Fall means football!

Image


When the seventh graders get 

to play Dempsey Pacer football,

Delaware, Ohio junior high school

on the High School football field,

It is a Big Deal!

When Skyler #52, has his father

announcing from the box above

the grandstands, twice sharing

a “sack” my grandson did,

to prevent the other team

player from proceeding

forward in yardage,

following with a

jubilant additional

comment of:

“That’s my boy!”

Our family chuckle

and don’t even mind

too much that his team

got beat by Buckeye Valley

seventh graders’ team!

There is a tree in the 

background shows 

some

leaves

Changing!

Woo-hoo!

Celebrate Fall

and please add a note

here of some fun you

may be having. 

No matter what season you are in!

52 responses »

  1. This made me smile! Fall is in full swing here …. leaves turning mightily and falling as they ever will leaving the bare skeletons of trees to sleep another winter.

    • Fiona! Fall is a happy “F” word and so is your name. . . a little naughty Robin comment…
      This was taken a nine days ago, so a more changes to cime!
      Our leaves got a little shook up and some fell with rain. We have quite a few strong, hearty green leaves holding on for their “time in the sun!” Soon, we may have lots more color! Happy to spread smiles and thanks for mine this early a.m. before 7:00 clock in!

      • I had a ‘nuit blanche’ as we say in France (another happy F word for you at least for me!). I remember being really cross as a teenager when I realised that the F word was THAT word and not me!!! I’m sure Fall is jumping out of the shadows over your way now … I just can’t contain myself with the beauty of it all – it makes my eyes prick with tears that nature can give such bounteous gifts without even trying and yet we take and take and do our utmost to take more (not you and I you understand but human un–kind in general) ….. I wish you only sunshine for you fill many lives with warmth and glowing rays ☀️

    • Fantastic, fabulous, Fiona! ❤ Thanks for adding France to the list of my Favorite things, dear.
      I enjoyed how you gushed about our nature's bounty. I agree, we try to not "take" and we try to give back, recycle and plant.
      Also, wishes for sunshine for me to refuel my happiness tank! 😉

  2. You gotta love the ‘hometown announcer.’ That made me smile. It reminded me of when my first daughter was playing jr. high volleyball, and after she served 6 of 7 straight points, during a lull in the noise I yelled out, ‘That’s my girl!’ It made her smile, even if it embarrassed her a little, and she still remembers it. – Mike

    • I gotta love your shout out, Mike! Of course, we do this, too. Girls’ activities and participation is important! So happy she was not Too embarrassed and probably extra happy you said, “That’s my girl!” I pointed out to several people which girl is “my granddaughter’s cheering!” at the next grade up, 8th grade football games, Lara. My son brought her and her brother into our lives by marrying Trista 8 years ago. 🙂

      • Well, they are poems. Did you know that the words to Ox Cart Man is poetry? I did not, and now I read that book with new eyes. You are a poet, Robin.

      • Thank you, Jennie. I do feel lyrical books are full of poetry. Still, think this is stretching the parameters, but don’t want to disagree with my good friend!

  3. It’s definitely starting to look (and feel) more like fall here. I don’t like the shorter days though. (Isn’t it weird being awake long before the sun comes up?)

    How nice for your grandson that the whole family came out to support him, and his father’s comment made me chuckle. I don’t know anything about football (or most other sports), but I’ve felt that parental pride when seeing my daughters perform or achieve success in other ways.

    • Merril, I don’t like going into work in the dark. As days get shorter, I even more dislike leaving when it’s black out.

      Skyler plays the bass, which to me looks like a cello. He is in Orchestra during the school year, as well as baseball in the summer. I wish he weren’t in football because of how it jars children’s heads. My ex-husband and his wife came from near Dayton, Ohio to sit with us as a family.
      Glad you chuckled about Greg’s announcing! 🙂

      • Skyler sounds very busy. My daughters were in lots of activities, plus some private lessons, but didn’t do sports. (They did briefly try soccer, ice skating, and diving, but they had no interest in pursuing any of them.)

