Thursday’s Doors ~ St. Mary’s Catholic Church

Image

image

Full front view of the church

finally presented to you.

This church’s back view

was featured in

Late Winter/Early Spring,

with pink pastel colored

heavenly clouds.

There are a few posts

with different angles of

St. Mary’s Catholic Church.

Study this building and

feel free to tell what details

you enjoyed or found pretty,

unique or fascinating

and hope you will

look at the other

posts provided

here and on

other various

Thursday’s Doors

which was founded by

Norm Frampton.

Check the unexpected

choices of doors at:

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

44 responses »

    • Thank you sincerely, Derrick. I am happy some of my doors are displaying old European and English influences! I live across the back parking lot. This weekend is their annual festival! πŸ™‚

  1. I like the contrast in colors between the brick and the windows/trim. Also, I like the Gothic style architecture, but with the Victorian clock–soar to Heaven, but be on time. πŸ™‚

    • It is one of my favorite sights, Jill. If you cross their side parking lot, you get to the back of my apartment building. My grandchildren consider their private school playground, “theirs” on weekends! πŸ™‚

  2. I am really enjoying the pictures of this church, Robin. I decided to comment on this one, because it includes so many of the elements I like. The doors, of course, but the intricate patterns in the brick and the overall architecture of the building. I like the two towers being of different heights, and the clock and the windows and louvers… I could go on. Great subject!

    • I am exuberant since you have often taken photos of churches. I value your opinion, Dan. Thank you for mentioning several features here. πŸ™‚
      This to me, seems very unique in how one tower still chimes the hours and the other shorter one seems mysterious in its being different in appearance. . .
      Do you think the organ music I hear on Sunday’s comes from the shorter tower? Both have louvers allowing sound to emanate through them.

      • I was confused about the different heights. I guess there’s a reason, but I wouldn’t have a clue. I guess some churches have the organ in the back. Maybe that’s what you are hearing.

  3. After visiting so many Catholic churches throughout Latin America, I always saw structures with symmetrical fronts. I was struck by the asymmetry of this church with its steeples of different heights. St. Mary’s is an interesting mix of architectural designs. – Mike

    • I appreciate your extraordinary amount of knowledge, of international churches, Mike. I think the clock tower chimes with bells and the shorter one may be connected with their organ since there are times I hear songs or organ music on Sunday mornings emanating from somewhere. Someone mentioned the louvers, which have to serve a purpose. . . πŸ™‚ Thank you for your summary with pointing out the unique features.

    • Yay, for turrets and a clock, Joanne! Thank you for liking this “neighbor” of mine. My grandies think their school playground is “theirs” on weekends and in the summer. πŸ™‚

    • Tee hee, the priest in training once stopped to sit with me, watching the kids and I told him we were “neighbors.” He told ME, “Thank you for feeling welcome here, this makes me happy.” He lives in the “Cavanaugh” parish hall. I have a photo of his front door. πŸ™‚

    • I think I have figured out a possible reason for each tower’s purpose. The clock tower “chimes” the hours. The shorter tower “may” be one that emits church organ music on Sundays, Juan. Thank for noticing the different heights! πŸ™‚

  4. Magnificent church. It gives off an appearance of strength with its firm foundation. The type of image every believer needs to see. Our faith needs to be as firm as the church, especially in these times of hate and violence. Peace, love, and light to you Robin, and your family.

    • Thank you for such a beautiful expression of solidarity with all people and faiths. I don’t attend this church but I do live nearby so my grandchildren think the Catholic school playground is “theirs” on weekends and all summer!
      Thank you for your lovely wishes of “peace, love and light for my family and me.” How sweet and thoughtful this was! Sending you and Allie those same special wishes, spreading the Love around! ❀

    • Aww, Beth, I wish you and your grandies could join mine at the St.Marys Annual Festival on this Saturday!! They are busy bringing in the rides, including a ferris wheel. It is not large like the county fair so you feel rather “safe” and relaxed. Of course, there will be things like a cake walk, too. πŸ™‚

    • Marissa, the annual St Mary’s Festival goes all day and as late as midnight on Saturday! Your son wouldn’t be impressed but I bet your daughter would run around going on all the rides! Until she is cranky like my grandies, has to go home and take a bath, then bedtime! πŸ™‚

    • John, thank you for admiring this building, which my co-workers, three Filipinos (which they told me it was the way they prefer to be identified) attend this with their husbands. Felda, who had her baby son, Zachary, christened with 7 other children and babies, in this church. I posted about “Eight little angels,” which was quite a treat! I really like the sanctuary! ❀
      Felda has always invited me to all her older daughter's (Kridia Dawn) birthday parties, too.
      The 3 women have invited me to join them out dancing, singing karaoke and to their homes. The husband's don't go out dancing but I will see them over the weekend, since this is their annual church festival, held all Saturday until midnight! πŸ™‚

  5. You are right to be proud of your local church, Robin. It’s so stately. The spires, the windows and the entrance are truly wonderful. Is there a clock on all four sides of the right hand spire?

    • Thanks for saying such nice things about the neighboring church! I have so far featured the Episcopalian and the Catholic in my town and a Methodist Church on a road trip.
      This Clock tower does have four faces, Sylvia! πŸ™‚ I like your idea of its being “stately.” It is the fanciest and most decorative church in town.
      I belong to the Presbyterian Church but they put an addition on the front, a foyer, which to me, kind of ruins the front appearance. Someday, I will get around to taking a picture and mention my initial dismay. Have a wonderful weekend! ❀

  6. I sure do love old churches, too. This one is just a parking lot away, dear.
    I remember when you took your overseas trip such beautiful churches and places you shared with us, Natalie. You are one of the kindest, most caring bloggers! ❀

Leave a Reply

