A flight of rose wines

Image

image

The Wine Bistro

appeared idyllic and

so romantic, as I was

waiting on my youngest

daughter and her guy, Jerry.

Why am I always seemingly,

the “third wheel?”

“Does this translate in all

languages?,” I wondered.

I haven’t addressed this lately. . .

the blog’s name was, after all,

once upon a time the indicator

of some mighty interesting and

strange online dating adventures.

Recently, I have “whispered” of my

seeing a new man. It seems rather

foolish “to make too big of a deal.”

He has kids around age of my

grandchildren but isn’t as

young as he could be.

Anyway, not quite time

to “double date” yet.

We discussed movies,

golfing, work and new

adventures.

My feelings are still

“percolating.”

πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Here are the three

“flights, small tastes”

of rose wines which

went from light rose,

medium body rose

to the darker rose.

#1 ~

Nicolas,
Pilot Noir Rose
(Vin de France)
Light, crisp with the fruits
of watermelon and strawberry.

#2 ~

El Coto,
Tempranillo Rose
(Rioja, Spain)
Tangy, slight tart flavors
of fruits of berries
and herb aftertaste.

#3 ~

Clendenen Family,
Nonsense Rose
Rich, flavorful with citrus
and cherry “notes.”

70 responses »

  1. Actually, I think a blog title of THE THIRD WHEEL would be a good one. After all, don’t most of us feel like a third wheel at times. In life, I know I do. I look around sometimes and think, “I don’t get this – I’m not comfortable here. Why AM I here?” It’s an existential question at times. :-0

    • Oh, this would have been a fantastic title. Especially, since we had three rose wines to try, the # fits in a few ways.
      I like to think of existential moments and periods in life. It has been almost 10 years as a rather dry spell, Pam… Where it was definitely NOT “raining men!” πŸ˜‰
      Your idea of being where it seems one doesn’t fit in or for me, at least, I have changed my values and priorities, makes sense. So true. . .
      Have a happy weekend! My younger guy wants us to try Vietnamese food on Saturday night. Yay, it is not that song: “Another Saturday night and I ain’t got nobody.” Which has double negatives in it. I won’t be alone nor spending time with grandies until Sunday pool day. πŸ™‚

    • Yes, do you have any suggestions for a good dish from this country? I am great with Japanese and Chinese dishes. We shall see how it goes, but he is funny and so “regular” in appearance, I am not freaking out. I had to end the looks count way I used to think, Pam. I once wrote Ilamed it all on Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid movie, good looking “bad guys.” Ha ha ha #2 looked like Pierce Brosnan. Phew! what a mess for a social worker co-worker, marriage.

      • I have little experience with Vietnamese food – you’ll now be able to educate us all in a blog post. πŸ™‚
        Looks are deceiving both ways – if someone’s not attractive, we give him low marks and are surprised when he turns out to be a wonderful person. If someone is really attractive, we give him high marks and are surprised when he turns out to be not so nice. On the other hand, sometimes we give an attractive man low marks for being “too good-looking,” and he turns out to be simply marvelous. πŸ™‚

    • It isn’t too bad when you are younger and everyone can go out and dance, plus meet more people to join you. It has been a long while since I had a nice guy so cross your fingers that I don’t “jinx” this by writing about it. Thanks, dear Aishwarya, hope you have a wonderful weekend! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for the good reminder to take my time and just enjoy having possibility of “something,” Jill.
      I loved this place and was happy to show you the first post and this is the last one. Hope you enjoy some special romance or fun times over the weekend. hugs xo

  2. I agree with all above. You are definitely not “witless,” and we’ve all been “the third wheel” at some point. Enjoy the percolation process–then you can decide to drink or discard the brew. πŸ˜‰

    The rosΓ© flight sounds interesting.
    The bistro is charming. I bet it’s very cosy in the winter.

  3. Take your time… no need to rush, just like sipping a good glass of wine, right?! And who am I to be giving out dating advice when I’ve been married for 21 years??! lol
    Which was your favorite, by the way? I only drink reds – usually pretty dry, definitely an acquired taste over time. πŸ™‚

    • My favorite one was the lightest one, #1, a blush rose. It says “pilot noir” but I think the phone switched it! It was probably Pinot noir with light fruity flavor but still a little dry.

