Fond Memories of a Red Wagon

Image

For Hendrix’s first birthday in August, I bought him a “toddler” Radio Flyer wagon. It has cup holders and a shelf. There is a way to flip the shelf and seats into a standard flat-bottomed wagon.
This essay is from March, 2016 but this is on its third “re-blog” from 2012!
If you have already commented, or have nothing more to say on this great, life changing invention, thank you for simply stopping by.
The comments you wrote in the past are treasured and I found Joey here, waiting patiently for her reply. You may wish to check up my friend from Indiana’s blog, if you are new or visiting today:
http://jolenemottern.com
I know traditionally, people start with a “fresh” blog with no old comments, but this is my way of holding a party with old friends and new. . .

Thanks for joining my “gang!” ๐Ÿ™‚

witlessdatingafterfifty

The English proverb or saying,

โ€œNecessity is the mother of invention,โ€

certainly applies to the life of an Italian

immigrant named, Antonio Pasin.

This post was written before the

newest part of the post was imagined.

Radio Flyer is coming out with a

new โ€œriding toy,โ€ an Italian car:

What will children think of a smaller

version of a Tesla Model S? ๐Ÿ™‚

Their daddies, uncles and other fancy

car aficionados will be pleased.

Antonio Pasin came to America from

Italy, in 1914, at the age of 16.

He was the son of a cabinetmaker,

whose family settled in

Chicago, Illinois.

Antonio started a business of making

wooden cabinets for phonographs.

The wooden cart or wagon he built to

carry his tools in was a creation that

became popular among parents who

saw it as a place to put children and

pull them along behind them.

This is the storyโ€ฆ

View original post 805 more words

18 responses »

  1. I went back and read your original post.
    It’s so cool that it’s been reblogged a few times.
    It’s interesting that those wagons are a family business and that the matriarch keeps (or kept at your the time of your original post) one on her porch. My dad bought my girls one of those wagons when they were little. I don’t think we actually used it much though. They are certainly iconic.

    • Thank you for taking the time to read this older story with its second update, Merril!
      I am surprised you didn’t get much use out of your wagon! Did the girls cart their dolls or toys around in it, possibly, if not for them to travel around without having to walk? I have a son who loaded it up once full of his “junk” including food and a change of clothes, pulled it into the woods to “set up camp!” ๐Ÿ˜€

      • I understand about dragging a wagon around! It could be awkward. . .
        My parents and I usually ended up parking it with our stuff, counting on strangers to be kind and leave it alone. We never lost a jacket or snacks from it, all the years from my childhood until my grandkids’ childhood. Wagons do tend to “break down” or get worn out, so I thought a new one was overdue for my son’s crew. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I remember that original post, Robin. I’m so happy to hear little Hendrix received his first โ€œtoddlerโ€ Radio Flyer wagon. I hope you’ll post a photo of him on a joy ride. Happy Saturday!

    • You are truly one of my blog “originals!” You are precious in so many ways, Jill.
      I am not sure if my son has put it together yet! The idea of a “joy ride” is cute. . .
      I was very pleased to buy it and definitely will enjoy taking a photograph of Hendrix “riding in it, in style!” I love the idea of a county fair picture. . .

Leave a Reply

