Alpaca farm

Image

image

Bright spring green grass,

only one dark, adorable alpaca

staring back at me as I spoke,

“baby talk” with coos and

smiles. ItΒ watches from

afar, seeing bouncing

big, white friendly dog

greeting me with its

tail wagging,

mouth open,

tongue licking air.

Although she was

barking, a gentle spirit

gave her away~

“guarding” sweet,

funny alpacas.

Look for Bianca or Blanca,

the friendliest watch dog!

You’ll fall in love with her,

see next post. . .

58 responses »

    • Oh, I am delighted their magic “worked” on you, Marissa! πŸ˜‰ The alpacas had long eyelashes and curly foreheads! I need to take my M & M girls to see them since they think My Little Pony is cute: wait till they see live alpacas!! πŸ˜€

  1. They are adorable animals. My experience with alpacas is that they will come up and eat out of your hand if they know you have food. Otherwise, they tend to keep their distance. Also, their wool is just about the softest, warmest wool ever. – Mike

    • Their coats are really soft, I touched one but not the day I took photos, Mike. I appreciate your informing me they make warm blankets and sweaters, too. πŸ™‚ I have never owned an alpaca material-made article. Not sure if there is a less awkward way of describing this?! Lol πŸ˜€

    • They have cute faces, as you described them. I see expression in their eyes and way their mouths move. Thank you, Rashmi. It was a fun visit! I plan on taking the grandies some time soon. πŸ™‚

    • So glad you can picture this scene, Merril. They sure are cute and I think rather silly, too. I will show off the dog on tomorrow’s post. She was a sweetie! I nicknamed her Bianca, but she is white, so “Blanca” could apply in Spanish. πŸ™‚

    • I would like to see a camel farm, too! πŸ™‚ The dog was a sweetheart and leaned up against the fence, eventually turning over so I could rub her belly. She was almost as funny as the alpacas, Lana. I felt bad as I walked back to my car, she followed me along the fence.

    • Pauline, they seemed amused, befuddled and curious. I tend to see human characteristics in animals! πŸ™‚ Their curly hair around their head varies and I love their eyelashes! Thank you for letting me know you like working with their yarn. ❀
      I only had Mike mention how warm the hair made into articles becomes. I need to sometime go back to look at which items you used alpaca yarn, Pauline. πŸ™‚

      • Alpaca yarn is light and warm and soft Robin – it really is lovely. The red crochet shawl in my last post is a mixture of alpaca and silk and the blue yarn pictured further down is also alpaca and silk. Though I haven’t started working with that yet.

    • Pauline, thank you for informing me while I am paying attention to the details. I loved the pretty almost wine or burgundy red color and now I know it has both alpaca and silk woven into this beautiful shawl.
      I remember the blue yarn (azure or turquoise) which looked like your bedroom and accents throughout your home, Pauline. I “spy” while I look at Orlando perched high or Siddy in a chair. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you for letting me know this, so sweet of you! I would look and drive slowly, if I passed them, too. They seem to have interesting expressions and different personalities. Maybe sometime you will take a picture of your flock of alpacas you pass daily. πŸ™‚
      Have a wonderful rest of the week! ❀

    • You are so patient and a true friend! I have started a comment on two of your posts, once at my grandchildren’s house, when they interrupted and once at the library when an old friend came over and we had to leave the quiet computer room to talk. Each time I thought “you need to go visit next time. . .” πŸ™‚

    • Melinda, the grass did look “vivid” and “emerald green!” Those alpacas really were cute! Thanks for this wonderful comment. Hope you have a great rest of the week! πŸ™‚

    • My next post, you will see the guard dog for this alpaca farm, Natalie! πŸ™‚ And I do mean “guard” dog loosely. Ha ha ha! She was a sweetie and turned over and let me scratch and rub her belly. ‘night and sweet dreams, dear. ❀

    • Drew, just curious~ how long a drive would it be from the city to somewhere in the country? Maybe you and your wife could take a car ride and a picnic this summer? πŸ™‚

  2. Beautiful picture of the lovely Alpacas Robin, they really are an endearing animal, I recall seeing them in the wild in Chile, I think your lovely watch dog might be a Maremma,they are specially bred as watchdogs due to their placid nature.
    Lovely post.

Leave a Reply

