“Bon-bon’s”

Image

image

We three got together,

one gentleman friend of

youngest daughter who

discovered one route to

my heart  ❀  treats!

“Parisian Macarons”

as the card from the

Pistachia Vera,

cafe and coffee shop,

delicious French treats,

pastries and these

are called “bon-bon’s”

by Jerry and Felicia.

These delicately flavored

two macarons are like

sweet sandwiches,

only egg whites,

frothy confections

which come in the 

following

mouth-watering

flavors of:

~Citron

~Pistachio

~Vanilla bean

~Toasted coconut

~Raspberry Hibiscus

~ Strawberries & cream

~ Honey lavender

~Apricot ginger

~Coffee au lait

~Yuzu guava

~Cocoa nib

~Matcha

Okay, if you remember

my spring post of this

place, you may have heard

of other bakery specialties.

We tried to decide on past

story what was that pretty

pink flower next to the

neon green patio chairs?

The dumpster behind

that old post had

sweet squirrel

holding a berry

or a bouquet.

~~~~~~~~~~

If you dare, 

please share

which of listed

yummy flavors

most catch your

interest?

53 responses »

    • Pamela, I think those two are perfect counter-points to each other. I might add the vanilla and make it like Neapolitan ice cream. . . I am glad to share with you!
      I mainly know Spanish so “deliciosa” and “uno mas, por favor” are my best efforts. (Delicious and one more, please!)
      Any French fellow bloggers care to help Pam out? πŸ™‚

  1. I remember these treats well from our time in Europe. (In some places they were called meringues.) Almond has always been my favorite. Your photo made me salivate. πŸ™‚

    • I think this is fantastic that you have had European treats! Maybe meringues are a single layer cookie, while these are double layers, Mike?
      My Mom (and believe it or not, my German Grandma) knew how to make homemade macaroons but coconut or almond were their only varieties. I was thrilled a wider variety, two a day for six days the first time, but I “accidentally” ate three a day for only four days the most recent gifting! πŸ˜‰

  2. Robin, I first saw these in the Great British Bake-Off and were amazed at how easily the contestants made them. Of course I had to taste some when out and about – divine. I’ll have a strawberry and cream please! πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

    • The word “divine” is an excellent description of their taste, Annika.
      I never helped my Mom and Grandma (who was from Germany but a great baker and cook in her own home) make these treats.
      They made the two separate flavors of coconut and almond macaroons.
      We were allowed to decorate sugar cookies, gingerbread and dip “pfefferneuse” (anise cookies) into powdered confectioner’s sugar. πŸ™‚ I would certainly give you a few of these strawberry and cream cookies, once we get together.

    • Luanne, you may have two of each, they are very low in calories. If you wish to only eat two, we shall get a sealed tight little box and save the other two. These are scrumptious choices! πŸ™‚

    • The coffee flavoured one is in my top four favorites, Jenny! We definitely need to have a plate of a few flavours but at least three coffee ones for you! πŸ˜‰ Will you have tea, iced water, coffee or milk with yours? I could get some true English breakfast tea or Earl Grey. . . I will sip coffee, though with mine. πŸ™‚

      • Depends on the time of day. Strong coffee in the morning, Earl Grey in the afternoon – preferably de-caff after my three strong pre midday Americanos!

    • Beth, I am surprised in Valencia or one of the other quaint towns where bakeries and homemade food shops, they don’t have these around. I would give you a box to try each flavor but do think your choices are delightful. πŸ™‚

    • Oh, I am entranced with these treats, Natalie. I bet Paris ones are even more delicious!
      If you ever head this way, or we found a halfway place, you would get TWO boxes of these! πŸ™‚ ❀

    • Thanks for checking out my quarterly treat from my youngest daughter’s boyfriend, Sylvia.
      It was something unique, which I thought would either bring back memories or someone would have a French story to tell about these.
      The pistachio flavor is good but I liked each of them for their delectable flavors. ❀

  3. I think French macarons are just exquisite! What a lovely gift. I would love to try raspberry hibiscus and the honey lavender, although there isn’t one in the list that doesn’t make my mouth water. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

