Demolition derby prizes!

Image

This photograph is to show you

the Demolition derby prizes,

passed out in the evening 

for the three cars left 

“standing” or able 

to still drive and

maneuver around

the track for their

award winning prizes.

The Demolition derby

announcer tells where each

car comes from, mainly within

two neighboring counties,

although one car came

“All the way from 

West Virginia!”

My favorite car is this olive

green station wagon with

my birthday year, “55.”

This is a shout out to

the car which played

Rebel, broke the rules,

got flagged and eventually

got disqualified!!

In the background music,

you can’t drive 55, played

in my imagination. πŸ™‚

55 responses »

  1. Your favorite reminds me of a MASH ambulance–I guess the color.
    I will think of you now whenever I see a “55.” I love that you have a soundtrack in your mind because I often do, too. πŸ™‚
    Great shot, and it seems a good ending to your adventure at the demolition derby. (What type of prizes did they get?)

    • I think a few hundred dollars for each one, denomination being lower for second, then third place. We never really heard the amounts just were told by a man who was the grandfather of my grandson’s friend.
      Sammy Hagar sang “I Can’t Drive 55” in 1984. I think music seems to connect the dots in our lives, Merril

      • Did you like the song, Merril? To me, it has an older flavor to it, then just the 80’s. . . πŸ™‚ Next year, I will check out the details about prizes. Last year, we didn’t stay to the “bitter” end. Ha ha! πŸ˜€

      • Well, I do harbor a love for NASCAR that I share with virtually no one I know (though I have dragged Paul into it). Demo Derby is like the crashing of NASCAR without all the racing in between. Plus, I think it would be awesome to try sometime!

      • Sarah, my friend Jenny and her husband like NASCAR, too. I have watched a race or two on television with them. They used to follow the M & M car. πŸ™‚

      • Kyle Busch fans – interesting. It’s really fun to go to a race. People tend to be shocked from the moment they arrive, because everyone just grabs their cooler of beer and walks right in. It’s a rare sport where you get to bring your beer in with you!

  2. Robin – you are getting much mileage from your demolition derby! I’ve been looking at your posts with a smile on my face, remembering going stock car racing when I was young and loving it! We would get home all dusty and tired from a fun day out. Your grandees will remember this for yearsπŸ˜‰

    • Jenny, it was like a mini-series of posts. I like to try to do a few in a row interconnected. Art, movies, mural, fair or insects. Oh, I love skies. . .
      Yes, got a lot of mileage~ such a great line for a demolition derby.
      I am now excited to hear you would go stock car racing, Jenny. Such an awesome thing to picture you as a girl doing. . . this brings me a smile to my face. Thank you for returning smiles. πŸ™‚

    • It is quite a safe adventure, mainly the drivers wear helmets and seatbelts. We are far beyond the “action!” I have to admit this isn’t as fast paced as in the movies but is quite riveting just the same. . . πŸ™‚

    • It is rather silly, Sharmishtha. Cars go around in a circle and try to batter each other. The drivers wear helmets and audience like the supervised crashes. Prizes given to final 3 contestants left in drive able cars.

    • I can still smell them, too! πŸ˜‰
      It is going to be nice weather to watch a middle school football game after work, where my 12 year old granddaughter is cheering. Have a wonderful day and evening, Annika!

  3. Hi! I’ve been reading your site for a long time now and finally got the courage to
    go ahead and give you a shout out from New Caney Texas! Just
    wanted to mention keep up the excellent work!

Leave a Reply

