Great Uncle Randy and Micah say their “Last Hurrah to Summer!”

Image

No one helped Micah dig 

the huge hole his body and 

folded legs fit into the dirt 

plus sandy beach.

His Nana gave him a tool,

“Here’s the shovel we bought.”

She wandered over a few times

to lend her foot, as she carved 

an irrigation ditch to bring waves

of water into what she originally 

thought was going to be a 

Renaissance castle’s moat!

Micah had other plans, unspoken

to grandmother or her brother, as

we heard him say often to passers-by:

“It is getting almost BIG enough!”

We glanced at each other, an

artist whose body and hands 

get tired and worn from 

ceiling murals, large

palette held in one

hand, while other 

presses firmly on

wall or brick to

prevent a huge,

downwards 

tumble.

I am “the”

Nana, who was

proud of energy output

and industrious nature 

of a singular grandson 

over a holiday weekend.

Tell me, is it a Coney footlong

hotdog, as my good friend Jenny

chooses to eat from our local 

Dairy Point? Or is it a triple

scoop ice cream banana split

or ~ is it a trip to Lake Erie over

Labor Day weekend: Your own

personal way of celebrating

“The End of Summer?”

written by reocochran,

photo by same of her

high school “hometown”

Huntington Beach, 2016.

*****

Autumn arrives this 

Thursday,

September 22nd.

70 responses »

    • It is good to hear you were smiling! The next day, seriously a stranger, young boy buried him and added chest and arm muscles! People were laughing and thought he was a woman! (No, my brother said we cannot post this since it may create a life of embarrassment! πŸ™‚ )

  1. It’s nice to see the little ones get a final shot at summer fun. Summer seems to linger here in S. Carolina as we maintain temps near 90 every day. Coming from the north, I look forward to cooler days and nights. – Mike

    • Yes, the little ones had a great time, Mike! πŸ˜‰ Randy is 18 months younger than I am. So, I consider he and bro’ Rich as the young’uns!
      Once school starts, the beach gets less and less populated. I went with Micah down here in Delaware, Ohio and he was the only kid, I was the only Nana, one sunbathing man, metal detecting man and a cool couple stopped by to look out at the water, gorgeous blue water.
      It has been as low as 56 degrees at night so the water is getting cooler. Hope your heat cools down! πŸ™‚

  2. What better way to say so long to summer than with a bunch of smiles. We seem to be experiencing a never ending summer so I have no special thing I do except when we finally get a week of cold, I bring out a sweater!

    • Thank you for adding to the smiles. πŸ˜€ Oh, the cool nights have been a blessing, April. I love taking a sweater out, to head towards a movie or restaurant. My grandies asked for air conditioning last night while I added a blanket layer!

  3. It’s already cool here and this picture made me shiver at first, but I had to get my head around the idea that it could still be comfortably warm there. How nice to have one more “last hurrah” as you say.

    • Carol, thanks so much for the lovely comments! It is a shame to see it go. I like Fall or Autumn but dislike most of winter! Have you had a nice break and vacation? I missed seeing you “around.” πŸ™‚

      • I too dislike winter. Fall’s a nice time with the harvest and the cooler weather. I also like the light in fall.
        My break was great. I didn’t do much and now that I’m back it’s a bit difficult getting back into the routine but I’m happy to be back! πŸ™‚

    • I’m glad you had a good break, Carol. I am going to have cataract surgery the last week of October (10/28) and took the next week off to spend with my mother. It will be fun, thrift store shopping, eating desserts and drinking juice sized glasses (tiny) of wine! πŸ™‚
      This was a beautiful thought about how the light is different in the fall. Thanks for sharing our agreement in not as crazy about winter, as other seasons. ❀

      • Robin, you are so fortunate to spend time with your mother. My mother is no longer with us – except in our memories – and so I wish you and your mother a wonderful time together. These are precious times to be savoured and appreciated. ❀

      • This is always a wonderful way to tell someone to cherish their time, Carol. I appreciate your expressing this and acting as a friend in this warm comment. I have always been blessed by her being my best friend. I am still so lucky to have her.
        I have many friends who no longer have a mother and I try not to take her for granted! πŸ™‚
        On the other hand, my sweet Dad has been gone since he was only 69 years old. So, I feel sad on this account, as I was doubly blessed with a loving Dad. ❀

    • Sinus tunnels is so remarkable as if they were going to be Ears, Nose and Throat doctors! xo
      Digging can be problematic in a yard or garden, I suppose. . . Thank you, Brenda for adding this funny comment! πŸ™‚

    • Pam, thanks for sharing this moment with my brother, grandson and me. πŸ™‚
      This is really exciting to imagine an ocean replacing Lake Erie, but this will happen within a year or two. . .

  4. What a fun photo of Micah and his Great Uncle Randy. We used to be digging through to Australia when we were kids in England. πŸ™‚ I used to love it when we got to the point where there was water in the bottom of the hole. πŸ™‚

    • The water coming up from the hole is one of the best part of digging, Sylvia! Thanks for adding that in your part of the world, Australia was the destination. Big smiles for this new information! πŸ˜€ xo

Leave a Reply

