The four grandies at Franklin Park Conservatory

Image

image

They spent almost an hour in this

butterfly room, breezing along

through the next few until

they arrived in umbrella

room where they sharedΒ 

“hands across the water.”

Here are their names,

(left to right)

Landen,

Marley,

Makyah,

and Lara.

This photo taken

by Nana (Robin)

and is missing baby

Hendrix, Mommy and Daddy,

(See baby Hendrix tomorrow).

They were busy chasing

butterflies and glass

Chihuli sculptures.

Franklin Park Conservatory

in Columbus, Ohio.

57 responses »

  1. Beautiful grandies in a beautiful setting. We went to a butterfly exhibit when our daughter was younger. She didn’t like it and is still a bit bugged by butterflies.

    • There are times in a young person’s life, totally unexpected reactions occur. Once they are imprinted on their brain, it is hard to “shake” the memory off, April. I liked when I was taking courses in early intervention for children with special needs. We learned some strategies, sometimes replacing old thoughts, habits, or patterns with new ones. It is not always easy to erase the old ones, though, as you mentioned about your daughter’s dislike of butterflies. I smiled at the way you put this! πŸ™‚

    • The sum total of 6 out of 7 will be in full days of school, Mike. I imagine Hendrix will be quite puzzled. He has taken to crying, not just if Mommy or Daddy leave the room; but if the kids do!
      I am sure your grandchildren have been continuing to grow, also. ❀

  2. It looks like you had a lovely day with your grandchildren. Beautiful gardens!
    My daughters used to love the butterfly room at the Academy of Natural Sciences in Philadelphia. We had a membership there for a while.

    • Merril, I imagine their whole building has special exhibits of beautiful plants, gardens and natural wonders. When the butterflies arrive it is sure to brighten the children’s day there, too. πŸ™‚
      When my Mom had an extended in-service or workshop for her teaching credentials, we all would travel to the locations, too. Dad took us exploring throughout the Philadelphia museums. I remember some of the various places, like a restaurant called Bookbinders (?) It was rather fancy. Possibly, it is still there. . .

      • Bookbinders is no more. I think I ate there decades ago–it became more of a tourist place, I think. But there are many wonderful restaurants in Philadelphia, if you ever visit again–and museums, too. πŸ™‚

    • I am glad my memory was the correct city, Merril. I am sure Philadelphia would be an even better and amazing place to go, now that I am an adult. We remember different things and have other focuses while young. Happy mid-week! πŸ™‚

    • I certainly have an abundance of joy, Juan. I am happy my son chose to love Trista. We tease her since Lara and Landen, when we met her the first time Jamie brought her to visit, were really wild as toddlers. They were truly just the beginning roots of their family.

    • The kids fit in well together and we always say their combination family are truly one family, Marissa. I like how you think they match. The rebel shirt I got for Landen when he turned 10 is his favorite shirt. πŸ™‚

    • Colleen, I am sure you have also enjoyed the Franklin Park Conservatory, since your adjective is perfectly fitting: “Stunning!” The grandies show true appreciation for any special trips or things we all do together. We played “My father owns a grocery store” and “I Spy” in the car ride, while Jamie and Trista sat in front and concentrated on traffic! πŸ™‚

    • We spent almost 4 hours in and around the Conservatory so it was well worth the entrance fee. I highly recommend all nature conservatories! I liked watching other people, too. πŸ™‚

  3. I must mention Robin that yesterday I had a visit from an old Army mate I hadn’t seen for over 40 years, after the Army he became well known as a Butterfly authority, travelling and recording species, he had a great Butterfly emporium you could walk into and the Butterfly’s would land on you. His collections are now part of the Australian Natural Museum.
    Your post coincidentally timed with our reunion.
    Cheers.

    • A belated message sent back to you, Ian! I am so glad you know someone who was a butterfly expert and collector. He gave a generous gift from his far and wide experiences to the National Museum in Australia. πŸ™‚ This was a happy (serendipitous) coincidence!

    • Carol, so happy you studied this photograph. It means a lot that you cred to do so! ❀ My grandies are sweet children who show such appreciation for places like this. When I run into elderly or "jaded" people who say younger generations "aren't grateful nor caring," if they are willing to spend a few minutes in a grocery line or somewhere, I will say that a "Picture is worth a 1000 words," and share my grandies. I have creek walks and forest photos where not a penny was spent on them and their faces still show joy! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • Oh, Brenda! This is such a cool coincidence! Makyah is coming out of her shell, heading to kindergarten this Fall. She can be so quiet, in a corner playing with a tiny pet shop miniature set or find her making a book with stickers and letters. She loves Hello Kitty! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

