Two cupcakes

Image

image

* ~ Ode to Cupcakes ~ *

Quite a pair,

Diversity in origins,

One from here, one from over there.

Brown paper wrapping with swirls,

As I bring the box home,

careful not to tear.

The right one’s red velvet underneath,

with just a hint of “devil may care.”

German origin of other I like ~

Slowly unwrapping it,  if I dare.

Left one has lumpy, tan frosting,

Some dislike coconut, I need not share.

The cream cheese sprinkled kind,

Coming from “who knows where?”

No matter how they differ,

Always find I care. . .

to consume them completely,

Even the crumbs upon the chair!

~~ * ~~     ~~ * ~~

Robin’s original “ode” or poem
to cupcakes she purchased
at a new local bake shop
and cafe downtown.

Home Slices Bakery and Cafe,
2 North Sandusky Street
Delaware, Ohio 43015

Red velvet cake comes from WWII
period when beetroot was used
as coloring for the cake. It is
usually a layer cake with
either “roux” or cream
cheese frosting.

Wish my
“Ode to Cupcakes”
sounded like
the following
ode to a tree.

“Tree
By Joyce Kilmer

I think that I shall never see

A poem as lovely as a tree.

A tree whose hungry mouth is prest,

Against the earth’s sweet flowing

breast.

~~   skip a verse   ~~ 

A tree that may in summer wear

A nest of robin’s in her hair.

~~   skip a verse   ~~

Poems are made by fools like me,

But only God can make a tree.

Alfred Joyce Kilmer was an

American poet

who lived from

December 6, 1886

until his untimely death

barely 31 years old,

leaving spouse, Aline, behind,

July 30, 1918.

88 responses »

  1. Your poems spoke to me, and your photo was the perfect accompaniment to my morning coffee. Also, thank you for the added item about red velvet cake. I always wondered where the red color came from. – Mike

    • Mike, so glad you appreciated my “research” and it satisfied my curiosity, too. 🙂 So cool we have an internet! It helps me when I forget a movie, actor or directions. . . The German chocolate one was my favorite! 😉

  2. how wonderful those cupcakes look, robin. i went through a phase where i made a lot of them and can appreciate all the hard work that goes into them. i love the red velvet story, i had no idea. now, i’m craving a cupcake for breakfast! )

    • Beth, I admire baking talent and it does take work to create delicious ones! My oldest daughter is a good baker to depend on when winter is cold, she finds baking~ therapy.
      I am grateful for my phone since answers to questions like: Why are there Red Velvet cupcakes? Brings valuable answers!! 😉
      This place isn’t even a block away and has a long counter to look out window and little Scandinavian tables and lighting. They used to, as the “Mean Bean,” have little bands play on weekends. Not sure if they will continue this. . . clerk didn’t know.
      I would treat you to one or two, should we meet halfway someday!

  3. The cupcakes look yummy (and pretty on the plate)–hope you enjoyed them!
    (I’m not a red velvet fan–not chocolatey enough for me.) I believe though that red velvet cake originated before WWII. Beets have often been used to color foods–the WWII era may have been when the switch to dyes was made.

    • Oh, this makes sense but maybe calling it red velvet may have come into use during that era? Not everything you find on the internet is true, maybe I have to check this further. . . All natural dyes have been around for centuries, I agree, Merril. 🙂 Thank you for this news.

    • Merril, so excited to share about the pretty dish! Those plates were found in a crawl space under my parents lake cottage. There was even a soup tureen! My Mom had sold her Victorian home furnishings from my grandparents and yet, could not bear to sell the china! They lived much simply when they actually retired at age 55! Boy, do I envy their retirement; but Dad only lived 14 years past this time, due to early smoking (he quit in his forties) and working as a nuclear engineer for NASA. Your being interested in history and life I thought might want to know the background of the plate under the cupcakes. Hugs!

