Hanging by a thread

Image

image

Preface:

This is my second Cicada post,

which many comments touched

me deeply. I would like to feature

a great description of what I was

portraying, given by a fellow

blogger and friend:

“Sometimes a moment of

observation can really take us

on a journey of reflection.”

~Merril D. Smith

(part of a comment on my post)

Please sometime check Merril’s

blog out for poems, thoughts,

intermingling with history:

http://merrildsmith.wordpress.com

Suspended from the edge of my

towel, Cicada kept his grip

while I may have lost mine.

I tried to read outdoors, this is

normally relaxing.

But the poor bug

was “bugging me.”

Why are some given

nearly perfect, flawless,

idyllic childhoods and others

face daily struggles and challenges?

It was such a relief, a point of

recognition and an “answer”

to my erratic ponderings

to be looking through

my personal 2016

floral covered

journal and

the “aha!”

moment

finally gave

me peace through

Maya Angelou’s words:

“Love recognizes no barriers,

It jumps hurdles,

Leaps fences,

Penetrates walls,

to arrive at the

Destination,

Full of Hope.”

The insect world,

it’s own microcosm,

had explained some of

the inconsistencies of Life,

through a Cicada who arrived

by landing on my towel and

as I looked into its beady eyes

I realized this is all of existence,

no perfection nor fairness.

Be kind, be aware of daily

messages which will

both scare and warm

your beautiful heart.

❀

The quote inserted here,

as mentioned, was from one

of America's most beloved,

"Poet Laureates."

The rest of every word here

was spewed forth through

some elements of angst

and some of love for

her fellow man.

Photo taken

by her, too.

~ Robin Oldrieve Cochran

42 responses »

    • Beautiful post, Robin. Thank you for the shout-out!
      I agree with Jenny above this your post is lovely and meditative. I love the quote by Maya Angelou, and the circling back to the cicada–the importance of love and kindness and the transitory nature of life. ❀

    • Veronica, excellent summary which makes my ponderings sound meaningful! I like to try and add to people’s lives, or at least get them thinking a bit (from time to time)! I agree, it is “a hard pill to swallow sometimes.” xo

    • Oh, Maya is such a winner, isn’t she? I liked this since overcoming obstacles was important in my teaching methodology with those children with special needs. The cicada just seemed to study me and I did tell you, I set it over in the shady grass on the first post about the poor guy with two different sized wings. Thank you, Beth. ❀

  1. The cicadas have been singing quite loudly at dusk every evening as I finish up outside. Their symphony is quite loud as if they are trying to tell us something. A very nice post, missy! πŸ™‚ ❀

    • I am very pleased you let me know your cicadas are still noisy in your area! πŸ™‚ I am happy to say I can only hear a cricket tonight outside my window, dear Natalie.
      My Mom would not shop nor go to a restaurant. She didn’t want to stay in air conditioned car to see a giant sunflowers field. I am going to post in October. ❀ ❀

      • Thank you so much Robin!! πŸ˜€ We still have one more year of college left, our interviews happen at the end of 3rd year. And I can’t wait for college to get over……14 years of school and 4 years of college…… I need a break πŸ˜‰ lol
        I hope the next part of life’ll be more interesting than this πŸ˜€
        Love and hugs,
        ❀ ❀

Leave a Reply

