Sunset over county farmland

Image

image

Who are you?

Who do you think

you are anyway?

When you live in the “county seat”

sometimes you consider

yourself a “city dweller.”

When you live side by side with

college students, the university

considers you a “townie.”

You may be a musician,

juggler, artist, or writer,

Jack of all trades,

technical or

organic,

Jock

or who

knows yet?

I like to think of

myself and my family

as “works in progress.”

Don’t the colors in this

scene just grab at you or

as they did me, “pulled on

my heartstrings and roots?”

If you have a short answer

“Who are you?”

Please feel free

to let us know.

You’re among friends!

This farmhouse is located on

Troy Road, heading North

out of Delaware, Ohio.

Across the street, my grandson,

Skyler and his cousin, Lara,

practice in the heat of

early summer evenings.

He plays middle

school football,

as she practices

her cheerleading.

Any outdoor activities

may also be a part of who

you are as fishing, biking,

boating and swimming

season is coming to

an end around here.

Photograph made

this blogger, Robin,

sentimental + nostalgic

for her babysitter, as

an elementary student,

who lived on a farm.

101 responses »

    • George, sorry belatedly found this comment. Peace and tranquility sound like a positive result and will try to not get into melancholy “what if’s.” Thank you for supporting the idea of “works in progress.” πŸ™‚

    • Juan, it would be a peaceful way to retire, don’t you think? Except I would have cats in the barn, not in the house (2 grandies and my DIL are allergic), I would have a big farm dog, some vegetables, two tree swings and a porch swing. Not a lot of work planned once I stop working! Ha ha! πŸ™‚

    • Of course there are tons of real farms, Juan! Do you follow Tonya at Fourth Generation Farm? I am sure you can find her blog or comment here. πŸ™‚ Take it easy, will be visiting soon, maybe some of down time over Labor Day weekend. . .

  1. Wonderful picture and post, Robin. I envy your surroundings!
    Today I am a caregiver or “caretaker” as T puts it – while she mends.
    I think who I am is as fluid as the days and think I am who I am in sections really – for blocks of time.Today I am a caregiver.

    • I like how you expressed this, Sheila! “As fluid as the days. . . ” so lovely.
      The idea of “fluidity” in our identity almost sounds like another post; you could write this. Acceptance of others would be part of the way we blend and grow in our personal character development throughout our lifetime.
      Each day we may a different person, but today you are a caretaker. I am sure you are a mighty, caring giver. πŸ™‚

      • We care and help each other out, Sheila. That is for sure!
        Loved ones who are close makes it easier, but from a distance, I feel connected to many and send my hopes out upon the air waves, as I believe you do, too. ❀

  2. I love the colors of the sky in your photo.
    Like most people, I am so many things, but mostly, I’m simply me, Merril. I like to think I’m unique.
    (That makes me think of the old show, The Prisoner, or Les Miserables–I am not a number.) πŸ™‚

    • Merril, you are you. That explains a good deal, yet only we may know ourselves best. I like also not to be a number or a “typical” anything.
      Thanks for liking the photograph. Usually, through my eyes, the scene is best. In this case, somehow the colors were really unique through the cell phone’s lens: like you!

  3. To this day I proudly say I am a fourth-generation Washingtonian. I am also proud to be a Huskie from the University of Washington, a huge urban university in Northeast Seattle. However, after living on three continents and now residing in South Carolina, I feel more like a citizen of the world than anything else.

    Once we have explored the eastern U.S. and Canada, there is a good chance Florence and I will again move outside the U.S. We have not yet pared the list down to a single destination. Who knows? We may end up moving more than once given the opportunity. – Mike

    • This is a great way to live, Dan. Feeling there is more to do, more to be, parts of you are still developing.
      I could not honestly believe how this cell phone picture turned out, Dan! I have had too much yellow in some of my sunrises and sunsets lately. My oldest daughter mentioned as an artist, by wearing sunglasses I am getting a “filtered outlook.” So, honestly I took the photo with sunglasses on, drove exhausted home from the practices. The next day is when I realized I had a “keeper.”

    • Thanks for this wonderful description of the sunset.
      It is lovely, having the grandkids close by, when I am able to get to after school practices. . . Flat country can be nice with the “open air” as you mentioned, Silvia.:)
      I love when people post photographs like you do, with entirely different ocean scenery and critters! Others post mountains or hilly scenery. Then there are city dwellers who give us glimpses of how fun it would be to live in a metropolitan area. Blogging gives us the best of so much of the world!

    • You are right, of course! πŸ™‚ We need to know (and love) ourselves, accepting and displaying our hidden talents. Thanks, Diana for enjoying the musings, as well as sharing your perspective on the thoughts.
      We all wear many hats, but through blogging and writing, we may discover another side we didn’t realize existed. Someone may not have realized they had a sense of humor or ?

