Blazing skies

Image

There are curses heard, 

Some under their breaths,

Then ones right out loud.

Yes, this is the curved road

or driveway heading towards work.

A place which is antiquated,

used to have a railway entrance,

can see the trails of metal rails

along the edge, the side of the

building where the “dungeon,”

the aerosol room or the

“bomb shelter,” as it still remains

named by the older workers.

My dear friend, Bill, who many may 

remember took me to see the areas

of Ohio where nature preserves, 

echers, waterfalls and landmarks,

both in cemeteries and tallest

“mountain” (biggest hill) 

Ohio is. There are posts 

which start with the one titled,

“The Man My Daughter Knew First.”

Then we travelled in his little, 

old red pick-up truck to the

caves of Kentucky, the river and

speed racing area of Madison,

the high Clifty Falls of Indiana

and the UP as well as the lovely,

Fairy tale town of Charlevoix,

Michigan where my first college

dormitory friend and Maid of Honor

spends her Spring through Fall, 

the dreaded “Hurricane Season.”

(She spends her late Autumn,

Winter and early Spring in

Long Beach, Mississippi.)

 Yes, to Castle Farms and road trips!

~  **  ~

We were standing at the time clock,

Bill and I, recently. He was clocking

out of a long, sweaty night, as I was

(Unfortunately) clocking in.

I asked him, this being only his 

second place of employment,

after over Forty Years here,

“What in the world had possibly

caused you to stay here, of all places?”

He chuckled and whispered,

“I liked the people,

It paid my family’s bills,

I still count about five people here,

(showing me his big, right hand)

Who have made me feel like

I had the best life ever,

Who still work here.”

I sighed, thinking about my

joyous preschool teaching days,

middle school Language Arts days,

and I smiled at my dear sister in law’s

words which moved me forward 

in this line of people, taking

my name tag with its

microchip inside

and I clocked in.

Susan is a very

intelligent

professor

(and Dean!)

who reminds me:

“You get paid to work out, Robin.” 

Ha ha ha!

  πŸ™‚    πŸ™‚

78 responses »

    • Bill sure has them ready to recite, which do all make sense. He has been working here since age twenty, Beth!
      Only negative thing is, without a union, I make $2.27 less than he after only eight years.

  1. I see you were in a reflective mood on this day – appropriate for the last day of summer. It is good to see another facet of your thinking. And it only took a beautiful sunset and encountering an old friend to evoke your thoughts and provide some of your interesting perspective. – Mike

    • I also was having fun with an old expression my Dad would say, Mike: (often at bedtime when we three kids were supposed to be asleep; but not!)
      “What in blazes is going on in here?”
      πŸ™‚

  2. Love the photo, Robin and then your quiet contemplative post! Not always easy to see the reasons we end up where we are – just hope yours is a happy life now. I was smitten with Bill and his words: ‘

    β€œI liked the people,

    It paid my family’s bills,

    I still count about five people here,

    (showing me his big, right hand)

    Who have made me feel like

    I had the best life ever,

    Who still work here.”

    • Thank you, Annika! Bill is like a zen-god, very much a philosopher. My youngest daughter met him while she was 15, waiting tables at Bob Evans. She would serve him coffee around 8 pm and he would read a book. They became “fast friends.” When she was in college, I lost the teaching race to get my Masters degree. She wondered where Bill was and within a month, he was coming out of Advance and u was coming in, paths crossing daily. πŸ™‚
      Annika, you would like him in person, too. He is in at least ten posts, starting with some of what I just told you. πŸ™‚

  3. Much thoughtful reflection here, Robin. I think many, if not most, people travel down unknown roads at some point. They may or may not be circular paths. It’s all part of life.
    Your sister-in-law sounds like someone who can cheer you up. πŸ™‚
    The sky in the photo made me think of photos of desert sands.

    • Desert sands sound so romantic, Merril! πŸ™‚
      I am not unhappy, more contemplative and accepting this now. Time heals a lot of things. Susan is a really cool sister in law and since I only have brothers she is definitely a special sister for me. Her sister is far away so I love “filling in” for her! Thanks for sensing reflection within this. xo

  4. Yes Robin, 40 years is a long time at one place, but as you so accurately quoted me as saying, it was the people I met along the way that made the difference. Just think, perhaps if I had only stayed there a few years you and I would have never met, and I would not have the many great memories of all the times and travels we had, which I wouldn’t trade for anything! Keep writing girl! I enjoy your blogs!

    • Thank you for this wonderful comment, Bill! I found your affirmation and appreciate this a lot. ❀ We need to get this overtime stopped and go out and catch up over dinner and lots of coffee. πŸ™‚

      • That would be grand, dinner, coffee, and a lot of laughs and good conversation. I have gotten nothing accomplished this summer. 58 hours a week at work leaves little room to get anything done. All night at work I think about all the little projects I want to do but by the time I get home I’ve lost all ambition. My mind is always writing checks that my body can’t cash! lol! Let’s try to find some time this early fall and get together……and keep writing! Many times your perspectives lift me up!

