Two Other Cupcakes

Image

image

Two “other” cupcakes,

felt simply scrumptious

while on display at

my apartment.

The left one,

a white cupcake with

vanilla cream frosting

wearing a cherry beret.

While the nutty, grainy

and nutritious carrot cake,

topped with cream cheese

icing; a carrot made of fondant.

The white one said,

“Perfect simplicity is best,

with a hint of vanilla, butter

and cream” her passions.

The tawny colored carrot

made a loud , “Yawn!

How much more boring

than my own blend of pecans,

walnuts, raisins and carrots?”

Carrot cake with her extra dollop

of cream cheese made sure to

make vanilla white cake squirm.

I hastened to reassure them both:

“Two ‘other’ flavors are twice

as delectable on my dessert

plate, later I will nibble on

each of you:. Don’t you worry!”

x o x o x o x o

The sweet bakery and coffee shop,

Home Slices Bakery and Cafe

located at 2 N. Sandusky Street

Delaware, Ohio 43015,

moved in over a month

ago. Still pulls my friends

and family in~ to try new

flavors and treats.

My favorite

kind of

cupcake is the

carrot cake with

cream cheese

frosting.

While I do still

remember the

Euphoria of

red velvet with

cream cheese

frosting!

My daughter added

toasted marshmallow

flavoring to her regular

coffee, while I had

English Toffee flavor

added to my decaf,

served over ice,

leave room for

sugar + cream.

71 responses »

    • They have chocolate cupcake with fudge frosting or white cake with milk chocolate icing, Merril. ❀
      Just like any coffee shop you can get coffee without flavoring. We just think it is a fun thing to add a flavor, part of the "treat," since we don't at our own homes. πŸ™‚

      • Of course, I knew you can get coffee without flavoring, I was just stating my preference. πŸ™‚ I would go with the chocolate and fudge, as you might guess. πŸ™‚

    • Isn’t it funny when someone checks their blog post for a recent guest and finds a few she missed? Aishwarya, I like this comment of a ‘sweet’ evening. . . 🍰

    • They were rich, so I ate half of one in the afternoon and half of the other with milk at bedtime. Reversed order on Sunday. πŸ™‚
      Thanks for letting me know you will skip this place and head to one of our five ice cream shops in town! ❀

      • I would likely skip the ice cream, although I would consider gelato or frozen yogurt. I would walk a mile for a good cannoli… homemade ricotta cheese whipped and sweetened with honey, packed into a crisp rolled wafer cookie, then the ends rolled in crushed pistachios. Mmm!

        Can you believe I had never tasted a cannoli or gelato before I married an Italian?

    • Sylvia, they have a wide variety of cupcakes so if you want to split one with a friend to try two flavors you can work this out! πŸ™‚ I did really enjoy the carrot cake one best of the four taste tests so far. . . πŸ™‚

    • I wish you lived or worked around the corner from here, I would meet you there, Sarah! ❀
      The red velvet one has even improved since they opened! πŸ™‚

    • Drew, do you have a sweet tooth? If you do, they also have other kinds of sandwiches and homemade bagels or rolls.
      Thanks for asking about how I feel. πŸ™‚ I am well but very worn out! My first day back from vacation I worked in hot, stuffy warehouse from 6 am. until 7 pm. (Monday, then they expected to work till 6 pm today but luckily I had a dentist appt at 4:30!)

    • Yes, as good as they look, Beth! They are improving their cake part to stay moister. . . It is fun but if I have a bunch of grandies I head to a cookie counter at different bakery. πŸ™‚

    • You could easily take half the frosting off and put it on a graham cracker later, Luanne. Then the cake does seem dense with good ingredients to rationalize the nutrition! πŸ˜‰ I am not sure but will check if they have any gluten free products next time for your husband. πŸ™‚

    • Oh, if you came we would purchase a few different flavors and slice them up to try them. Your choices and my “treat” for you. My girlfriend chose a chocolate cupcake with peanut butter frosting and I saw a lemon one which I haven’t tried either. So much fun!
      Sleep peacefully and with happy dreams, dear. ❀ xo

    • I would never fight with you, Natalie! ❀
      We just figured out we need to get 2 lemon cupcakes. I sure like lemon meringue pie and those lemon bars, which I do make sometimes! πŸ™‚
      Things are looking up with my guy friend,he is a good and sympathetic listener and realized his disconnecting by not responding can make me feel like he isn't interested. He seemed remorseful, too. We are just friends but I like him enough to see what happens. . . Thanks for asking the other night (I was feeling "blue" that night.)
      You are such a loving and special friend. You're a blessing, dear. ❀ xoxoxo

    • Thanks, Ian! I was happy to find a different plate from last time. I but the cupcakes from a nearby bakery and will have to post one other variety when the buy 2 more! πŸ™‚
      Slainte!

    • I am a big fan of getting a knife and splitting things. Recently, my oldest daughter and I bought two different candy bars for the movies. We took a knife and split them. I got a baggie for each of us, then we had two different bars for the price of one each. I totally agree about trying both!

  1. They both look so good I could never decide between them, and neither would last too long! πŸ™‚ Just reading your description makes me hungry. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Debra! If we were meeting for tea or coffee, I would definitely ask which ones you liked! The first two (why I call these “the other cupcakes” were German Chocolate and White Coconut frosting on a dark chocolate cupcake. They were both delicious, too! πŸ™‚
      I thought I went looking for a new post recently and couldn’t find one. I will check back again. ❀

    • Oh, I hope you found something to nibble on! πŸ™‚ I had another post with two cupcakes so now I am on a mission to buy two more. So far, I have been “good” and spacing them out, the first ones were German Chocolate and White Coconut frosting on a devil’s food cupcake. . .

Leave a Reply

