Thursday’s Doors ~ The Strand Theatre

Image

image

The stars of those who donated

significant amounts and the

tent where celebration was

going on are such valuable

memories to instill in

my precious

grandchildren’s

Hearts.

What movie do you think

of where two individuals

become connected

and where one

is brave and

the other points

to the boy’s mind?

A heart beating out

of two chests while

an audience held their

collective breaths?

❀   ❀

This set of doors reveals

the location of the

celebration of

One Hundred Years!

Please check out other

doors which hold so much

In details, history, interest and more!

Here is the door champion and leader,

Norm Frampton's blog link:

http: miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

Thanks for starting this journey,

where you may never see a

door in the same way again!

56 responses »

  1. Love that photograph, reminds me of the doors and lights that I sometimes see, when enjoying old black and white movies from long ago days.
    Brings back much nostalgia for the great movie days of Hollywood.
    Cheers

    • Ian, I have some new posts of yours to read, don’t worry! I am on vacation at my Mom’s senior living apartment and will find the time! Thanks for stepping back in time to the great old theatre days with my family. . . Hugs to you and Ana. xo

  2. I think those of us of a certain age can remember a classic movie theater in our area. In West Seattle there was The Admiral. There were other neighborhood theaters in Seattle – The Neptune, The Ridgemont, and The Bay. The latter was where I took my first girlfriend. We were 14, and we had to ride the bus. I don’t even remember what we saw. I just remember my arm getting tired from keeping around her. – Mike

    • Ha ha! Young first movie date memories, Mike! Tired arm but still happy to have these moments in the dark, full of special unrequited emotions. Those are fantastic movie theatre names, too. I didn’t have a first date until after 16! I enjoyed numerous winter days watching the same two movies all day. In those days, they didn’t clear the theatre so we could binge on “Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid,” “The Graduate,” “Bonnie and Clyde,” or a James Bond film. My favorite black and white then was “To Russia with Love” but now, “The Maltese Falcon” and “Casablanca” are my classic movie faves. Thanks, Mike!

    • We are so lucky to have had fundraisers and becoming a “non-profit” theatre. This has helped us to have access to first run movies, Merril. My favorite memory isn’t that long ago with the Jackie Robinson grand opening “Premiere” of “42” held here in Delaware, Ohio. πŸ™‚ The Robinson family and some of Branch Rickey (who discovered J. Robinson and finished his career here in the Physical Education dept of OWU) family came to this.
      Unfortunately, I didn’t take any photos but was happy to have bought tickets far in advance and went with my youngest daughter, a real sports fan! I kept the special tickets and program, though.

    • We are so lucky, Jill. I bet you remember the atmosphere of an older theatre. It does have such a feeling of “grandeur.”
      Many small towns have lost their theatres, so true that you know the value and special treat to walk into a theatre, see the gold filigreed ceiling, red velvet curtains on the stage and two old fashioned clocks on both corners, down two aisles. πŸ™‚

    • No problem, Derrick. It has been thirty years since a particular movie was released here, but it may not have been a “big deal” to some people. I reveal it tomorrow! πŸ™‚

  3. Lovely atmospheric photo, Robin and just seeing this I get butterflies of anticipation! It was always special to go to a ‘real’ cinema – cineworld just doesn’t hold the same mystic! You’re right about never viewing doors the same way – when I’m out I’m forever stopping to look and photograph doors since seeing this trend on WP.

    • Annika, such a fantastic comment describing how it felt to be heading into the movie theatre as a young girl. It held some mystery and suspense, even if it were a Disney movie since we didn’t always know what to expect!
      Your “butterflies of anticipation” really made this special. Thank you!
      Doors posts may be participated in, even if you were like me. . . when I first joined I didn’t even use photos since I was convinced words and writing was my priority. My youngest daughter said I would have more visitors if I took photos and wrote less! Lol, she was right! πŸ™‚

    • I think rock star handprints are very cool in a memorable location such as the Guitar Center! Cleveland has the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame but they usually do their awards in other locations!
      Tom Hanks got his start in Cleveland, Ohio in the Lakewood Great Lakes Shakespeare Festival. He was just in town, saw a play at Beck Theatre and he went to his favorite pizza place in a limo, everyone said he is just the nicest regular guy! πŸ™‚

      • Right, of course, can’t even hold a candle to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. I’ve been to Cleveland but never went there. Tom Hanks does seem like a nice guy. How exciting!

    • I wish I had met Tom Hanks! Good to know a nice story to tell at least! πŸ™‚ In our small town I went to high school, Patricia Heaton was between my two brothers in age, her brother Mike Heaton writes for the Cleveland paper and was in my grade. I like “The Middle” and “Everybody Loves Raymond” comedies due to Ray Romano and “Patty” Heaton.

    • Oh good, Matt! So glad you do, since I am a strong believer in supporting local small town theatres! This one has non-profit status and donations helped to but new lenses and up to date equipment. Having a Ohio Wesleyan University support this helps us a lot.
      Have I already told you we had the premier opening in the country for “42” since Branch Rickey finished his coaching career at OWU? He is the one who discovered Jackie Robinson, (of course!) Both families of the Rickey and Robinson sent members to be honored and greeted. I did not take any photos but have the commemorative program and tickets for my youngest daughter and I who were able to attend. There’s a post somewhere about it. . . Thank you for your nice comment!

    • Matt, you and your fellow reviewers go to many excellent film festivals which impresses me so much! I like when you attend the Tribeca and TIFF. πŸ™‚
      Thank you for reading this and listening to my hometown story. πŸ™‚

    • Dan, the mystery will be solved about the 30th anniversary of a certain Steven Spielberg movie, tomorrow. πŸ˜‰
      Thank you for liking this door selection. That air conditioning sign is a gem! πŸ™‚

  4. Every one of these old theatres is a treasure. I did not know about this one. 100 years, wow! There are some in Old Pasadena that have chandeliers and velvet, gilt and grand pianos still. I am a charter member of TCM and an avid Robert Osborne fan. I am sure he knows and has written about this theatre. Long may they all live. Thank you for sharing this one and reminding me of how much I value the past and old movies.

    • The past and old movies really are safe places to escape to, once in awhile, Beth.
      I like TCM, dear Robert Osbourne and those clips with interesting information included on them. Great stuff to add to this old-fashioned movie theatre post! Hugs, Robin xo Send an extra hug to Geoffrey from me.:)

  5. Robin, such a lovely old theater. We are actually lucky enough to have an old one here locally, it is called the Wichita Theater. It doesn’t have stars in the sidewalk, but it does have memorial bricks where folks have paid tribute to their loved ones. I love theaters!

    • The Wichita Theatre sounds fantastic and so glad you have one close by. I think memorial bricks sound meaningful and special to remember loved ones, Lana. Thanks for visiting! πŸ™‚

      • I agree Robin. I always enjoy visiting your blog and admiring your beautiful photos. I will post a photo of the Wichita Theater one day so you can see it. I hope you are having a lovely summer and getting to spend lots of time with your adorable grandies πŸ™‚

    • Very few small local theatres around and yes, this is a real shame, Natalie! So glad you enjoyed this photo and post. Anyone over 55 is eligible for a ticket of first run movies, any time, including a medium popcorn and medium drink, all for $7! πŸ™‚ Matinees and kids have $4.50 tickets. Hugs sent to you and James. ❀

Leave a Reply