      So pale pink the darkness didn’t show much color, Kelly. This was such a warm and sweet comment. ❀ I just know if we were having a coffee, analyzing the next date (tomorrow, it is a Vietnamese restaurant) I could trust your advice and I would listen. Your experience in making marriage work is very valuable, since I have had a few trials and "errors!" πŸ˜‰

      • No easy answers, that’s for sure! My husband travels so frequently for work… that’s probably the secret! We never get on each other’s nerves! lol
        I hope you have a great time tomorrow! Just don’t ever settle for anyone treating you as less than the wonderful person you are. xo

    • It always astounds me when you find such warmth from those who are blogging friends. Sincerely thanks for that compliment and will not let anything or anyone upset or hurt my feelings (again.) Your caring and others is appreciated, Kelly.
      Space and coming back together again is a wonderful system of keeping your love fresh and alive! ❀

      • Well, it’s not by choice or intended to be that way, but you just learn to adapt! Like anything else, there are trade-offs I guess. πŸ™‚

    • The loving relationship withstands much, I recognize that give and take, observed between my parents, Kelly. It is a trade off but you make it work!! πŸ™‚ ❀

    • Things are coming along, slowly but surely, Dee. I am finally letting the cat a little out of the bag. I will let you know, we have another date tomorrow night. . . ? ! Thanks, you are a sweetie. How is your less desirable news going????? Hugs and sincere prayers sent daily as well as a man at work, his back surgery was today. . .

      • Yes to Girl Power! I am glad this was found and being taken care of, D. I think much progress and new strides and outlooks have been made in this area of medicine, surgery and healing. Prayers and many special thoughts are in His ears and heart. . .

    • It was a very nice atmosphere and I cannot wait to hear about the treetop restaurant, Annika. How far do you have to travel to get there!?
      I felt this reminded me of a castle and felt swept away to another time and world. Thank you for the warm sentiments about exciting new times! Hope to hear about your own new adventure!

      • Life’s adventures have taken me to Florida at the moment for a special trip with my mother – ‘girls only time!’ The restaurant is close to where we are staying and so good we are going back tonight. Trying to put a post on with iPad but failing….see if I can borrow a laptop! With those curtains in the bistro I felt as if it was from the Elizabeth era and a jester was just about to arrive!

      • I am happy you had a nice chance to spend time away from home and stop have a mother to share ‘girls only time’ with, Annika.
        The Elizabethan era was a beautiful image, Shakespeare and jesters. Thanks for sharing and going to trouble of replying while away, too. I head towards my Mom’s senior apt next weekend. This takes usually only 2 hours but on holiday weekends, it will take longer and will be leaving after work next Friday. πŸ™‚

    • It is a really cool area and I totally was fascinated with the alcove, too. You know it made me wonder why places don’t make “castle” rooms like these more often. It took away the feeling of being in public, nice and cozy. πŸ™‚ Thank you, Pauline. xo

    • Wish we could be like a Genie in a bottle and create this mystical and lovely place to serve tea, coffee or other beverages to guests with plates of simple vegetables and fruits, with cheeses and bread. (Or pita points or crackers. . .) Pauline, would you keep the burgundy, pink and rose colors or change them into your favorite color palette? ❀

      • Thank you for playing along with this idea, Pauline. I liked my Mom’s decorating in roses and burgundy tones. It went well with her Victorian (grandparents’) furniture. The rose brocade on the walnut chairs made me feel “rosy” and seemed appropriate. This setting does seem fitting in the colors chosen. Glad you like it, as is! xo

  4. Just thinking of getting into dating gives me a headache. I honestly have not met one man I would even be remotely interested in going out with. Yes I am married and all that jazz but I am not dead. πŸ˜‰ Ya know what I mean? I still have eyes in my head and really, not one man has stood out in more years then I would like to think. Perhaps my eyes are so often behind a camera I miss the men? LOL Could very well be. πŸ™‚ ❀

    • I am blessed to have met you, Jennie. You enhance my learning and hel me to keep my mind full of ideas which keep me company.
      The wine bottle and the bistro were just “props” to carry out my introduction to a new possibility in my life. πŸ™‚

  5. Your lovely post reminded me of a poem I wrote some time back,Candlelight, Roses and Romance, only thing I never mentioned in it was The Third Wheel.
    Remember Robin, Wine does mature with age and is delightful to taste.
    Cheers

Leave a Reply

