A Special Day at Huntington Beach

Image

image

Lots to ogle at,

“People watching”

Two friends in bikinis,

sitting on beach towels,

chattering happily catching

up on personal and family affairs.

Striding couple made us smile,

pregnant woman in stripes

and her affectionate partner.

Another couple stand on large

stone blocks forming pier structure.

Their gazing in same direction,

time elapsing, while focus was

definitely together and cohesive.

The beach scenery photo taken on

Huntington Beach in Bay Village,

Ohio while Micah played in

sand mixed with Lake Erie

cool, clear water.

58 responses »

    • I am glad this scene is reminiscent of one you had playing in the sand, Dan. The lake and sky were beautiful! I have sandy pictures of Micah in a big hole he dug, but the scenery was my favorite to share!

      • That was me as a child. I dug holes all the time. My mother used to make me go in the Lake to wash off before heading back to the cabin.

  1. It’s so much fun to people watch. It looks like you had a lovely day.
    Bay Village sounds familiar–I think maybe my husband’s grandparents used to live there. I’ll have to ask him. πŸ™‚

    • Some may know about the famous osteopathic physician, from Bay Village, who was found guilty of murdering his wife, Sam Sheppard. It was made into a television series and movie, “The Fugitive.” Merril, the beach was a five minute bike ride from my middle school and HS home, so I just love it!

      • No, that isn’t who I was thinking of. πŸ™‚ FYI, Sam Shepard is the actor/playwright; Sam Sheppard was the doctor/murderer. I had not idea that was where he was from.

        My husband said his grandparents did live there. It was a long time ago. By the time I knew them, they were living in Florida.

        That’s so wonderful that you lived so close to the beach. We’re about an hour drive away from the ocean (depending where), so not too bad.

    • Oh, good! I will correct the spelling, Merril.
      Good that you remembered your husband’s roots and Bay Village was a great place to live! Lots of trees and older homes, with new updates and landscaping. My oldest daughter, Carrie and her boys Skyler and Micah, and I went garage sale-ing on Saturday July 2. So of course, drove them by my old house. πŸ™‚

    • I lived there from 1970 – 1978. I had wedding photographer take family pictures in the front side yard with light shining through my wedding gown and lots of green surrounding me. About when I had our first child, Carrie, my parents sold the Bay house, retired and moved to a lake cottage in Vermilion, Ohio. Dad built a double decker deck and chutes down the cliff to send rowboats and canoes down. My single mom vacations with three kids were always spent up at their cottage!

  2. What a great spot! Everyone should have a beach to visit, especially the children. Take along some plastic buckets and shovels and maybe some toy trucks and they will be happy until the sun goes down. – Mike

    • All wonderful choices of how to entertain children on a beach, Mike. πŸ™‚ I will add a paddle board and two Nerf water shooters: one for Great Uncle Randy and another for Micah!
      Micah and I had dug a hole where I could dump buckets of water. He sat in it until Randy came, building walls. Have a wonderful weekend, Mike and Florence!

    • We dug a big hole and a “river” from the lake into it, then he sat in the pond and built walls all around him. We found rocks and a couple feathers to decorate. Luckily, his Great Uncle Randy arrived to play with Nerf water shooters and they also went swimming. I didn’t do much more than wade.
      Mom and I had plans to meet up with Rich and Susan for dinner. . .
      So glad you enjoyed the film, Sylvia. It was recommended in my AARP magazine, the section uses a clever title: “Movies for Grown-ups!.” πŸ™‚

    • My friend, Linda, and I really liked and laughed so much at, “My Name is Doris,” with Sally Fields and Tyne Daly (played Cagney, to Lacey). The plot sounds basic, but the layers are all there. I saw my boss’s boss and his wife there and many men were laughing, too. I liked (one instance) how Sally’s character takes someone’s retro lamp off their trash pile, carries it onto a ferry, taking it into her workplace, setting it up on her computer desk. πŸ™‚
      My youngest daughter, Felicia, single and career oriented rented it on this past Thursday to watch by herself and she told me the “depth” and some “sad spots” moved her in the film. πŸ™‚

  3. Oh how this makes me yearn for the beach. Just not able to go yet, not until my Karma transits to Heaven. Beautiful post, Robin. I’m glad you were able to get to the beach!!! ❀

  4. Looks like a beautiful warm day, Robin. Great fun for the kids. We’re still waiting for it to hit the 70’s here. A cool summer so far (remind me of this when I’m complaining that it’s 95 outside). πŸ˜€

    • I will try to remember to remind you of this complaint, Diana. πŸ™‚ I am not fond of temperatures in the nineties, either. Once I return to work, no air-conditioning means stuffy, sweaty workdays.
      We had a warm May, some 80’s, then June was up and down, settling in 80’s for highs early July, so far.
      It was a really nice day, fun for Micah, my brother and I.

  5. Thank you, Robin for sharing your special day at the beach! I love the photo of the clouds and the capture of people. Beautifully described…

    • You are so observant, Sarah. I was happy I had Micah to spend time with, but after a short while I called my brother Randy to ask if he wanted to come join us. I sometimes don’t mind being with a grandchild on my own, but other times prefer someone join us. πŸ™‚

      • From what I understand, grandkids are great, but have a lot more energy than the grandparents – or at least, this is the impression I get from my parents when they watch their grandkids!

  6. Lovely picture Robin, a unique one as it’s emphasis is on the sky…symbolising how both the blues merge! Nice description of a fun day! πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing.

    • The water and sky were definitely overwhelming in their beauty but the people created a small story in my mind. Thanks for your great observation, Balroop! πŸ™‚

    • This is a lovely thought, Brenda. I will keep the day, time with Micah and brother, along with all it entailed in my favorite memories book.
      I used to press my corsages and finally decided to discard them when I got married.
      I won’t forget this happy day. Thank you, dear friend.

  7. Don’t think you left too much out on your description of that beautiful beach scene Robin, only the little child and the shark in the surf in the distance.
    Beautiful relaxing picture Robin.
    Cheers.

  8. I am a beach gal, that’s for sure! I really enjoyed your view of Huntington Beach. For a moment I thought you’d come to visit me, Robin! I have a local Huntington Beach that’s a favorite here in SoCal! Wouldn’t that be fun. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

