Why boys (+girls) like demolition derby: Crashes!

Standard


I took the two grandsons to see

Delaware County, Ohio

Demolition Derby.

There will be a

short series

of photos.

This is a big crash scene.

Next are the firemen for smoking car.

Last are the “guys” who found a

friend and a Grandpa to discuss

the “situations” and found 

out rules and why cars

get “flagged!”

So exciting!

Nana and

boys did this 

activity last year.

!!!!!!!!

Photograph of backs of

people and participants

in demolition derby

taken by post author.

 πŸ™‚   πŸ™‚

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

47 responses »

    • Oh, all the kids were excited in the audience, Beth. It is free to go in for children under 8 years old to the county fair, including the truck, tractor, bus pulls and rallies. . .
      It cost $6 apiece, for Skyler and I (with free Micah) to walk for hours and enjoy animals, quilts, tractors, and there was a military display they both took a half hour to study. And of course, have to pay for fair food! πŸ™‚
      Last year, there is a post under the likes of the truck rally, where the evening sky turned purple! No kidding, so pretty!

    • You saw my decision to keep the forefront in focus, good eyes, Derrick! πŸ™‚
      As a city girl, when we moved here I have to admit I was skeptical about the county fair. As time passes, I have learned there is so much of life where it is all in our perception, how we “receive” the messages.

    • There were mostly boys, so true! But girls were getting excited (clapping and shouting) which I noticed more this time, Jill. πŸ™‚
      Better than going to a movie set since these crashes are not planned nor expected. The cars we picked to “win,” didn’t!

    • Yes, Mike! So glad you know what this is about! I was a city girl and never went to a county fair. My parents visited my aunt and uncle’s farm where we had opportunities to see animals. It was a fun night!

  1. I’m glad my girls would not have liked this because watching and hearing cars crashing would not be something I’d want to do. πŸ™‚

    I’m sure you and your grandsons had a great time though–and crowd watching is always fun. (Well, not always, but often.) Haha.

    • I think that people go to movies and also rock concerts where noise is part of the ambiance, Merril. The idea of a tractor or bus “pull” and a truck or car “demolition derby” would have appalled me, as a young mother. πŸ™‚
      So funny, having grandsons who like games of Grand Theft Auto and movies rated PG, (“Cars” and “Trucks” animated films) just liked the truck rally last year so much. See the purple sky in the link under the “Likes” and it becomes unique and wonderful.
      I decided to bring them to another one with cars, instead of trucks, this year. My “girly” girl, Carrie, dress-wearing through kindergarten into college, had two boys who love action and gritty stuff.
      Surprisingly, the noise isn’t as much as you would imagine, the trees and surrounding acres around it, just send the sound waves outwardly! πŸ™‚

      • I would not have appalled, just not something I want to do, but I suppose if my girls had really wanted to do something like that I would have gone (once). πŸ™‚

      • I wasn’t saying you would be, gosh I was a city girl from the suburbs of Cleveland and this just wasn’t something my family participated in, Merril. Funny, how life changed and I have been here for 30 years and the county fair here is “big time!” πŸ˜€

      • When my husband first started teaching, the area around his school was all farmland. It was a different way of life there, too. (There’s a rodeo in our area, too, but we’ve never been to it.) My husband used to take our girls to one of a county 4-H Fair. They liked the baby animals and fresh peach ice cream. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Marissa! So glad you can see the excitement of noise, action and one of many kids’ favorite natural elements: Dirt!!
      I need to look up your Kbotfest/Ozzfest review, dear friend. ❀
      By the way, I would have taken the girls there, but so many people, I am always afraid of losing a child in a crowd. . . Skyler is my height at age 11 and a half so he is hard to grab by strangers so I hold Micah's hand as we pushed through the masses! It truly was fun and the announcer is hilarious, sounds just like a sportscaster. πŸ˜€

  2. This took me back more years than I care to think about. We used to go see the demolition derbies at the Fall Fair. Why anyone would smash themselves up like that is beyond me, but back then, I never used to think about things like that.

    • I like taking people either “with me” through their reading or sending them “off into reminiscing about past memories,” Anneli. πŸ™‚ ❀
      I am sure the current level of crashing in movies has been "upped" over the years, so when I discovered the boys enjoyed this, I decided it was a free, interesting and rather entertaining way to spend time together. xo

  3. Oh, I’m jealous! Demolition Derbys are such fun and bet you all had a brilliant time. Alas I’ve only been a few times but the tomboy in me would love to go again! Look forward to your other photos. Have a lovely weekend, Robin.πŸ˜€

    • This is so cool that you like such events! I actually never took my son, unfortunately I always had the two girls and one boy to handle. These days some of my guilt eases as I take my oldest daughter’s two sons to places like this.
      It is amusing how the announcer “sells” the excitement, by saying where the vehicles have come from and if they have participated before. His voice is very much like a sportscaster, which helps me to understand each “flag” or “call.”
      Those boys like noisy video games and game rooms like Chuck E Cheese or Dave and Buster’s. They spent about 35 minutes in the military display in one of the big fair buildings, too. They liked some of the quilts and put their pointer finger into cages to touch the soft fur on bunnies and baby lambs. We had a well rounded time at all the “free” stuff. While earlier in the week, my grown children took all 7 of the grandies to the fair. They rode tides and ate dinner together.
      I got a little teary eyed when they texted me, Annika. They had bought me a walleye fish sandwich and were sitting in the picnic area on my really long 11 hour work day.(I didn’t make it that night, at all!) So, this really made ME happy to go, too. . .

    • This is such a hilarious “take” on the demolition derby and truck rallies, Dan! I will have to remember this next year, since I like to chat with the neighboring adults on chairs or standing to watch~
      “Rush hour gone bad!”

    • Aww, Pauline! It is funny and hard to explain “why” it is such a fun atmosphere! It isn’t nearly as gruesome as the way “Ben Hur” or the Romans entertained with ancient competitions. . .
      The noise has a cool way of spreading outward, since our county fair is one of the larger ones in our state. The big woodsy area behind one side and the large (Triple Crown) racetrack are on a few acres, then the space to the rides, games and buildings helps! We get on a wagon pulled by a tractor to reach this competition rally track. πŸ™‚ Thanks for joining us, dear. You even stayed dust-free and enjoyed blissful silence! ❀

    • Thanks, Kirt! πŸ™‚ So cool to hear about your going to these in the past! I feel embarrassed to say beforeI took my 3 kids to this county fair (having lived here for 30 years); I had never been to a county fair! When I had a son and two girls, I took them only to the areas where animals, the crafts, rides and food areas. I did tour the tractors area with them since the farmers liked to visit and tell their stories. We all liked “Charlotte’s Web” and I did help thrm to join 4H and scouts, also. . .
      My son and I had a wonderful 15th year in his life, where we did weekly activities to make up for the times I didn’t go do “guy stuff” with him. (Bowling, billiards, darts, . . . eating spicy food he liked!)

Leave a Reply

