Seaside or Lakeside View

Image

image

This looks so different when

placed flat on a turquoise blanket.

Brother Randy often will give away

a piece of art you may exclaim over.

This is a multi-layered painting

with white gouache and paint laid

thickly over it, some etchings are

there to create movement.

I like how I see splashing with

children and adults by their sides.

The man reading a book in the

foreground, may have fallen asleep.

All I may add is this earned

my brother no awards nor

financial compensation but he

knows it has brought me smiles,

comfort and warmth on many

a cold Winter’s day or night.

The photo taken by artist’s
sister, Robin Oldrieve.
The painting resembles
modern “take” on
Impressionism.

I like the red burnished
wooden frame with high
gloss shine to it.

Do you have a feeling
or thought you would
like to add to mine?

This was planned to
be published on:

First Day of
Summer,

~ 6/20/2016 ~

72 responses »

    • This is such a sweet comment, Diane! Maybe we can work out a “time share deal,” since I mainly “need” it during the months of January through March. πŸ˜€ just the cost of postage back and forth!
      During Fall, I use orange, red and yellow decorations and of course, in November the cornucopia and pilgrim salt and pepper shakers come out. . . then a whole bunch of Christmas stuff. . . Easter in the early spring. . . I use it to “escape” to the beach.
      So, can you use it in the spring and summer?! xoxo

      • Hahaha, I even have beach colored decorations for the holidays for my family room in turquoise and purples, etc. (Even pumpkins!) I definitely would take what I could get — hey, maybe an art rental business, hmm? xoxo

  1. I assume your brother is the artist. He is quite talented!
    Congratulations on the NBA Championship. Cleveland has waited a long time for a champion. Great way to start the summer. – Mike

    • My brother, Randy, painted this and I admired it a lot. He gave it to me a few Christmases ago. I like how it makes the winter season feel warmer, definitely helps me relax, too. I can almost smell the seaside aromas, too.
      Mike, thanks for bringing up the big win!
      Hip hip hooray for Cleveland!! Yay! I saw a change in the team over the last year, they worked together. I saw a unique humility in LeBron, too. πŸ™‚

    • Merril, thanks for describing the turquoise sky as “shimmering with electricity.” I like the way you did this!
      In my white-walled apartment, my eyes often seek this painting to bring a certain lightness and color into my winter months, especially. I admired this but Randy waited to give it to me a few Christmases ago.

      • I like color, too. I think it’s a family trait. Most of my mom’s paintings are full of color. Younger daughter painted (well, she helped my husband paint) her white apartment walls bright colors. Of course, she will have to repaint them all white again when they move.

    • Thanks for sharing how your Mom painted using many colors, Merril. Your younger daughter likes bright colors. My oldest daughter is who fills up her son’s and her home with colors. My youngest has mostly black, tan, gray and white in her place.
      You have art in your life! πŸ™‚

      • We definitely have art–lots of my mom’s paintings and others. My older daughter is an artist, too, and we also have some of her prints. And in my life, yes, of course–art in all forms. πŸ™‚

  2. you are your brother are both creative, each in your own way. i love the colors and all of the details in his painting and i like your words describing it. congrats on the big win last night!

    • Thanks for the compliments on my brother’s art, as well as liking my description, Beth. πŸ™‚
      Of course, I was elated about the Cleveland Cavs win! Thanks for the congrats!

    • Aww, Jennie. Thank you for loving one of my favorite gifts from my brother, Randy. πŸ™‚ It was fun thinking of words being frosting. This would be nice if I ever had to “eat my words.” Ha ha ha! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks so much, Diane. This is one of Randy’s paintings. I am blessed with a talented artist for a brother. He graduated with a fine arts degree from OSU. His favorite art form is as sculptures. πŸ™‚

    • Yes, I am going to display sculptures, more art! I am excited because Randy has a new place with room to display quite a lot of his work. So, with my Mom and grandson, we visited over Memorial Day. He cooked up asked beans, corn on the cob and served hamburgers to his musical neighbors, too.
      It is a great three story home, store and workshop with a garage door to pull up and load his van with new pieces. Next door, are a band with soundproof walls and also, a separate candle shop. It has been ten years or so since he had a huge double storefront gallery at a place in the French Quarters known as the Continent, in Columbus. Thank you! πŸ™‚

    • Jenny, I am glad you liked the colours in Randy’s beach painting. How’s everything going in your corner of the world? I checked and enjoyed the scenery once again in your garden in the sky post. πŸ™‚

    • Great observation, Anneli. I sure do enjoy the beach, which enhances my affection for this painting I managed to receive for a Christmas a few years ago. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Dan for allowing me to encourage your thinking in terms of summer.
      My grandies think “summer begins when school lets out,” and I was explaining to them the seasons have dates which start and end them. So, I showed them how calendars say, “Summer Soltice” or “1st day of summer” on them.
      **They probably still think their original thought is “correct.”

  3. Robin, I love this painting – the colors are really vivid and sing Summer!! Thanks so much for posting this today – I had totally forgotten it’s the first day of Summer…leave it to you, my friend. πŸ™‚

    • Sheila, you brought extra doses of sunshine into this post with the words vivid colors “sing Summer!” It makes me happy that I was the hostess introducing Summer into your year. ❀
      Please pass out my hugs all around su Casa.
      I apologize for a late reply, long day (7 am till I clocked out at 6:59 pm) at work. . . I needed time to unwind first. πŸ™‚

  4. I love paintings and your Brother has painted beautifully, the Summer Beach scene is very well depicted, with the reclining figure exposing the panorama of an artistic view of Summer.

Leave a Reply

