Thursday’s Doors ~ Summery home with wreath

Image

image

Support awareness of

fund-raising projects or

enjoy decorating outdoors

with bows tied to the

rod iron fence or gate.

This reminded me of

Tony Orlando and Dawn’s song,

“Tie a Yellow Ribbon ‘Round

the Old Oak Tree,”

112 is the address

of a special door

on an elegant house.

I am open for comments,

up for information on this

house’s unfamiliar origin.

1800’s?

early 1900’s?

later than those?

Colonial style?

Federal period?

Work is crazy-busy,

I have not drawn this

for a historical home tour,

nor do I know the owners.

Information scarce for this post.

All “up in the air” and I bow my

head and curtsy to my Doors

fellow blogging community,

hoping they don’t mind

filling in some gaps. . . .

Also, include those who view

history as part of their make up,

those who may have a good idea

of this house’s background or “roots.”

This charming door’s my contribution

to Norm Frampton’s Thursday’s Doors

and I will enjoy and agree with any

information and news you wish

to share and let me “off the hook.”

Please check out other door

posts, find links on Norm’s

blog and happy Thursday:

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

~ ~ ~ * * * ~ ~ ~

The photograph was
taken by reocochran,
wishful thoughts
and request
by Robin.

~ ~ ~
  * *

63 responses »

  1. Its heritage might be unknown, but it is very lovely. The purple ribbons were one of the first things I noticed and I wondered why.

    I also like the similar side door peeking out from behind πŸ™‚

    • Joanne, thanks for noticing this side door, which also made me wonder. . . I walked by this house, just down the street from where my grandson, Micah, goes to elementary school. I was enchanted by the ribbons and should look up the color to see if it has significance.
      I didn’t mention this, but I think the idea of taking the curtains, as if the two windows were side by side, was interesting . πŸ™‚

      • No, I must stay out of trouble, Joanne. I like the idea of a Peeping Robin until it would hit the local paper!
        I was joking with my grandies and saying they should make a “Bad Nana” movie. They seem to find all kinds of mistakes I make. But no swearing; because I don’t wish to contribute to their “Swear Jar.” Lol

      • Laughter is such a great way to get through life, Joanne. I felt guilty pushing “like” on your post. I will worry about your head until it is completely healed.

  2. The brick looks old, I wonder if the section to the right (as you look at the photo) was added on.Maybe it’s Federal style? I suspect though maybe built later? I’m terrible at architecture though. πŸ™‚ You will have to fill us in if you find out more.

  3. This home presents some mystery, Robin. I would guess that it was built in the early 1900s, but only because “I think” that’s a concrete block foundation. Also, the featured door makes me think it’s not where it was originally, or that it has been changed, because the lintel above the door isn’t as wide as the door (it’s the same width as the window lintels). I wonder if the front door looked like the side door originally, and they built the entrance wood parts later.

    The other curious thing is that a lot of the brick looks like it was replaced or repaired. I’d love to see an old photo of this house.

    Thanks for letting me play detective today πŸ™‚

    • Thank YOU, Dan. This was nice of you to take the time to present some interesting details which may help us put more clues into the mix. I think the change in door is definitely significant and the different ages of bricks are also indicative of repair work. Hmmm. . . πŸ™‚

    • Dan, where the brick line changes, do you suppose there once was a porch roof? This happened at the German Village church, (on another Door’s post) where the bricks were a darker red. Don’t interrupt what you are doing but ponder on that possibility and maybe get back on this tomorrow, please.

    • Ok, thank you, Dan. I see you thought of the porch right away. Evidence of their deciding to take it off. Interesting, but the house looks nicely arranged without it. I like porches, though! πŸ™‚

  4. I am clueless to the facts of the place. But I appreciate doors and buildings like this. I love the old stuff. And the history behind it. Even if I don’t know the history, I like to imagine it.

  5. Lovely. I like the spirit of community you’ve brought us today πŸ™‚
    I get a sincere early 1900s feeling from this house, and I think it’s quite Federal in style, although, those windows give me a sense of Italianate, since they’re tall and narrow. It’s gorgeous.

    • Joey, it has so much going for it, doesn’t it? Thank you for your educated doors knowledge, since I believe you know details and periods, along with history! ❀

    • Judy, thank you for liking the unique factors, too. I do feel this may have had a porch in the front, but they were able to fix the bricks and create a unified front.
      It is my 8th year of working at an auto parts warehouse. No air conditioning and many car repairs. Stores order, we fill and send the hampers. It will slow down in late Fall. πŸ™‚
      Have a wonderful weekend!

    • Amy, this was a really nice compliment on the house! I also appreciate your liking the photograph of the door. By noticing the flowering tree branches, it made my inner, amateur photographer beam! πŸ™‚

    • Matt, it is fun whether you know something to add and I like the fact you stopped by anyway! Houses are interesting to some more than others. I usually choose pretty but then there have been a few worn out or hidden by underbrush doors. πŸ™‚

  6. Lovely picture Robin, I too thought of the song Tie a Yellow Ribbon, an interesting house with a couple of styles involved I think, the brickwork looks 1900s and the windows and wrought iron appear to make it seem earlier, either way they have done it very well.
    Cheers.

    • Ian, do you suppose they went to flea markets and picked up antique houseware parts which don’t quite match the original date? I like that you see it’s interesting and works well. That’s funny you thought of the song Tie a Yellow Ribbon Around the Old Oak Tree, too. ❀ Great minds think alike~ ha ha!

      • Hi Robin, flea markets and old demolition sites are great places to pick up bits and pieces that can be incorporated into new styles, many modern buildings try to do this with a touch of the old world style, but it takes a keen eye to do it successfully.
        I seem to always find a song in a picture, much like a picture inspires a poem.
        Cheers.

Leave a Reply