      • Thank you, Bill for your encouragement and caring. I will enjoy a meal out together and I do understand about best intentions to get things done! We haven’t had as many hours but slot more than I am used to. Take it easy and at least we pass each other’s like ships in the night. . . πŸ™‚

    • Bill has been a good friend over the years. So excited to get to see your progress in unpacking boxes but will be heading to the fair tonight. No school tomorrow, so grandkids and parents are all going to be there. Off to work this am. . .
      Happy critter watching and enjoying your kitchen, dear friend. xo

  5. I love coming across others who share these ‘How on earth did I get HERE?’ moments Robin – and that there is always a positive side to be appreciated after the gloomy bit passes by. I love that you ‘get paid to work out’. My daughter who spends most of her long working hours staring at cameras and screens has just paid a large chunk of her income to sign up at a gym πŸ™‚ I often have this question pop up – and as I have gotten older am more and more amused at the winding road and twists of fate that carried me from there to here and all I know is that I would not be who I am had not this journey occurred [even though mostly against my will πŸ™‚ ] ❀

    • Pauline, I would never have guessed from your sunny disposition that you had many kicking (not screaming) and regretted moments! I think it builds character and sets an example for our grown kids, I suppose. . . The Beatles ‘ song,ong and Winding Road is a good one! πŸ™‚ xo
      Bill is a good friend to have to feel peaceful around. Just friends, tho!

      • Oh, I’ve had way more than a fair share of those times Robin – it was them that taught me eventually, to just enjoy the moment. Speaking of The Beatles, John Lennon once said ‘Life is what happens while you’re busy making other plans…’ that was my life quote for years πŸ™‚ Enjoy today!

      • This sounds like my life’s mantra, Pauline. Thanks for sharing this quote and who said it. I have always admired John, as well as the rest since each had their place and message.
        Thank you for your pep talk today!

    • I am glad you liked the story today (yesterday), Natalie. It is nice to have a good guy friend, as well as happy family who I enjoy hanging out with. Work is bearable and could be worse, I suppose. πŸ™‚
      You are such a sweetheart and hope you are having a wonderful week, dear. ❀ πŸ™‚

      • Oh I’ve always had more guy friends than girls! I’m sorry work is challenging at the moment and pray that changes SOON‼️ Hugs and blessings missy😘❣

    • Yay for good friends and guy friends! πŸ™‚
      Your prayers are such a lovely gift you give to others. I have mentioned my James and your James makes it easier to remember who to include in my own prayers. Jamie celebrates his 35th year on earth today! ❀ I had his stepkids and his own over and we walked to see "Storks" at the local theatre in the balcony! We ate at Arby's and they spent the night so he and his wife could have alone time. πŸ™‚
      Have a wonderful and blessed weekend, dear!

  6. Pingback: Blazing skies | By the Mighty Mumford

    • Bill is a great friend and my favorite memory is how we gathered many of our kids (he has five, my 3) on the old farmland he lived on and rented for a barbecue. His oldest daughter and I went to the grocery and bought all the food to prepare. His brother and son’s (Bill’s nephew) came too. Lovely photos, but not on cell phone, and stayed until we built a bonfire. . . We passed each other and he commented above on my blog, Jenny (above and in the “old days” when we hung out more.) ❀

    • Oh, Debby! I can imagine Arizona beautiful sunsets! I did spend a week our there twice in my life, one time in February and the other time at Christmas. My Grandfather married a woman after my Grandma died, which I was asked to be her maid of honor at age 16. πŸ™‚
      We always called her our Aunt Vergene. Near the end of her life I called Grandma Vergene as she was on the phone and she said the nicest “Thank you!”

      • It was even humorous since she asked me to sleep in her room after the rehearsal dinner. She sweetly showed me all of her honeymoon wardrobe then, shocked me by telling me she had “never been with a man.” Since I was in high school but pretty innocent myself, I think back at my wish to have said something special to help her through the whole initial intimate moments. These days (I wrote a post on this! πŸ˜‰ ) I would recommend some lubrication and maybe talk about warm up activities. . . I am sure my Grandpa was considerate and loving.

    • Aww, you know it was sort of a salute to my Dad’s bad words to describe a situation. “What in blazes ate you kids doing up there?” (Bad words yelled upstairs while my two brothers and i weren’t quite behaving. . . πŸ™‚ )

  7. Great post πŸ™‚
    I love a job that keeps me moving. I never was good at standing around in duller retail moments. Stay in better shape when we’re active. But! The trouble with a physical jobs is that when you feel under the weather, your job can suck the life out of you, and that is a serious drawback when you don’t have a lot of ‘good days’. 😦
    I love Bill’s answer. There have been several jobs over the years where I liked the people so much, it made me like the job more and more. People make a place πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

