TV show had a pig and Eva Gabor

Image

image

I used to “adore” Eva,

liked Eddie Albert

and the silly farm

TV storyline for,

“Green Acres.”

(1965 – 1971)

Seeing “Mr. Ed”

(1958 – 1961,
first shows,
1961 – 1966,
syndicated)

“a horse of course,”

talking to Wilbur,

really prepared me.

“Petticoat Junction”

(1963 – 1970)

fascinated me,

those pretty girls,

Betty Jo,

Billie Jo

and Bobby Jo,

throwing clothes

in closing shot of

the small country

town’s water tower.

Life on a farm

meant saying

“Goodbye to

Park Avenue!”

Contradictions~

furs and pet pig,

blue jean overalls,

glamorous wardrobe.

Television sit-comedy

had likable characters,

created improbable plots

with convoluted quirky situations.

x x x x

If you would like to read about

Eddie Albert, from someone

who knew him firsthand,

please check out dear

English Professor:

http://theenglishprofessoratlarge.com

86 responses »

    • Oh, I can hear the music and it’s little beat right now, Lisa. I sure am glad some of us know the words to sing along! 🙂 I envied the fancy clothes Eva wore, “Give me Park Avenue!” Hope you have a fantastic rest of the week!

  1. I loved those shows. It was a simpler time, and our sitcoms reflected it – the ones you mentioned as well as The Andy Griffith Show, Gomer Pyle, and Gilligan’s Island. I also loved M*A*S*H, Cheers, the more recent Two And a Half Men, and I still love the nerdy Big Bang Theory. But what a contrast with the sillier and more innocent times of those earlier shows. – Mike

    • Mike, thank you for adding great shows to the list of iconic or classic situation comedies! I like all the ones you mentioned, plus the family ones like Father Knows Best, Ozzie and Harriet and My Three Sons. Oh,my family liked Brian Keith and Sebastian Cabot in, “A Family Affair.”

    • Yes, Diana!! When you might get up and move the coat hanger a bit and the whole family would yell, “Get out of the way!” 🙂 or
      that old familiar line would inevitably come out of my sarcastic brother’s mouth, “You make a better door than a window!”

    • Oh no! I am sad to hear this, but a great place to add a tribute in the comments section.
      I liked the gentle and kind voice Alan Young had in Mr. Ed. I just wrote a few minutes ago about that being one of the sillier shows, but a very nice one, too. Thanks, E.S. ❤

  2. As soon as you started talking about Eddie Albert I immediately thought of Patricia. She lives close by and I had the good fortune of meeting with her. What a fascinating person!

    • This is wonderful you live close to her and possibly have met her for coffee or tea, perhaps? 🙂
      Thank you, Marissa for sharing this here! I wish I met a couple of the “gang” we have in common. Especially you, Beth B. Beth in Ann Arbor, Jill, April, Colleen, Lana . . . too many to list. 🙂

      • Yes, we got together at a local Starbucks. There must be bloggers in your area. I’m sure you will get a chance to meet some. I’ve done 2 blogger meets so far.

  3. I remember all of those shows. I just read that the actor that played Wilbur died recently. Oops, I saw that in an earlier comment, oh well. These shows were silly, but somehow they seemed more interesting than some of the junk on today.

    • I agree, most of today’s comedies aren’t that funny! Sometimes too much putting down family members or making fun of coworkers.
      I had not heard that the man had died who played Wilbur, so I am glad it was brought up, Dan.
      I saw a silly movie but enjoyed it a lot, “My Name Is Doris” with Sally Field. She was hilarious! I think it was PG 13.

    • I hope that the horse was served delicious fresh veggies and an apple a day until he was able to gallop off into the sunset, Nia. Is work settling down? Did I miss a few posts? I worked from 7:00 am until 6:30 pm on Monday. Then “only” ten hours on Tuesday and today. I am behind tonight because my grandson played baseball! Took him and his brother out for ice cream. Take care and get some rest. I thought of you while separating out my candy the other day. 😀

      • That is a long day. Aw, Thanks for thinking of me when sorting candy *smiles. I am drafting a post now and work is “out” though I have work to do later on this month.

    • Thanks, Colleen, for sharing this about liking Green Acres and how Mr. Ed was only on reruns. There may have been another show on one of the 3 or 4 channels our family television would get!

      • I think the world would be a little bit better place if the stations all signed off at 2 am. 🙂 Played the national anthem. And had family hour shows. 🙂

    • The national anthem still plays on some radio stations at 7 am or 8 am, Colleen. I also think tv is needed for night shifters who sleep during the day, work their shift and get home to watch something to unwind. So, maybe better not turn the tv availability off at 2 am! ha ha! 🙂

      • HA! 🙂

        There is a local radio station that has children do the pledge of allegiance every Friday morning. At least there is that too. I wish they did it every day!

