… ❀

  3. Love this one–the embarrassed bricks and the blushing dogwoods. πŸ™‚
    We’ve had so much rain here lately, it is wonderful when the sun reappears–especially when there’s a rainbow!

  4. Robin, such charming verse pays wonderful homage to the pink tree. It has been raining like crazy in my place in the world also. It seems to stay cloudy here all the time with a marked absence of rainbows.

Leave a Reply

