A sunny and bend in the river kind of day

Image

This has been a place I have stood before.

Not on the edge of a precipice,

nor in the depths of a cave,

just a regular day with

sunshine, clouds

and a bend in

the river.

This is 30

years since

I chose this

town, while

probably may have 

stood here 100’s of times.

Where’s your “go to” place

to soak in some peace, 

negative ions for 

a positive effect?

Photo taken on

edge of the Olentangy 

River, by Mingo Park

where hundreds of

Years ago, the tribe

of peaceful Mingo’s

took shelter and

nourishment,

just as I sought

in Fall, 1986.
~~~~~~~~~~~~

Two fall quotes:

~ One ~

“The golden rod is yellow,

The corn is turning brown,

The trees in apple orchards

with fruit, are bending down.”

 ~ Helen Hunt Jackson,

American poet (1830 – 1885)

Note: She led a rather short life.

~ Two ~

“No Spring nor Summer beauty

have such grace,

As I have seen in one Autumnal face.”

~ John Dunne,

English poet (1572 – 1631)

Note: Another poet who died before 60.

86 responses »

    • It is exciting to think about our Olentangy tributary (Mingo section) being similar to a far away part of a Scottish winding River Tay! Thanks for sharing this, Mike. I was following you starting in South America, then “we” (3) traveled off to Europe together. πŸ™‚ The steeple is on St. Mary’s Catholic Church.

    • I love the ocean, Jill! ❀ It has been quite awhile since I have traveled to the Atlantic Ocean, when I was dating the "fisherman." We were dating the first year of my picture-less blog. (2012) πŸ™‚
      You had storms on an ocean trip but still enjoyed it anyway, if I remember one of your own blog posts. . . May we both make it to the ocean in not too many months, not years!!

    • Dan, I liked your foggy photos of the water, the disappearing dock and just a touch of blue peeking through the clouds and mist. It was a heavenly collection!
      I am glad you could relate to my description of the feel of being along a river.

  1. Beautiful photo and thoughts, Robin.
    I like how you’ve captured the bend in the river.
    I don’t have a particular spot, but I love places near water–ponds, rivers, or the ocean.

    • Thank you, Dee. My step grandson had his 11th b’day party on Friday, then yesterday got together with a friend who read then wanted to see, “The Girl on the Train.” It was a better film than book, I felt it added two new character traits to the main character, the spectator.

  2. What a lovely place to just BE. For me – just let me be outside where no sound but natures own are heard, rain or sun, cloud or fog, hot or cold I’m content 😌

    • This is a fantastic outlook about nature, Fiona. I like to try and take breaths, in and then out. Relax and seek comfort, tranquility and renewal. Nature is such a gift.
      There are people in close quarters, hovels in cities, like in India and other crowded places. It makes me sad, the rivers are so dirty there. . . We are so blessed that weather doesn’t matter, just knowing we have nature retreats!

      • That is so true, Robin. There are far too many places in this world where people have no chance to stand and stare and breathe in the fresh air. And sadly we don’t have to look far (be I talking about France, Britain or here in the USA) to find them.

    • George, somehow my response I thought I wrote didn’t post while on WordPress. This meant coming to check on Mozilla Firefox, how my replies were posting.
      Long explanation but wished to let you know I appreciate the accolades of “terrific” and “beautifully written.”

  3. Just beautiful!!! These are the shots I see from the car when we travel, but am never near enough to photograph! Helen Hunt Jackson wrote her novel Ramona about the exact area where we lived in California for 20 years. And my relatives’ lake resort in Michigan was named after the novel. So I feel as if I have an affinity with Jackson :).

    • Oh,so glad you mentioned the ways Helen Hunt Jackson’s book locales and how near to your heart and past homes, Luanne.
      I am recuperating at Mom’s after cataract surgery, which got a bit scary, blood pressure plummeted to 72/35 at end of the procedure. “Twilight” anaesthetia doesn’t help since I heard them being nervous as adding new bag to drip with liquids. Fine now and watching World Series from sofa at Mom’s. πŸ™‚

      • I’m so glad to hear you’re ok, Robin. I had on my calendar what day you were having the surgery so I could pray for you and wish you well. That does sound like a very scary blood pressure! What a relief that you are fine now!!! Sending love! xoxoxo

    • Thanks for caring and prayers, Luanne! ❀ I am trying to follow directions like not bending down nor lifting more than 15 lbs! xo
      I liked the affinity yoy have for Ms. H. H. Jackson and your family naming the cabin for the novel. πŸ™‚

    • Kath, this was great then to share two of Autumn’s poems and my favorite spot with you!
      I enjoy all of the beauty of Fall but feel it is bittersweet. πŸ™‚ Spring leads into three seasons in a row I like while Fall leads straight into Winter! 😦

  4. Pingback: A sunny and bend in the river kind of day β€” witlessdatingafterfifty | Le Bien-Etre au bout des Doigts

  5. Robin, a lovely post, sweeping with peace and gentle spirit of nature. We can all do with :
    ‘just a regular day with

    sunshine, clouds

    and a bend in

    the river.’

    Such tranquility in your words and it sounds as if you’ve had thirty wonderful years here, seeking solace along the river. I’d never heard of the Mingo before and enjoyed learning more about them online – it’s a joy this self-study, sharing with others on WP. Also love the poems both capturing the essence of Autumn and John Donne is one of my favourite poets. As for my favourite place – impossible to name just one but we have a walk locally with spectacular views across the fields, the church and the lake. Here I will always pause and reflect on the day.πŸ˜€

    • Annika, the place you described with words is a wonderful place indeed.
      Some of your views, along one of your favorite walks, are included in mine, in body of water and a church.
      Yours goes across fields, past a church and by a lake. . . Pausing and reflecting on your day is a part of the true “substance” of a special day. ❀

    • Oh, Annika. I meant to say you are a spectacular blogger, I see you doing research as my post included the Mingo tribe, as well as your choosing to follow other interesting facts the fellow bloggers include. I am very excited about your “Sofia!” short story. A volume of a collection of stories such as these would be a great idea! πŸ™‚

    • So glad you found everything about this to create a serene setting, Diana. It seems like one I have pondered and meditated near but didn’t add~ the grandies love to wade through to the other side and also, feed the geese and ducks who often spend time here. πŸ™‚

    • Sarah, thank you for the double compliments! Hope your eye is healing from the plastic thingy which scarred your eye. So scary. You are in my thoughts and prayers. ❀

      • YouΒ΄re very welcome, Robin! And thank you so much for your thoughts and prayers!! πŸ™‚ YouΒ΄re so sweet πŸ˜€ Hope you recover fast from your surgery and sending healing thoughts your way too! xxxxx

  6. Peaceful, indeed. The combination of land, sky and water can’t be beat when it comes to resetting and grounding. Thanks for sharing this pic. I plan to return to it when the real thing is out of reach.

Leave a Reply

