Friday’s extra edition of Perkins Observatory

Image

image

The great names are engraved along

the front of Perkins Observatory:

Copernicus,

Ptolemy,

Newton,

Galileo,

and two

whose

letters

are missing.

Could they be

Cassini,

Kepler,

Herschel

or Messier?

The red roof tile and

intricately laid bricks

forming patterns across

the observatory building

give reference to the way

the first doors post had

a  wild weed growing,

chipped paint post,

which was meant to

lead you to today’s.

Hope you have a

wonderful

exploration-driven

weekend to all. . .

the sky’s the limit!

30 responses »

    • I was thrilled to be able to share this with you, Ian.I have only been inside two times! (Once with a ladies group, once with Boy Scouts) thanks for visiting so much dear friend! πŸ™‚

    • It certainly is an ornately designed entrance, Jill. Thanks for checking the follow up photos to the garage door post.
      I went to see that sensitive film, “Me Before You,” with a friend. I thought of how I like the comforting Hallmark movies with happy endings. . . and I thought of you, too. πŸ™‚

  1. Interesting building. I love the sculptures (bas relief?) above the doorway. I wish I could see them a bit more clearly.
    I did a post a while ago about Caroline Herschel–I hadn’t know about her before I read a novel about her and her brother.

  2. That is as impressive an entry as I would expect to see on any Renaissance church. I am going to guess and say the missing names would include Tycho Brahe and Johann Kepler. – Mike

    • Oh, Mike! I really could not tell because they were on placards along the front of the observatory building. I accidentally lost my post which included this, while my friend, Anna, didn’t capture the same shots. Thank you for mentioning this fantastic duo! πŸ™‚

    • Anneli, I hope people can see the details in this photo. I just didn’t make it back to Perkins Observatory and wasn’t able to take other choices. I love the inside of the entry, too. πŸ™‚

    • Dan, so glad you came back to see more! I was a little dismayed that I pre-scheduled the 3 posts and when I finished work, the only one posted, was the first rather bedraggled door. (When I went back, I couldn’t find the photo of the entire building. The next one I rewrote using a photo sent from my friend, Anna.)
      I am happy you found this to be “cool.” I liked your Union Station photos.

      • I like learning about the history of interesting buildings, Robin. Observatories have always fascinated me. I also like interesting ways of presenting information. You covered all the bases in this series.

    • Derrick, thank you for recognizing it was a challenging photo. The building runs lengthwise north and south. I think I may try going up there at sunset sometime for a follow up photo, possibly it will be better lighted. I think this ceiling was sculpted and I believe it is beautiful. I have heard it could have been a bas relief. (Our friend, Merril’s guess). It is a problem to find this kind of historical detail written up anywhere!

  3. What a gorgeous building and stunning photograph, Robin! So much history, just in this one place. My weekend is being spent breaking down areas of the kitchen and cleaning them, LOL! Hope yours is more exciting.

    • Beth, I will check back on your recent two posts I rambled upon, dear friend! Thank you for checking out this fascinating place, which hired a construction company which built the telescope with credentials as far West as Seattle and also, Chicago. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