    • Colleen, some schools still do this, just depends on where kids go. . . I will try to remember to ask my grandies. . . You can have one hold a little flag and do this before a meal. It is like a prayer, don’t you think? 🙂

  4. Watched all 3 shows regularly. So silly they were funny. Good clean comedy. Created iconic characters such as Oliver Wendall Douglas (obvious lawyer), Lisa Douglas (daaarling), wheeler dealer Mr. Haney, farmhand Eb Dawson, shopkeeper Sam Drucker, bad carpenters including a female named Ralph, uncle Joe Carson, the Jo girls. I worked with school principal/track official whose first name was Wilbur. He went by Bill. When I’d see him I mimicked Mr. Ed calling him “Willbbbur”. Great family shows for a simpler less complicated time. Thanks 4 the memories Robin.

    • Geoffrey, you outdid yourself in the details. I appreciate the time and effort you took in this complete guide to Green Acres. 🙂 🙂 Now that you wrote this up, I will refer people to your comment should they need a few mental reminders. You could win Trivial Pursuit with the subject of old sit-com’s!

    • Jennie, isn’t it funny to have seen this sign in Delaware County, Ohio? I just couldn’t pass by the alpaca farm across the street from this sign. The two went together in my mind. Thanks for joining me on the walk down memory lane.
      Good to know you remember the entire song from “Mr. Ed.”
      ps. I have friends at work who never watched the Tammy movies with Sandra Dee, did you ever watch any of them? They were about a young woman who lived on a riverboat not a farm, I believe. I actually have a Tammy doll (sturdier looking than a Barbie, not shapely, but long, straight legs.)

  5. I remember those three channels and the TV antenna as Diana mentioned. I watched Green Acres and Petticoat Junction on my grandparent’s farm, ha ha…with pigs, chickens and cows. Those are great memories all tied in with spending wonderful time with my beloved grandparents. Thanks so much for this post and bringing all this back again for me!

    • I liked that your grandparents watched the shows with you. I imagine this probably was a nice way to end their busy farming days. I can see the humor in the fact you had real examples of the animals right on their farm, Lana. 🙂 Our babysitter lived in the country so we had opportunities to feed animals. I wrote about it probably on your own memory posts, dear. ❤
      I looked forward to when my parents sat down and joined us, this really was fun. They were so often working on something work-related (Mom grading papers, Dad reading notes or scientific journals.)

    • Lana, my cell phone switched “tub” to boat! I like the wooden tub or vat and I could visualize Lucy’s feet turning purple!:) Thank you for trying to “get” my mangled message! 🙂

    • Thanks for adding to the conversation, Natalie! I am glad Nikki loved the show and watched it while a young girl. So sweet and not depressing nor crude. ❤ 🙂

  6. i loved all of these shows! I recently shared Mr. Ed with my grandchildren (YouTube) and we sat a giggled together. My favorite, though, was Green Acres! Fun memories, Robin. Such harmless, silly humor!

    • Thanks, Debra! I have fallen behind in visiting and am so glad you treated me to a small picture in my mind of your grandchildren watching, “Mr. Ed!” 🙂 Yay, for giggling grandies!

  7. I LOVED Green Acres and Petticoat Junction! Thanks for conjuring up the memories for this morning’s smile. All I have to do is think of the character Hank Kimball on Green Acres and I have to laugh 🙂

    • This is delightful how many people are happy about “Green Acres” and so glad you also like another of my favorites, “Petticoat Junction,” Joanne. It does make me smile a lot to remember some of the silly plots and stories which I still would be so ecstatic to watch. Once, this is rather funny, we were at my grandparents’ house and the “men” (Grandpa, Uncle and Dad) were watching football. (In those days, I would groan and grumble, now don’t mind a good game of my favorite team playing. . .) Anyway, the game had a “call” so they needed to go into a replay, I remember exclaiming, “Isn’t it bad enough this is running late and Petticoat Junction is going to be delayed, now they have to do football in slow motion?” 😀 My Dad laughed and laughed at my saying this.

    • Aww, you commented on several posts, Judy. I like the way you described the reasons I also like this type of show. Simpler times and the good guy is apparent, right from the start. 🙂

  8. I have two contributions. Green Acres was filmed in Mentryville just a couple of miles from my house here in Valencia and Eddie Albert’s granddaughter Thais went to school with Deanna here. But I never watched that show. 🙂 Mentryville is still intact for visitors who are fans of the show.

    • It is always a pleasure having extra facts shared by my friends. You provided valuable information here, Beth! ❤ I did not know where this was filmed before. This makes sense in all that you have featured of the eclectic and artistic area you live in. So glad to also know how Deanna is connected with Eddie Albert's granddaughter, too. Having common school bonds can extend into feeling familiar with background and character development. I am happy to know these details! 🙂

      • Thank you Robin. A lot of tv shows and movies are filmed in Santa Clarita/Valencia and the surrounding areas. We have a lot of the entertainment industry living here too, so Geoff and I are always recognizing scenes from our area in shows, lol. ❤

  9. Your post reminded me of all those enjoyable comedy’s that entertained every day, sometimes they are replayed today and they are still as good as ever.
    I do recall one episode, not sure which comedy it was from, but everyone met at Sam Druckers store, the Petticoat Junction crew and the Green Acres crew, I think the Beverly Hillbilly’s were there too.
    Enjoyed your post Robin.

Leave a Reply