    • This was a nice summary of what you liked in my post, Derrick. I was pleasantly surprised how the colors came out. I honestly was bleary-eyed by the time I left work and had watched two different practices. Wearing sunglasses, as I headed towards the road, I didn’t know there would be any blue, let alone turquoise, in this capture.

    • You’re right, Beth. Oh, sometimes I just want to rest and not wonder where I am heading. Other times, full of energy, I imagine getting on a senior Fall leaves tour bus!
      I know that isn’t really “who I am” but what I may do. . . πŸ˜‰

    • Your photo which had a hidden Choppy was gorgeous, Sarah. But yours was in the am and mine this time was in the pm. The skies in the late summer are really vibrant, don’t you think? πŸ™‚

    • I like the pink tint, makes me think of people who say I wear “rosy colored glasses,” ha ha! Thanks for mentioning grilling out! I love when I head up north to visit my brothers, usually one will cook out while Mom and I bring side dishes and dessert!
      We used to actually cook these but we go to Giant Eagle in Westlake, Ohio to pick these up.
      Hope you have a happy Labor Day, Sarah (and Paul.) πŸ™‚

    • Pauline, are you having your daughters come for a pajama and fun times visit soon? I like how you all sound more like girlfriends than mother and daughters. They sure pitched in to rearrange last year (it seems awhile ago or was it just a few months ago?) ❀
      The long, summer evenings are cooler now. I am glad to have my family close. I am blessed and try not to ever sound so tired that someone may feel I am "down."
      The top of the photo looked like a cobalt gray-blue through my sunglasses. I was ever so pleased to see turquoise in this capture; later, when I got home in the apt light.

      • Yes, I am having my annual pyjama party starting this Friday Robin – my tiny house will be full to bursting for about ten days this year. How amazing that you remembered! Thank you! You never sound ‘down’ or even slightly tired Robin πŸ™‚ you have a wonderfully positive outlook on the world. ❀

    • So funny, Pauline! I cannot believe our extra-sensory perception must have comnected! πŸ˜‰
      I hope you have a lovely ten days of pyjama partying! Do you have any projects to have help with, dear? Enjoy!!
      I love my two daughters but we rarely have overnights. I miss those days. My son and his wife have me sleepover when they have a dinner and later movie time. The grandies love that, more space to spread out! When they come to my apt we have every piece of furniture pushed together to create a sleeping area.

      This weekend, heading up to see my Mom with Micah, my little shadow. πŸ™‚ One brother, the artist, will be around while my younger brother and his wife will be over on the East coast visiting her Mom.

    • Drew, you’re welcome! I have many occasions been down country roads within eight miles of home and felt so lucky to have few obstacles to block my vision.
      On the other hand, I wouldn’t mind a cool cityscape or view from a mountain top! πŸ˜‰

  4. I always thought I wanted to live on a farm, but after living here, it would have to be a farm elsewhere where there were no nasty snakes, or taratulas, or all the other nasties that dwell in Texas. this is a great post missy. I enjoyed it all the way from top to bottom. Love, N πŸ™‚ ❀

  5. Lovely picture Robin. I like to think we’re all works in progress- that’s a great way of putting it.
    I’ve always lived in the country but hanker after the town. Would I want to live there? I don’t know. Where I live now I have the best of both worlds.

    • I remember once you mentioned you lived close to where they filmed some of the country scenes in “Spectre.” πŸ™‚ Thank you for liking my idea of most of us as “works in progress.” Jenny, so glad we have similar interests and thoughts. πŸ™‚

    • Take me back to the country roads and it does make me nostalgic! πŸ™‚ I sometimes forget your country roots, Lana. Thanks for enjoying this, along with a few friends. Too bad we can’t pull together a picnic!

    • Brenda, a comment meant for Lana probably came to you. Oops!
      Thank you for your interesting perspective, which I do agree with our “wearing different hats.”
      “Who we are is always changing.” Thanks so much for this!
      I do feel “multi-faceted” and I like being both a teacher and a student. I am almost always going to affiliate most with being a city girl, or “townie.” πŸ™‚

    • Thanks so much, Ian. When I started taking photographs with my cell phone, I changed direction in my writing. Sometimes prose, some thoughts or musings and matching the “mood” of the picture has been my destination. I am glad I “hit the mark” occasionally! πŸ˜‰ hugs xo

    • Thank you, Luanne. You were recently able to see some great scenery around New England, Canada and Louisville, Kentucky! πŸ™‚
      So glad you enjoyed this farmland across from Troy Park. Skyler was practicing football and Lara was practicing cheerleading. I can hardly believe they are in junior high now! In Delaware, Ohio you go from middle school to there. . . finally ending in high school. Hugs xo

    • Thanks so much, Ian. When I started taking photographs with my cell phone my writing changed. Sometimes prose, some thoughts or musings, trying to match the “mood” of the pictures has been my destination. I am glad I “hit the mark”occasionally! πŸ˜‰ hugs xo

Leave a Reply

