Thursday’s Doors: Corner art pieces

Image

The main “door” is a wooden panel.

It has a “roof” pointing upward.

It has stacks holding it like 

a wooden sculpture,

but it also has a

painting.

This is a possible “door” to

the sky above us, some

may feel it is just a

plain, ordinary man.

This is part of a wide

variety of doors, a program

hosted by Norm Frampton,

who has his own door 

contribution, along 

with much more:

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

Heres my “take” on my

brother, Randy Oldrieve’s art,

found in a front corner of his gallery.

Blog post author’s thoughts:

The face in our mirror may sometimes
surprise us, our age catching up 
with our mind. Spiritual visage
on wooden stacked sculpture
seeks my eyes and reassures my heart.
The modern art featured on the right 
adjacent wall, seems to need a light,
airy room which may need colors
and imagination ignited.
The lamp with glass piece had 
me pondering as well as smiling.
Designed to please some viewers,
yet may not be everyone’s 
“taste” or  “cup of tea!”

43 responses »

  1. I like the rustic feel of the piece, and it reminds me of an old colonial building with a light (“one if by land; two if by sea?). πŸ™‚
    I like swirls and colors of the paintings!

    • Merril, it does seem “rustic.” I like the idea of an old colonial building, too. It would be cool to have the Paul Revere theme!
      Thanks for noticing the new colorful art pieces my brother’s been doing! Hope you have a peaceful weekend! πŸ™‚

  2. Beautiful threads of delicate thoughts leading through the doors and mirrors. The face in the mirror particularly caught me …. I loved this, dear Robin ❀️

  3. A wonderful contribution to Thursday Doors, Robin When I saw it with your name attached, I wondered if it was more of your brothers work. I like it a lot. Your poem is a wonderful companion to it. Cheers!

    • Thanks for looking at the art and reading my ponderings, Diana. I appreciate your saying the sculpture showed creativity.
      I has thanks for reading my thoughts, which made it seem you were channeling Kreskin’s ESP. πŸ˜€

      • Hey, it’s a door πŸ™‚ I think it’s OK to use a prompt to offer something like this. I don’t like it when people post to five different prompts and say “there’s a door in there somewhere” but yours is the focal point. And a nice piece or artwork.

  4. As I looked at this piece Robin I was thinking its stature and shape reminded me of a Grandfather Clock gone astray – either by the makers hand or its own design………. The bottom part though an off kilter stack reminiscent of a pile of books, one knock and down they will tumble. I was studying the top part, trying to decide if it looked more like a bird cage or a post box – or perhaps a mix of both – when I saw the face. Definitely a Grandfather Clock of character then!! πŸ™‚

    • This is a very astute comment. I can tell you studied this art structure and I like the way your mind goes and you gathered it together into such lovely thoughts. I must tell him about the grandfather clock gone astray theory, Pauline.
      I agree the stacks of pieces look like books, as well as being off kilter. Hugs xo

  5. Pingback: Thursday’s Doors: Corner art pieces β€” witlessdatingafterfifty | Le Bien-Etre au bout des Doigts

Leave a Reply

