Baby Hendrix at 9 1/2 months

Image

image

Hendrix can crawl now.

He can get up on his toes

while on all fours, but is funny

and tends to wobble and fall upon

his chin. Well padded and able to

take the pain, he gets back on his

knees again. All photos are blurry

in one area or another of the busy baby.

Have you heard of cloth diapers?

Of course, you have!

Well, there is a new trend

homemade diaper covers.

I just love the idea of being

environmentally considerate

plus all three of my own

children “felt” their wetness

in cloth diapers, being fully

potty-trained, girls by

18 months, my son

by two years old.

Hendrix makes

cutest face,

knowing he

is wet now.

~ πŸ™‚ ~

Picture of Hendrix,

not showing his

newly learned

skills since Nana

“freaked out”

while reviewing

the missing

fingers, toes

and his nose

due to rapid

movements

creating blurs.

Happy baby viewing!

60 responses »

    • Jill, thank you for your enthusiastic reception! πŸ™‚
      I was so happy when I called from up at my Mom’s over Memorial Day weekend. My son put his cell phone on speaker. He set it down on the floor and I was saying “hello,” “love you” and the older kids were saying loud replies.
      Jamie all of a sudden told them to “shush.” Then I heard Hendrix cooing into the phone. My Mom has held him only over Thanksgiving and Christmas so she got teary-eyed and said, “I love you, baby, baby.” (She has understandably forgotten all the kids’ names except Skyler.) I cried, since it really touched my heart. He was so sweet, not jabbering but making a singing, “cooing” sound. ❀

  1. He is such a cutie ❀ Watch out, he's going to be running soon enough. My daughter didn't use disposables either, Robin. Lot's of laundry, but easier on the planet. πŸ™‚

    • Diana, thanks for letting me know about your daughter choosing the old-fashioned cloth diapers. By my third child I was incredibly grateful for Velcro cloth diapers! πŸ™‚
      I tease my son, H’s Daddy. Jamie didn’t walk until past a year, he was a chubby baby, too. You are so right!! Look out world, soon enough Hendrix will be on his feet.
      My DIL, Trista, and I talk about our girls, hers and Jamie’s two sisters weren’t interested in breastfeeding past 6 months for my oldest Carrie and 8 months for my Felicia.
      We wonder if boys just get more attached to their Mommy’s?

      • They all have their own personalities, so who knows why babies do things differently. It’s all just pure cuteness – especially for the grandmothers πŸ˜€

      • There’s a new book about grandparents by Lesley Stahl. She even admits our roles change from when we are Mother’s to that of grandmother. She says we become a “playmate.” πŸ™‚

    • Balroop, he was smiling as he moved around a lot! πŸ™‚ I just don’t like how when he was moving some of his body parts were “morphed!” When I sat him down from being up on his knees trying to grab the sofa, he gave me a serious look! Blessings to you, too. ❀

    • Thanks for the compliment, Diane! Also, especially glad to hear of your niece’s choice to use cloth diapers.:) There are Velcro ones plus you can use liners to help with certain things. . . The diaper covers are lined with plastic, I believe. She mentioned trying Terry cloth inside to allow “wicking” the wetness. πŸ™‚ I am sure your niece is aware of all the choices! Congratulations to you, Dear Auntie. How is your little grandson, JP? πŸ™‚ (Hope I remembered his initials!)

  2. We cloth diapers for the first three kids we had until I could no longer handle so many kids and poopy diapers to wash. Then I asked that we switch to disposables instead.

    By the way, your kids got potty trained early. I am impressed with your hard work. 😊

    • Thank you, Imelda. You know my Mom encouraged me by saying they would be able “feel” wetness with the cloth diapers.
      I don’t blame you for using disposables. I stayed home and babysat, which meant I had some time to wash diapers, at nap-time. If I were sending my children to a babysitter, most would never tolerate the cloth ones.
      Here is a hint for future grandchildren: Set toddlers on potty chair before baths, start the tub water. Soon enough, they tinkle (or pee). Boys, if they are strong and walking by a year, can be faced backward on the big toilet. Mom said that my 2 brothers pretended they were driving while holding onto the seat. Using “Vroom!” sounds and saying “what good boys they were,” worked because they would go! πŸ™‚

    • Babies are such wonderful little sources of entertainment. I am thinking you have niece’s and nephews or possibly grand-nieces? πŸ™‚ Hope you and your wife get to see little ones and possibly hold them, too. Generally baby lotion and powder make me wish to bury my face in their necks or heads. Thanks for re-blogging, Jonathan!

    • Natalie, that kind of look on his face is due because he kept crawling fast, showing me his skills. I showed him on my camera toes and fingers were a blur. So I sat him on his bottom. Now, you may see what is really going on in his mind! πŸ˜‰ ❀

  3. Beautiful photograph of Hendrix Robin, same age as my Granddaughter in Chile, trying to walk, making sounds, and developing great individual face gestures.
    I can imagine the pleasure you get sharing time with your little ones.

  4. I agree with everyone here: what a doll! He looks like a Gerber baby! I also think this new trend toward cloth diapers is smart. Deanna and Al used them for Anna and it probably saved tons and tons of undegradable waste. They are expecting a boy now and I hope he is half as cute as Hendrix!

  5. It’s good to know that cloth nappies are making a come back. That little pearl of wisdom in the middle of your verse about feeling the wetness. I’d forgotten that piece of grandmothers advice.

Leave a Reply

