Donuts for breakfast

Image


My Mom as just Grammie O.

once fed my own three youngsters

What they will forever call

“Pudding Pops.”

Jell-O made pudding into popsicles.

Mom rationalized that there was 

milk in them!

Now, as Nana, I take my grandies 

sometimes to Bob Evans, 

Burger King (bacon, egg and

cheese croissan’wiches 

are the “bomb!”

I made pancakes and whole

wheat French Toast for 

several occasions as well as

those various sugary cereals 

But their favorite “breakfast”

or so they claim is: Tim Horton’s.

I am a big fan of independent

coffee shops but they can’t compete

with the way my grandies love Tim H’s.

So, is it perhaps sitting on tall stools?

Maybe the ability to pick two donuts

or have ten timbits plus white

or chocolate milk?

I get a variety of things, soup 

grilled bagels, sandwiches

or wraps, tried a Canadian

maple donut, like sour cream

glazed and crueller’s the best.

I order regular iced coffee,

caramel flavoring, cream 

and sweetener packages.

Well, this is not very

interesting but the 

photograph is clear,

no intent to promote

franchises or chain

donut and coffee shops.

Where do you head when on

the road for breakfast?

84 responses »

    • So glad you could read between the lines on this one, Beth. πŸ™‚ I forgot to say Mom/Grammie O gave my kids pudding pops for breakfast.
      Yes, it is our tradition of breakfast treats for the grandies. Shh! Don’t let my healthy youngest single girl hear about this! Ha ha!

    • You are so right, Lis. They eat six days a week very healthy food at their Mommy and Daddy’s houses. My DIL and son’s two youngest girls are here, he is a cook. They prepare fruits and oatmeal or whole wheat toast. πŸ™‚ My daughter’s youngest boy in the middle East plenty of vegetables and fresh spinach, too. πŸ™‚

  1. Haha – You reminded me that a grandparent’s job is to have fun and spoil the grandkids. It looks to me as if you are doing a great job! πŸ™‚

    I seldom grant myself the pleasure of a donut anymore. I feel like I have had my share over the years. Nonetheless, I really missed having a cake donut with coffee when we were traveling. The rest of the world seems to prefer raised donuts. (Scotland was the exception.) Thus, a stop by the local donut shop was one of our first sinful pleasures when we returned to the U.S. – Mike

    • I like cake donuts, along with cro-nuts and raised donuts filled with whipped cream. I am only slightly selective but my Dad loved frosted cake donuts, Mike. I am surprised that raised donuts are more international than cake donuts. πŸ™‚

    • George, so glad to hear this. I cook a lot of breakfast food choices.
      I was very healthy last Saturday by ordering a veggie omelet without cheese, whole wheat toast and ate only half my home fries, taking the rest home. No bacon and no sweets. I felt “righteous!”
      What is your favorite breakfast combination? πŸ™‚

      • Anything with bacon..:) I enjoy all breakfast foods. I’m not a big fan of buffets, except when it’s breakfast. Then I’m all in. But on a daily basis, I don’t overeat at breakfast. Yogurt, fruit, oatmeal, etc. and a small carb of some sort…:)

  2. I don’t know this place, and I stay away from the chains and fast food places, but there is an appeal for the kids. I’m sure my girls would have loved it when they were little, too. And it’s a special thing for you and the grands!

    When my husband and I were young he could eat a dozen Dunkin Donuts in a sitting. πŸ™‚

    • Merril, this is really amazing and health conscious of you! My youngest daughter is very much like you, since she has had rheumatoid arthritis for 17 years. Eating good and healthy food helps alleviate some of her pain. There are so many benefits of natural foods and not going to chain restaurants is part of the path she tries to stick to. πŸ™‚
      My Dad could eat a half dozen donuts but I haven’t seen anyone eat a dozen. That makes me smile and had me chuckling.

      • I simply don’t like fast food places, and I’m not a huge fan of chain restaurants either. (Of course, there are all types.) I eat plenty of junk food. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for the compliments, Jill. ❀
      My grandkids may have a sip of coffee from time to time. I agree, children and pre-teens should not be allowed to drink coffee. I have to admit once a week while we were growing up, we were allowed a Coca Cola or fruit pop from a wooden crate of 8 oz glass bottles. I liked strawberry soda and cream soda better than a coke. πŸ™‚

    • Hi Hollis! So nice of you to support my errant and “bad” Nana habits! I always think of your husband when I order pie at a restaurant or eat pie at a friend’s house. Thanks for saying they are cute and darling. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for sharing this about Faith as a child and Daddy times, Dan. πŸ™‚
      My oldest daughter takes the children to the Hamburger Inn diner in Delaware, Ohio. They eat pancakes, eggs and bacon then have a milk shake! They have stools that spin around with this stainless steel rims and posts.
      We do try to go to independent coffee shops for coffee.

