Randy’s “statement art” piece

Image

image

Under the layers of purposeful

grid work, chicken wire and

additional wooden strips

screwed onto this “funky”

art piece is a form,

a fossilized art

of an animal

or bird,

twisted

and bent.

XxxxxxxX

I could see this as a

Statement Art piece

for a vegan or vegetarian.

The story and meaning

is like all art found~

“In the Eyes of the Beholder.”

Do you have a unique

title for this one?

Randy has had shows

where he has won,

“Best of Show”

and “People’s Choice.”

There obviously is an

Artist’s interpretation.

Honestly, Randy once gave me

sheet with titles and prices.

I am not necessarily promoting

his sales;

I am promoting purchases of

Real Art.

Not prints sold at “box stores”

but even going to your

local thrift shops or

high school art shows

and making your purchase

be meaningful. One that’s

also a legacy for that

artist you chose to

display their art

upon your wall!

XxxxxxX

Photo by Robin,

Thoughts not

representing the artist

nor even given approval.

Tell me what you think. . . please!

57 responses »

    • Thanks for considering it real art, Diana. It does have some basis in reality, but my daughter who studied art, thinks Randy has a dinosaur fossil in mind (?) She thinks he wouldn’t mind my interpretation since he is a natural foods advocate. πŸ™‚

  1. This is very cool! I have a bunch of pieces that weren’t expensive, but they are ones I bought from the artist. I know where they came from, and they may not be worth much, but they mean something to me (pieces that I just loved, or came from somewhere I love, or from a particular vacation).

    • Sarah, so good of you to share information about your purchased original art pieces which you like and display in your home. Personal taste is a very important choice and why we gravitate towards one color, style or design seems to come from deep inside us, don’t you think? πŸ™‚

  2. I love it! It looks a bit like a window but of course you can’t see through it, but you can still kind of, look in to it. Maybe something like Window to the Mind, or Soul…but I guess that’s kind of corny! Yes, here’s to promoting real art. I think the problem is that a lot of it is very expensive!

    • Marissa, I like your thinking of the meaning and trying to see what makes sense our of Randy’s art! “Window to the Mind” (or Soul) is really cool!
      I remember when I found at a yard sale some of my first art which I hung in our newlyweds apartment! I still have two pieces hanging which really don’t have a meaning, except I had a “gut reaction,” liking them. πŸ™‚

  3. I like the visibility of the domino, small but hugely representative on a lot of fronts. Insignificance also -a black doomed speckled egg, the domino effect of crazy notions and cruelty also underpinned below within this meshed framework of badly accentuated cultures…ones to be boarded up, again another manifestation perhaps. Love it though! Kudos.

    • Wow, you look deep. I liked this analysis and appreciate your comment, Anita. It is late on a Sunday but I found your comment in my awaiting approval section of WordPress. Smiles, Robin

      • No worries. I love art in all forms, for now all I can do is sketch lol But symbolism is key to get out what we want to say and show to the world, this had that.

      • Very nice. Something I have not tried properly. I love to see black line. I dabbled with water colour pencils which worked well, but as a medium, painting isn’t always my forte I have discovered.

  4. I like art that makes me pause and think and wonder. I can’t see this piece too well on my phone, but I feel attracted to it, as there seems much to look at, like there’s a story to tell. Thanks for sharing it, Robin.

    • I know what you are dealing with, Marie. I am now using my phone to blog, except for a few times weekly heading into the library. The pictures are small!
      I think those are powerful reasons to seek out art. Pause ~ Think ~ Wonder. Thank you for sharing this. It was meaningful to me!

  5. An interesting piece. I think your interpretation is as good as any could possibly be. Art, as you know, being so subjective and abstract art even more so.
    I have resigned myself to experiencing such things and leaving the figuring out of them to others. Nice post, Robin.

      • It’s a problem for museums. The popular ones, people don’t take the time to truly consider each piece, and many stand empty because their collections don’t boast the crowdpleasers. You’re welcome, and thank you.

    • Jay, “preach it,” girlfriend! πŸ™‚ I like one of the newer songs which includes, “Can I get a witness?” πŸ™‚
      It boggles my mind that people will pay a lot for a copy, which is different than a “print.” Thank you!

  6. I much prefer local art, and art created by people I know. The art doesn’t try to please the multitudes-it’s created out of the artist’s ‘being.’ This piece is solid and dark and defiant to me. It expresses sadness about aspects of humanity that show us at our darkest.

    • Thank you for preferring local art and it does make a difference to know the artist. πŸ™‚
      This is true, artists pour out their emotions onto canvases or in any art form, Pamela. Your words really caught my interest, “dark aspects of our humanity.” Randy is a defiant individual and doesn’t flinch if someone tends to want to make changes.

    • Good point about mechanical art with more of this sort of attachments, Jonathan, using it as a pathway to whatever images the artist chooses. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • I like how this tested (or taxed) your brain, Ian! I think your idea of “Foxes Not Allowed” or No Foxes Allowed would work out, just fine! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • Drew, so great you felt these special labels if “different” and “original” applied to my brother’s art piece! Thank you!
      Just happened to head back here and saw your old comment. πŸ™‚
      My brother suggested taking down “steam punk art” in the title. It applies more to his mechanical art pieces. . .

  7. Robin, I do agree that this is well executed (no pun here) and original. I think this belongs in a museum rather than a restaurant. For myself, a vegetarian now for 32 years and largely vegan at that, the sight and thought of the way these animals (and all “food” animals — they just don’t seem like food to vegetarians and vegans, at all and eating them is viscerally repulsive to us) are treated is painful and emotional. I see this as something akin to a memorial to our ignorant brutality.

    My grandmother grew up on a chicken farm in Malden, Massachusetts. The chickens were for eggs and she taught me all about the way farming used to be. The animals were treated with care and respect, and slaughter when it was done, was swift and humane.

    The “factory farms” we have now are really just concentration camps. Brutal, cold and shameful.

    The fact that your brother took the time to address this problem shows what a caring soul he is and for that I thank him. It is very effective to view, from my perspective.

    ❀

    • Beth, I am preparing Mom to get ready to meet brothers and sister in law out to eat. I am very appreciative of your thoughtful and caring review of Randy’s art piece. Thank you!

      Sad pun, yes, execution of animals is not man’s finest moments. I try to get farm raised food and produce. I am appalled at the inhumane ways animals are raised for slaughter.
      I liked your description of your grandmother’s farm and how she taught you to care about the chickens who give their eggs and sometimes lives for us.
      You are a dear friend for taking the time to read this, observe Randy’s artwork and so kind to suggest an art museum. Hugs, Robin xo

      • I am sure we all see this, you, Randy and I from a similar point of view. Sigh. What can we do but raise awareness, as he is doing. Hugs back, Robin.

Leave a Reply

