Thursday’s Doors ~ June 30, 2016: The Book Loft, German Village

Image

image

I bought two favorite,

beloved books,

“The Velveteen Rabbit,”

by Margery Williams,

Illustrated by

David Jorgensen.

“Polar Bear, Polar Bear,

What Do You Hear?”

by Eric Carle

with Bill Martin, Jr.

(who adapted the book

to become My First Reader.)

Micah in his supreme,

Soon-to-Be

second grade knowledge,

“You need to buy these,”

after studying about ten books

which I had chosen to pick from.

39 responses »

  1. i’m so glad you have an interested helper to make your selections with. you are teaching him such valuable life lessons and a shared love of books )

    • I like all of these great qualities you attribute to this special day and place with my 7 year old grandson, Micah. All of the above would be valuable lessons. I appreciate your being a kinders’ teacher and fellow grandmother in this world, Beth. 🙂

    • I am so glad I named a few of your family favorite books! I do love that treasured book, happy to see it for such a good price! I hope you have a wonderful weekend and will find time in this next week on “vacation” at my Mom’s senior living apartment up in Cleveland, Ohio. Tomorrow (Friday) get up at before 5 am, go to work for at the most 7-8 hours. I cannot wait to see what you have been up to! 🙂

    • I hope you got there safe and sound. I used to think of going on a senior travel bus, ha ha! Now, I contemplate a train across the country. There aren’t too many dangers on trains. Every kind of transportation has its downfalls.
      Hope it was a special and happy visit! ❤

  2. Great Book store picture Robin, I love old book stores and their secrets, you reminded me of a post I need to finish titled The Keeper of the Words, about a book store.
    Cheers and best wishes for a great weekend.

    • Ian, I will give you a gentle nudge in the right direction! 😉 The title of the story for your blog post is beautiful! Hope you are going to enjoy finishing your post! 🙂 I liked your “Cheers and best wishes!”
      Heading to work by 6 am, off work at 2:00 pm and then since my bags are packed, off to my Mom’s apt. My two brothers, mom, oldest daughter and I will be touring the big city and let you know if anything exciting is happening. A whole week off from the daily “grind!”

    • “The Velveteen Rabbit” is a sad book, I agree. Marley who is my son’s daughter is very sensitive so may have to hold back on this. . . hmm.
      You would indeed be delighted by this rambling and numerous-roomed building, Merril. Thank goodness for cell phones, though, since Micah and I were separated from my youngest daughter, his Aunt Felicia, for awhile. 🙂

      • All of my daughters’ stuffed animals were already real to them, and they would have been so upset if they had been parted.

        I know what you mean about the cell phones. We done the same thing–and in a bookstore! 🙂

    • Morgan, sorry to have confused you a bit, dear.
      This is located outside Columbus, Ohio~ in a part of town called German Village. We have a Victorian Village and Italian Village, just denoting styles of homes not the prople residing there. They have become like NYCity, “melting pots” and not “ethnic pockets.”
      Thanks for saying it still looks wonderful! 🙂

    • It really is a cool place to visit, Mike! There are several great restaurants around, too.
      I came back to check posts I don’t always check back during summer months. Life in the fast lane, work and grandies’ activities!

      Yes, I am happy my oldest daughter with Sky and Micah, while son and DIL also stress books, reading, art and music while having “homework club.” Even baby Hendrix loves books and is now trying at 10 months to make “reading sounds.” 🙂

    • Thank you, Cindy. I am happy you like these particular books and local bookstores are extra special, anywhere you travel. 🙂
      I have loved your Spain photographs! ❤

    • It is wonderful to have these opportunities and I feel blessed with the nicest grandies. . .ha ha!
      Micah, Felicia (youngest daughter and Micah’s Aunt, of course) and I ate brunch before the bookstore. It was at an upscale French restaurant called Lindey’s. Micah was good as gold there while we ate with her friend Morgan and mother, another Robin.
      Micah ate blueberry ricotta pancakes with bacon and lemonade. He carries around a measuring tape and a pad of paper, like a mini-me of your husband, Sylvia! 🙂

Leave a Reply

