Charming cottage

Image

image

Wild growing roses,

Light gray picket fence,

Lavender trimmed cottage

charmed me as I passed through

small town North of my hometown.

This is a home in,

Ashley, Ohio

where a few things stand out!

Details about the town and

small history will show up

on Thursday’s Doors.

Have fun looking at

the calm scenery

which left me

pleasantly

surprised!

~~~~~

If you ever read the lovely,

timeless book, “Tuck Everlasting,”

you will enjoy this reminder of

the fine quality writing style:

“The first week of August hangs at

the very top of Summer, the top

of the live-long year, like the

highest seat of a

Ferris wheel

when it pauses

in its turning.”

Written by

Natalie Babbitt,

~ 1975 ~

72 responses »

    • Lisa, thank you for noticing my perspective in the photograph I took! ❀ I was wishing there was a front door but this house has a cool path to a rather ordinary door.

  1. ‘Charming’ is a good word to describe this cottage. It is more than just ‘quaint.’ As much as I love the decorative trim, I thought about how hard it would be to paint. That may be a strange observation, but house painting was one of my childhood chores, enough so that I appreciated being able to hire painters when I was older. – Mike

    • Hi like your mentioning the pretty and detailed trim. For their location in a small town, I was pleasantly surprised at the upkeep and beauty displayed. No, I wouldnt want the chore of painting the trim! Thanks, Mike! You had me smiling! πŸ™‚

    • Yes, I like your sweet cottage! πŸ™‚ The fairy garden with extras provided by loving grandies, is a wonderful place to sit outside and read, too. Your writing special space in the alcove makes me think of Little Women, Beth. ❀

    • Jen, you have a beautiful imagination and although you have a “dark side” (as we all have one), you are never weird! Silly! πŸ™‚ I could easily see this being Hansel and Gretel’s house or the bad witch’s cottage. Imagine the sugarplums and pastel mints in this pink and lavender house! Hugs xo

    • You are right, Robyn! This easily could fit into a fairy tale and Hansel and Gretel could nibble on the witch’s sugar plums, pastel mints or grape edgings! πŸ™‚

    • Diana, it is a cute house! I admired the gardens and the nice corner lot, too. The lacy gingerbread trim does really make it special, I agree! Glad you took the time to enjoy the quote, dear. πŸ™‚

  2. Charming photo and words. The cottage is a great blend of simple and ornate. The filigree carvings and the wrought iron balcony fence turn the simple cottage into a sort of fairy tale place.
    I like the quotation very much, too.

    • Merril, thank you for such beautiful descriptions of the details on this cottage. I like the way you made it sound so interesting!
      I like how you also noticed the wrought iron balcony railng or fence.
      I could imagine a fairy tale taking place here. Do you remember “Rose Red?” I think she was part of Hans Christian Andersen’s fairy tales which sometimes were sweeter and less “Grimm!” Ha ha! “The Little Mermaid” and others were less used. . . Thank you for your thoughtful response! πŸ™‚

    • It has to do with not aging over time, Sarah. I liked the Secret Garden and Indian in the Cupboard to read to my kids.
      It is still like a fairy tale or fantasy but my children who are close to your age loved it. I think they made a good movie out of it in the early part of 2001, 2002 or 03. πŸ™‚ Thanks!

    • I figured the quote was good for anyone, whether they knew the book or not. So glad you liked it, Marissa. I like the description of “adorable!” It is! πŸ™‚

    • From outside the fence it seemed like a fairly sturdy, but small, balcony, Dan. I think it would be nice to open the door and let fresh night air in, too. We can “pretend” since I don’t really know the answer nor owners! πŸ™‚

  3. I am a lover of cottages, picket fences and evocative writing – you hit the mark with all three today Robin. I am back from my blogging break πŸ™‚ There will be a post up in a day or two or three …..
    I do not know the book you mention, but shall see if I can source a copy, it may be worth a read. πŸ™‚
    xo

    • It sounds like a Home Run since I ran three “bases” and may make it to the home base. . . Thanks for saying I hit the mark on 3 of your favorite elements.
      Pauline, so glad to have such a very nice welcome back comment from you. ❀ May I say I am glad to read your words and look forward to your new post?
      The book is one that may appeal to any age but children between 4th and 6th grade particularly enjoy it. I like fantasy and the idea behind it, maybe read a synopsis or review?
      If the cottage had turquoise or a light sea glass blue trim, you would have been over the moon! πŸ˜‰
      I work even longer days this month (from 10 to 11 hours) so I will make sure I try to get to your post, but have been usually playing "weekend catch up." Hugs xo

      • In the interim I have managed to source a copy, so it is on its way πŸ™‚ It sounds like a book I ought to have read back in my teaching days, so better late than never! And I’m sure I’ll find a worthy recipient to pass it on to. You are right about my choice of colours Robin – one can always buy a pot of the appropriate colour paint after one moves in ……… πŸ™‚ xo

    • Oh, very excited about your finding a copy and as you mentioned, may pass it on, Pauline . . . Yes, it was a favorite among teachers for reading to their students, language rich in texture. πŸ™‚
      Also true, once purchased this house could change its colors to compliment the sky! πŸ˜‰

  4. Such a charming cottage, Robin. Love that picket fence, the Juliet balcony and that gorgeous decoration around the eaves. Thanks for sharing the wonderful quote by Natalie Babbitt. It’s so delightful. πŸ™‚

    • Sylvia, I am beaming! πŸ™‚ I thought you would still be “partying” and didn’t expect you to stop by!
      I am happy the quote hit the spot. I like the decoration around the eaves, too. Thanks for saying so.
      The “Juliet” balcony is the perfect way to label this. I think it would be nice on a cool evening to open the door and let the night air in. Last night our temperature went down to 63 degrees. Hope the rest of your week goes swimmingly. ❀

    • Jennie, I am honored to have been able to make your heart swell. ❀
      The pretty cottage was right on the main road, when traffic from visiting someone took me a different direction. It was serendipity!
      Oh, how we love our special books and I am happy to have been able to fit this together. Happy August, Jennie!

    • Natalie, great minds do think alike! But honestly I read this book twice in my life so it was one I knew I could count on for a summer quote. Is this also floating in the quotations for August? Wow! πŸ™‚ ❀

    • Drew, there you go! The American dream short story or novel. Coming up with a different direction from your already wide subject matters. A lot of powerful books have started with a household of “characters!”

  5. That house, the Roses, the picket fence and the all pervading aroma of Lavendar, a beautiful scene for a romantic story, you combined all those ingredients in your words and picture Robin.

Leave a Reply