  3. Such sweet little ones, Robin. It’s so nice to have treats occasionally. When on the road, we head for Starbucks. Hubby likes their breakfast bun with coffee, and I love their tomato mozzarella panini with chai latte. πŸ™‚

    • Sylvia, I am a little late responding! Fell asleep in the middle of responses. Thanks for your sweet comment. xo
      Treats are nice as you said, “occasionally.” I like Starbuck’s and there are a few healthy and yummy choices. Their shortbread cookie tastes just like my Mom’s cookies. I have had a sandwich with egg and Canadian bacon with gruyΓ¨re cheese and liked it! πŸ™‚

  4. Robin, they all look so happy and sweet! πŸ˜€ A wonderful start to the day with such a treat…the donuts look delicious. When we’re out travelling in the UK we stay in a good motel which usually has breakfast served in the restaurants next door. Lovely mix of continental to choose from and then always the tiny blueberry muffins to finish!

    • I like continental breakfasts, as well, Annika. Here in some of the smaller motels they have a waffle machine, you pour in the batter and make tasty fresh ones. I like having juice and coffee, then they have a basket of fresh fruit, so I grab “one for the road!” πŸ™‚

      • Oh, I do that too – but often a napkin also with some extra mini muffins! Great for journeys. Whilst in Florida I was hoping to have waffles, having read so much about them, but no waffle maker in the condo and the waffle cafe we found was always packed out! Grr…

    • Oh, Micah in the middle is the girl’s cousin and this is how the 3 sit at animated movies, too. My oldest daughter’s son and my middle child, son’s 2 girls I nicknamed the M & M girls (Marley and Makyah). Thanks for saying the sweet compliment, Annika. πŸ™‚

  5. Nana’s can get to spoil, that’s our job (and will be mine). Beautiful photo 😊 We just head locally for breakfast, but it’s usually an avo smash for me. Piece of sour dough toast, smashed avacado, feta cheese, poached egg, salsa and Spanish onion. Washed down with a skinny capuchino. Sorry went on a little.

    • We like to know the details, Jen! πŸ™‚ I am one who prefers a sentence or two, at least instead of less so: A big Thank you!! You will be an amazing grandma, Nana or . . . ❀
      I like the sound of an avocado or "avo smash." Feta cheese, poached egg plus toppings sounds yummy! I will have to cut back on my calories when I leave this hot workout job. Usually I take 2% milk instead of half and half cream.

      • Thank you lovely. ❀️ It is yummy, I don’t have it too often however as yes I have to calorie watch too πŸ™ I drink lite milk constantly as I’m a big milk drinker. 🍼 Though not through a baby bottle! 😊

      • Jen, the “splurge” of a cappuccino or latte is at least not quite so bad as the pies I used to love eating! The cholesterol is why I worry, while some worry about sugar which can be a serious concern. Thank you lovely! ❀ Milk builds strong bones and isn't that bad as long as you choose the lesser milkfat route. πŸ™‚
        That baby bottle is so cute!

  6. Your one of those Grandmothers who are a danger to their Grandchildren, you can tell it in their eyes that they love your treats for breakfast, plus easy to see they love their Granny who spoils their little Hearts.
    Isn’t it great being a Grandparent Robin ?

    • It is a great and worthwhile position which I am tremendously grateful for being, Ian. πŸ™‚
      I take them to lakes, creek walks, the pool, and hikes through woods so I try to wear the “bad” calories out of them. Laughing at my being a “danger” to them. πŸ˜€

    • It is fun but as I just told Aussie Ian: we go on hikes, creek walks, the lake and woods exploring. So, we try to wear off the calories and no “slugs” or “lazy bones!” πŸ™‚

      • I love my cookie at lunch, but resist at dinner. I can work off the lunch extras. Aussie? How wonderful. Is the poor guy tired of hearing about Crocodile Dundee, or am I just embarrassing myself with old age? The best movie I saw a few years ago was “Sapphire”. Aussies in the ’60’s

    • I saw the Sapphires movie as a librarian recommended it. Then, since Ian served in Vietnam war, I mentioned it to him. He says a lot of that war was messy and disorganized but didn’t ever hear in person those fantastic singers, Jennie!! So wonderful there you are living a parallel life with so many crossovers, dear friend. xo

      • Yes, we have many wonderful crossovers! My husband just missed the war. He was on a ship when it was cancelled. We are off to his squadron reunion next month. Still a band of brothers after all these years. Hello to Ian, my dear friend.

      • Thanks for sharing your husband’s service which is still valued and appreciated, Jennie. Hope your time at the squadron reunion was enjoyable and went smoothly. πŸ™‚

  7. Thank you for re-blogging my post, Jonathan! πŸ™‚
    Well, they work up an appetite and are about average in energy and
    size. They are sweet kids so it is a treat they don’t get very often.

  8. I love breakfast, more the savory than the sweet, so Cracker Barrel. Without a doubt, Cracker Barrel is my favorite place to eat breakfast. Eggs, grits, hashbrowns, and biscuits with jam! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

