Beetle in the raindrops flower

Image

image

This is the week of nature,

bugs, flying and crawling,

farm scene, thistles and weeds.

I like having a “focus” so it just

doesn’t seem aimless in

poetic or thoughtful

words and photos.

Let me know at the

end of the week,

if anything

“struck

your

fancy!”

*******

~ the week in this

case is 8/9 – 8/16 ~

as my dear grandson

jokes to his older

brother, “You aren’t

the Boss of me!”

So, if you don’t

comment,

thanks for

looking!

❤ ❤

xox

I cannot resist

reminding you

of two of my favorite songs,

“Raindrops Keep Falling on My Head”

by B.J. Thomas, 1969. This was

background scene song from

when Paul Newman is

riding a bicycle in the

film, “Butch Cassidy and

the Sundance Kid.”

“Rain” by the Beatles, 1966.

This is considered the strongest

“B” side label song, written by

John Lennon, Paul McCartney.

The “A” side was

“Paperback Writer.”

Awhile back I blogged

about seasonal subjects

of rain, rainy, storm and

stormy weather.

77 responses »

  1. What a lovely piece – picture, words, memories of Paul Newman but most of all I need to say to you your title resonates as a book title …. I hope you might write it one day. It would lure me in and I know your words would keep me riveted and I’d be saying to people have you read ‘Beetle in the raindrops flower? – you should’

    • Fiona, this was the most amazing and supportive comment I have received about my writing. Thank you so sincerely. I have been emotional lately so this brings me comfort. ❤
      Sending you virtual hugs until I have a chance to give you a real one, dear.

      • I only EVER mean what I say – it’s a rule 😌 If I have done a little to buoy you up when you are feeling fragile, that is s huge bonus for me. I send you warmth and strength and love to nurture you and that creative spirit of yours xx

      • Oh, I know this and didn’t mean to imply otherwise. The feelings will dissipate, but work sometimes exposes the edges. Relationships are all secure, friends and family goibg strong. Thank you, Fiona. ❤

    • I am glad to have company “in the rain,” especially in the summer, Beth. ❤
      Happy to have some friends familiar with the songs and who enjoy seasonal and weather written thoughts. 🙂

  2. Wonderful photo, Robin!
    I love seeing raindrops (especially on flowers), but I’m not a fan of the song. The brief story is my father singing it over and over and over again. 🙂
    I’m more of a “Singin’ In the Rain” fan. There are so many great rain songs though.

    • Thanks for liking my photo and I enjoyed reading your reason why you don’t like one of my rain songs. It made me chuckle about your Dad wearing out the song! 😀

      Oh, yes! Merril, in the past I took the time to write two lenghthy posts with songs like “Stormy Weather.” (A connection “link” is under the likes for one of them, with the title of “Rainy Days and Mondays”)

  3. Beautiful summery picture, Robin. I like having a seasonal travel post and now have four that I rotate. It only makes sense to talk about the weather and the climate when they are such a large force in our lives.

  4. Gorgeous shot, Robin! Lots of raindrops here too. It’s clever how you’ve combined a beetle and the Beatles here in one post. Love how your mind works. I fully agree with your grandson. No-one is the Boss of me either. 🙂

    • I am happy you spotted the way my long and winding brain path took me in a few directions, Sylvia. It was fun chasing after the bugs which came out in the rain. . . originally went out to find a rainbow. 😉
      Also, it is special when my grandchildren say something which resonates with me, which really makes me beam that you fully agree! ❤

    • I have had the fun of those here in Ohio, Jill. 🙂 This flower was drenched and I ran past the bush looking for a rainbow off in the distance. It evaporated in the sky so I came back and looked at the flowers and bugs. Thanks for the compliment on the photo.

  5. The Beatles had so many great songs, how can the not have the strongest B sides? This is a terrific picture. Love how you captured the beetle in the flower with the raindrops falling off and sun coming out.

    • It was funny because I ran out to go look for a rainbow. Due to the sun coming out immediately after the downpour, the flowers just seemed to have a spotlight on them. So, changed direction in my focus.
      Marissa, great point about the Beatle’s records, no real “B” sides. In my mind, all “A’s,” too! 🙂

  6. The rain song that I remember best is “Rhythm of the Rain” by the Cascades. It seemed appropriate since I grew up near the Cascade Mountains, and it rained a lot.

    On another note, I occasionally tell my wife that ‘You are not the boss of me.’ And then she reminds me that she is. – Mike

    • Aww, Mike! You took part in my rain song posts in the past.I wonder if you mentioned this song before? I think your comments always include so much interesting information and helpful input.
      “Rhythm of the Rain” by the Cascades I’d an excellent choice. For you, because of proximity to the Cascade Mtns. and for me, due to lying in canvas tents on platforms at Girl Scout camp. Many nights were spent listening to the pitter patter of rain drops on tent tops.
      The last part about Florence made me smirk: women do sometimes rule the roost. 🙂

    • Thank you so much, Kelly. I like to include a little bit of what is surrounding me. It makes me happy if it helps brighten someone’s day or sends someone into their own memory “books.”
      My week is rather hectic and hot, but cannot complain! Hope your week is going well with a few special surprises thrown in! 🙂

      • You always brighten my day, Robin! Here I am checking in on the blog before I head out for a run, and it never ceases to amaze me how uplifting it can be to start the day by reading a kind comment or cheerful words from a friend like you. Hang in there with the heat and have a good rest of your week, okay? xo

    • Kirt, now you demonstrate expertise and artistic flair in your photography, so I take this compliment seriously. Thank you very much.
      It is funny because this part (“You aren’t the boss of me” line) of the post resonated in a few commenters’ memories, one way or another. 🙂

    • I have two brothers “under” me, Jay. So perhaps they may have wished to say this to me, but ironically they didn’t. Not sure why? We grew up like a “pack” 3 kids in 4 year’s time. Mom’s goal was to be “done” by age 30. 🙂 I always wished for a sister and love my SIL, Susan like one.

  7. I was actually modifying “THERE’S A HOLE IN THE BUCKET DEAR LIZA, DEAR LIZA”…. But those do fit (probably better) than my spur-of-the-moment idea. Forgot to add that your posts always leave something lovely to remember! ❤ ❤ ❤

  8. Love the photograph – it seems happily settled in! Where before bugs used to just annoy me, I now find myself intrigued by the variety around. Only this summer spotted something very unusual – think it was a beetle but with the longest sprawling legs, bright yellow and black stripes and huge! (For insect size) Lovely post and may the seasons and its visitors continue to give inspiration.

Leave a Reply