      • What a cool story to find china in lake cottage crawl space!
        On re-reading, I wasn’t sure if you meant your parents had put it there, or your parents found it there from a previous owner. Either way, it’s cool! 🙂

    • My Mom could not bear to sell her china when they packed up our house to move to a little cottage. The best years of their lives were in Vermilion, Ohio. 🙂 Plus, buying a transvan and traveling around the country up to Maine, down to Florida and across the country to California. 🙂

    • Very nice link to the convoluted history of red velvet cake, Merril. I didn’t know about red devil’s food cake before either. So fascinating and possibly traced back to the Waldorf Astoria and Lady Astor, which takes us to England…

    • I am glad to know you like red velvet cupcakes, Rick. The war had to stop Hitler, really hated him and his followers! My Grandma was originally named Paula Haller and came from Germany. She never spoke of it nor used any of her homeland language due to her disliking what happened. She cooked delicious German dishes, though! 🙂

      • Thanks for sharing your story. I can understand the situation that you grandmother faced. My family had some German background also…. I really love red velvet cake……Did you see my Hugs post? I got responses from people that I had not heard from for a couple of years; thanks for the idea… Let me recommend that you moderate your comments. I have had some bad things to happen between battling followers. That is when I began to moderate. Also, if you moderate, you can use it to read private messages and respond via email, text, chat, phone, etc. …. I really could use a “big hug” and a “big piece of red velvet cake” Thanks for being so kind. Don’t go away…

    • Actually both have chocolate and the red velvet one was darker than usual, barely showed the red! Marissa, my favorite was the German chocolate and I would gladly get you a few and drive a couple hours if you are ever in a closer state! xo

  4. I love Joyce Kilmer’s poem, but do you know Ogden Nash’s parody of it? I think that I shall never see a billboard lovely as a tree. Perhaps, unless the billboards fall, I’ll never see a tree at all.

  5. Such a beautiful ode, a beautiful way to say good bye to these two cupcakes! You have seen my post. That cake wasn’t home made. We bought it in a special place – European Food store. They sell German, French, Italian and British delicacies, and bake their own cakes. Thank you again for sharing your poem ( I don’t expect any other sharing, naturally). I will be thinking of you when I eat a red velvet cake 🙂

    • Kath, thanks for the compliments! 🙂 I am happy you liked my light-hearted “ode to cupcakes!” I hope to round y’all up for a cupcake party someday.

    • Ian, thank you for admiring the plate. ❤
      I crawled under my parent's main floor of a small lake cottage bringing things and handing them up to my artist brother. These must have been part of my Mom's Victorian stuff from my Grandma from Germany. She couldn't part with them, I guess.
      There are no markings on the bottom. You have a good eye, i think they are special. 🙂 I grabbed them, happy to save them since foolish me, I had turned down many beautiful collectibles saying I liked Early American and colonial period items more! (I was probably 28 years old at the time.) My parents retired at 55 and sold through a big auction house the furniture, silver and chandelier from the house we lived in during junior high and high school.

      • Ah, the family history and heirlooms sold, that are invaluable memories of a family’s genealogy Robin, trinkets that hold a story. I try to preserve the past for future enjoyment.
        Keep the story’s for your Grandchildren Robin.

    • Ian, what my grandparents and my parents had, while in my 20’s, even though I had my two weeks ones by the, just seemed, “old,” laughing now! Thanks, dear friend for asking. I try to write snippets down when I visit my Mom. I have my grandmother’s immigration papers, some memorabilia. . . Have a great upcoming weekend! xo to you and Ana.

    • Thank you, Paul. I was sipping my milk before I go to sleep and spit some of it out~ due to my getting slap happy and your comic remark! 😀
      I will need to come visiting this weekend, since I have had over 9 hour days. If I have already mentioned this another time, just ignore me. 🙂

  6. Mmm, cupcakes. I’ll share the German chocolate with you, I love that icing, and I don’t love most icing! Coconut and nuts, what’s not to like! 😛

Leave a Reply

