Thursday’s Doors ~ German Village house

Image

image

Another example of using tight spaces,

fitting in so many unique and homey

qualifications. German Village in

Columbus, Ohio has so many

on each street, turn a corner

and I annoyed my youngest

daughter, Felicia, stopping

as we strolled. Each one

was unique, no copy cats

nor “boring” houses.

We both exclaimed

at care shown in

their upkeep.

Instead of my pointing

out what I liked, please

feel free to point out

anything that captured

your interest please.

Norm Frampton began this

weekly program which has many

addicted to checking out doors

of many kinds and dimensions.

Here is a link to Norm’s blog:

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordress.com

Enjoy and join us if you would like!

35 responses »

  1. The house in the picture is so different from the ones here in India. I live in a 3 storeyed building and our house is a spacious accommodation with lots of empty spaces and looks big-ish, compared to the narrow door that leads to this one in the picture. Also, our windows are huge and I love the feeling of being able to see the outside world without having to make an effort.
    But the beautifully kept garden in the picture stole my heart! πŸ™‚

    • The houses in German Village were built close together since land has always been both costly and of limited amount.
      It reminds me of New York City where my Grandma and Grandpa met, their families living in “close quarters.” πŸ™‚
      There may be crowded areas of India. I watch many movies of your country and sometimes, like this area, some housing is closely spaced.
      You are blessed to have a large, spacious home with plenty of large windows letting the world in, Aishwarya. πŸ™‚

      • Oh yes I am truly blessed that way. India has a huge population and is extremely crowded in the cities. But crowded cities are not my cup of tea. So I chose to live in a laid back city which still has some life left in it. πŸ™‚

    • Those curved brick arches are really cool, Merril! Thank you for noting those white bricks. The ridged edges seem to make a statement, defining the end of each arch. I like the stone at each arch’s center, too. Thank you! πŸ™‚

    • I love your “cozy looking” response, Marissa. The architecture is great with unique details. Thanks for pitching in like a great friend, helping make the comments better! πŸ™‚

  2. It’s so pretty …. The brick and stone and the iron railings compliment the Victorian lamp beautifully but what I love most of all are the flowers. I always love flowers the most ☺️

Leave a Reply