        By December I will feel like it’s bedtime at 5 PM!

    • Yes, darkness is overwhelming and can change people’s mood from the lack of sunlight. I am hoping to get a new job and leave the long hours of my current position. Your comment about bedtime made me smile! Merril, bedtime for me is always 11 pm! 🙂

  4. I grew up across from a park. During the Fall they younger kids would practice at the park. That was always a happy time for me. Maybe that’s why I like football so much. I love Fall!

    • I love this memory that you shared, April. I knew you liked football a lot but now I know why. This was so cool! Fall does mean a lot of special times, including football. Go favorite teams!

    • Fall having shadows is a lovely thought, Juan. Yes to all the great elements that are Fall alone’s.
      Our town is rather quaint which does make it special. We have a university, home of the Central Ohio Symphony Orchestra and seem to be progressive. We are blessed, I appreciate this!

    • I am glad you chose to attend all the high school games so you could know more about the high school scene, while your daughters were in high school, Kirt.
      So far middle school football is a blast! We have had great weather, too. 🙂

  5. Such a great photo. Im loving the colours. In NZ we don’t follow football, its rugby here, and our fall doesn’t seem to go as orange as yours does. I’d love to see a real fall like you guys get.

  6. Woo Hoo Skyler! I have only been to a scant few games in adulthood (no kids), but I rarely ever missed a home game in High School. My boyfriend was the drum major, so I lived for half-time, not so much for the game itself. As the oldest, not of my brothers were playing HS ball yet, or that might have changed.

    My little dog TinkerToy hates the heat as much as I do, so fall is really fun for him, no matter WHAT we do together. I rent, so no raking, etc. Just marveling as the leaves change — and thrilled that I get to dig out my favorite jeans, boots, sweaters and jackets once more. Tink doesn’t get to wear his sweater or jacket until there’s snow on the ground (keeps his belly from turning to ice)

    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    • Madelyn, I was I marching band and admired the drum major! I liked our seventies music, Chicago, Beatles, even musicals like Godspell and Jesus Christ Superstar. So, I was more for half-times, too. 🙂

      It was so nice of you to share about your dog, Tink. I think the advantage of renting is to look at all the landscaping and gardening others have had to do and enjoy! Happy Fall!

      • What did you play? At my school males and females wore the same uniform – pants & longish jackets that flattered none of the girls. 🙂 Only the majorettes had skimpy skirts and fitted tops.

        If I owned a cottage, I would be a fan of ground cover. I have always thought that lawns were God’s joke on man – 1st you fertilize the grass get it to grow quickly . . . so you can mow it. 🙂

        THEN, in autumn you get to rake!

        xx,
        mgh

    • I was a clarinet player from 4th grade through senior year of high school. 🙂 It was the same marching band uniform for both sexes in h.s. In Orchestra, we wore long black skirts and white blouses. . . Yes, cheerleading and the majorettes wore quite cute uniforms! Since our team was the Bay High Rockets, they were actually called the Rockettes! 😀

      • Rockettes – I love it! I never got to play an instrument (except something called a flutaphone, a plastic dealie used to teach music when I was in the 4th grade or so).

        Do they even teach music to kids anymore? I doubt that it happens in American, anyway, with all this “teach the test” nonsense? SO misguided and short-sighted.

        I almost auditioned for the Radio City Rockettes when I first moved to NYC but, at 5’8″ I would have been one of the shortest (fewer openings) — and their rehearsals & performance schedules would have made it impossible for me to make it to theatre auditions, which was actually my passion.

        Happy Halloween, btw. If you’re up for a giggle, check out my dog’s post today, “THIS will REALLY Scare you!”

        xx,
        mgh

  7. Two sacks! Way to go! You’re in the heart of football country, Robin. I miss that up here in New England, where high school football just isn’t that big a deal and junior high football is barely acknowledged.

Leave a Reply

