Thursday’s Doors ~ 1776 flag by door

Image

image

This old German Village home has

a neat, modern look with brick

red pots, one on each step.

Well-kept lawn with trimmed

bushes, brick laid sidewalk,

steps of cement, black

rod iron fence and

simple black door,

all make me feel

pleasantly satisfied

with my door today.

Go check out the other

special, chosen doors please!

The founder of Thursday’s Doors,

Norm Frampton, has his own

door photograph to display,

as well as others to see.

Come explore the

“world of doors!”

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

Our bicentennial in 1976,

brought the Tall Ships

through the channels

to show off their beauty,

on Lake Erie, in Sandusky Harbor.

69 responses »

    • This is so funny, Jen! πŸ˜€
      The pots do appear to be obstacles but the door seems like one which is used!? Any ideas from you or others may help.
      I liked that the window box had succulents instead of flowers, for a change of pace. Thanks, dear. xo

    • Oh, I did! πŸ™‚
      Annika, in 1976, I was on my second summer of working at an amusement park called, “Cedar Point.” I was lucky and lived in the old section of onsite Hotel Breakers. Two of us had a key to the breakfast room. We were the “openers.”
      They had daily fireworks on the beach. . .
      I was often invited at the end of my shift to join boaters. I was going to be a junior in college so very happy to make new friends.
      Possibly you saw the Tall Ships, too? xo

      • Robin, now I’m jealous!!πŸ˜€ You were actually on the boats? Fantastic. I’ve seen some Tall Ships a few years ago in Sweden but none recently alas. Loved reading about your 1976 summer…sounds like great memories.

    • Yes, Annika. This was possible for those who paid money or knew someone connected to the ships. Several Cedar Point workers who were from Frontier Land, a section of the amusement park, brought hand blown glass vases, homemade candles and wooden carved items. . .
      The ship’s gear was very authentic and the people were truly historians, happy to have guests. The Tall Ships came from the East coast, their trip should be documented and I am sure they passed ports along other parts of the Great Lakes!
      Just purely due to teaching 6th graders something, did you know the Great Lakes create an acronym? HOMES:
      Lake Huron, Lake Ontario, Lake Michigan, Lake Erie and Lake Superior. πŸ™‚

      • No, Robin, these are the proper huge tall ships with all the rigging. One is based in the harbour in Gothenburg and goes out for teaching tours. I have seen replica Viking boats out at sea, much smaller and totally different sail but so impressive!

    • Annika, the tall ships are part of President JFK’s “Operation Sail,” which has been carried out across the Great Lakes but ends on the Hudson River in New York City on July, 4th!
      Here are the years they travelled:
      1964, 1976, 1986, 1992, 2000 and 2012.
      There is a lovely list of international ships which were part of the Bicentennial celebration! πŸ™‚ xo

    • Isn’t this funny? πŸ™‚ Hope we aren’t passing each other on sidewalks and at The Book Loft! You haven’t eaten brunch lately at Lindey’s; have you? Micah, Felicia and I met her old roommate and her mother (Robin) there, not too long ago. . .

    • Hi Colleen. I have hopes I would recognize you. Ha ha, our gravatars help!
      Beth, of Ann Arbor may meet me this Fall. I will let you know but I imagine Toledo or somewhere in the middle will be our meet up. . . . πŸ™‚
      You and i won’t have so far to do this soon, but we may need to wait till winter. Busier in summer and fall!

    • Thanks for enjoying this door and also helping others to know why the pots are purposely placed on the steps, Judy! πŸ™‚
      So glad the staggered positions made it pretty attractive.
      I was drawn towards this door, mainly due to how it seemed well put together but naturally so.

    • I am pleased you were pleased, Dan. I know how well you carry through on your own home projects, so your approval is high on my list of creating a smile today (tonight). Thanks!

    • It does seem sensible, Sylvia. It was lovely to see the tall ships and wish I had taken a camera! The funny thing about youth (or at least my own younger years). . . You think things are quite ordinary or going to happen more than once, so you just take amazing things a little bit for granted! πŸ™‚

  1. I wondered about getting in and out of the door, too.
    That is cool about you getting to go on the tall ships when you were in college.
    I was thinking of history, and the Germans from your German village moving west from Philadelphia and its outskirts to Ohio. And did the ships sail from Philadelphia, as well in 1976?

    • I love your historical migrating thoughts! The Germans travelling west from Philadelphia to Ohio. We are connected. . . My own Grandma (Paula Haller) came from Germany with her mother to New York City. My Grandpa (Walter William Mattson) came from Sweden, to meet her on a street corner in NYC. ❀
      Here are the years of "Operation Sail" which it's original (inaugural) date was due to President JFK, in 1964. The list of individual international tall ships changes but they travel around the Great Lakes and coastline. They always end up on the Hudson River in NYC, for July 4th.
      The only other five dates the Tall Ships have sailed were: 1976, 1986, 1992, 2000 and 2012. Awesome, huh? Check to see if they made it to Philadelphia, or if they started there back in 1776, Merril. πŸ™‚

      • That’s sweet the way your grandparents met. πŸ™‚
        The Tall Ships definitely do sail into Philadelphia, and as you can imagine there was a quite a big event here for the bicentennial, although honestly I don’t remember it.
        They also sail past my town, although I only saw it once. Somehow I always miss it.

    • The story of my grandparents really was a wonderful one. Thanks for thinking it was sweet, Merril. Makes me think “not such a big world after all. . .”
      I figured Philadelphia must be on their sailing schedule! πŸ™‚

  2. this looks like a neat and tidy house, lived in by a neat and tidy person. years ago, i was in german town and it was charming. let’s try to meet up this fall somewhere between us maybe, before the snow comes )

    • I am happy you have been here, Beth. I have visited a lot of Michigan all the way up to the UP and of course, love Charlevoix. πŸ™‚ Your state is gorgeous!
      I am excited about meeting up! We may find Toledo being a good spot or somewhere you may name, Beth. We definitely have a lot in common, always have grandies, teaching and a sense of adventure.
      Remember our dreams of sleuthing together? We would make Cagney and Lacey Proud!!
      Ha ha πŸ™‚

    • Laughing at this comment, Pam. It certainly was a clear and beautiful day. Glad it made it real to you! I would like to see the inside of this house, but meanwhile imagining candlesticks, braided rugs, basket of fresh flowers and handmade quilts. Wouldn’t it be something if the owners had a whole different decorating style within these walls? πŸ˜‰

  3. Those pots do seem to pose a problem as to how to even get to that door. Perhaps a side entrance is used? Your image is awesome, Robin, and it feels as if I could just step right into it and be there. Thank you for sharing! ❀

    • Your friendly comment was so cheerful, Amy! πŸ™‚
      I am glad this cozy house seems to beckon you in, as well as your knowing there is a reason to the pots! πŸ™‚
      I am not sure why, but my cell phone is saying the WP and my blog are out if synch with my phone, not beinf recognized. I certainly recognize and care about YOU! ❀

Leave a Reply

