cheerful town

Image

Noticing details in our everyday lives

can lift our spirits. Not a new concept

but still as I head through town in

my car, I see so much displayed

which cheers me up:

American flag flying,

Hanging flower pots on posts

Stone concrete “gardens” of fall flowers,

Children holding hands with parents,

Bicycle lane painted on our roads

throughout the town of Delaware.

The last days of the downtown

Farmer’s market, with gourds,

pumpkins and chrysanthemums

in purple, burgundy, gold and orange.

A small microcosm of Americana,

just part of my “world” which 

truly warms my heart!

~ robin e. o. cochran

xo   xo   xo   xo   xo   

Do you mind sharing what lifts you up?

Note: Today’s my right eye cataract surgery, so will catch up with you later this weekend.

78 responses »

  1. Thinking of you during your surgery – keep us posted! I wonder which town this is, in Delaware. I’m most familiar with Wilmington, where my mom lives. Perhaps this is Newark? I agree, walking into a familiar town, seeing familiar faces as we walk through our chores in and out of the shops, smiling, waving, stopping and getting a croissant from our favorite bakery, a slab of cheese and bottle of wine from the “The Cheese Shop,” a new book from the independent bookstore, and a small bag of chocolates and greeting cards from the Candy Store. Good ole time Americana still thrives, thank goodness!

    • Robin is in Delaware, Ohio, Pam. I always think state of Delaware, too. πŸ™‚
      Your town sounds great–croissant, cheese, wine, books, and chocolate all in your local stores that you can walk to? Nothing like that here.

      • Oh yeahhhh, I knew I knew that. I just forgot. :-0 Thanks Merril. Yes, the town I live near is amazing with these stores. I think the independent bookstore is my favorite!! πŸ™‚

      • There are actually little towns like Haddonfield and Collingswood that have some of those things, but I still have to drive to get there, but I don’t know about bookstores.

      • Thank you, Merril for helping me out! Big hugs! xo
        We have most of the shops Pam mentioned in her local area. We lost our bookshop for all ages but we have a children’s book store with teacher’s supplies. Fundamentals shop often has young teens stopping in to get posters and science and social studies project materials. πŸ™‚

    • Pam, nice for our friends to pick up the slack while I am recuperating! I fell behind. . .
      We have several restaurants, shops to buy baked goods, coffee shops, as well as gift shops and antique stores. We lost our all ages book store, sadly, but we have Fundamentals children’s books. At Choffey’s coffee shop, they also sell homemade chocolates. πŸ™‚
      I wrote a post last fall about Americana, which talked about small town folks helping each other, Pam. πŸ™‚

    • It is lovely to see all the sights of a small busy town including patriotism, Ian. My eye surgery held me up so I didn’t have a chance till tonight to respond! I think it is a friendly corner of the world where you and Ana would enjoy the “sights.” If only I could make it to your corner. . . someday, maybe. πŸ™‚

      • Now I find out about the Cataracts Robin, shows you how much I run late on commenting and likes, I seem to have two areas and it gets confusing sometime, at least at the end of the day, we catch up, cheers my Friend.

    • Jill, Congratulations on your book being published!! πŸΎπŸ’
      I wish my eye would be less bloodshot but my blood pressure dropped (72/35), table was tipped with head down; so this may explain the redness.
      Very glad your Dad’s went smoothly. My Mom never had any redness either.
      Yes, may God bless us; as well as our friends around the world! πŸ™‚

  2. I love the sky in your photo, Robin. I agree that sometimes it’s the things around us that can bring us joy.
    Lifting me up just now was having a family outing–both daughters, my husband, and me–that hasn’t happened in a long time.

    Good luck with your surgery! I hope all goes smoothly. My husband has had cataract surgery in both eyes, and he loves being able to see so well now.

    • The wonderful part of your visit is that you helped me by answering Pam and filling her in, dear friend. ❀ Thank you!
      I am so happy you are (were) off on an outing with both daughters and husband. This sounds like a lot of family fun!
      I am grateful that my surgery is over, hoping my eye is less red in a week! It was a little unusual since my BP dropped to 72/35 and they tipped the table and added some more fluids in my IV. I heard everything which was a little nerve wracking. My Mom's senior living apt building friends all tell me my red eye is unusual. Oh well!
      The sky really was gorgeous this day, Merril!

      • Sorry about your scary moment during surgery. I wouldn’t think it would take too long for your eye to heal. Can you see well from it yet? I was amazed that my husband could see pretty well from his eye(s) the same day as the surgery, and I don’t remember his eyes being red, so it must not have lasted for very long.
        And you are welcome! I didn’t think you’d mind if I answered Pam. Yes, older daughter was here for a very brief visit, so it was great that all of us could get together. πŸ™‚

    • “Life” is a perfect answer to “what lifts you up,” Chris!
      I am sure eventually my eye will be fine but I had a slight delay in my healing, which caused my eye to be so red. It is best I just not even look at it!

    • It is a good idea to think this way about surgery, Anneli. ❀ I am hoping the redness clears, as well as achy feeling. I don't take ibuprofen or Tylenol so am powering through the pain. πŸ™‚ Silly low blood pressure went too low and tilting table for blood to flow to end light hearted feeling caused blood to gather in the eye. Drat!

    • Thank you, Juan. Counting two blocks by three blocks about seven lights or more. We have “depth” to our downtown plus the college campus is right next door. Football, baseball, soccer, lacrosse, aquatics building and tennis fields. . . There are stop lights and walkways around campus, too. πŸ™‚

    • I definitely read comments last Friday, Luanne! ❀ Thank you so much for your loving thoughts and prayers. You showed such a special memory to remember my eye surgery! I just had a small setback and haven't been blogging for more than a few minutes at a time. xoxo

  3. Americana! My favorite art theme! Have you discovered Charles Wysocki? He is my #1 Americana Artist. Your photograph is right there!

    I hope your surgery was successful and your eyesight is back to normal or better than! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much for your mentioning Charles Wysocki. I was given a beautiful calendar with his homey, iconic paintings on each month. I have not taken more than one or two to frame (Christmas and Spring) which I set the framed prints in one of those little easels on a shelf to gaze upon. πŸ™‚
      It was a little different than I expected but soon will be seeing better. The redness isn’t clearing yet. Take care and thank you! πŸ™‚

      • I love his calendars! I have quite a few saved. I’ve never had any of the prints framed. What a great idea! I love the Christmas one. I had a counted cross stitch started of a Christmas village, but who knows if I’ll ever finish it.

        I’m so happy to hear you’re doing well and hope your recovery is swift and full!

  4. What an idyllic little town. I like how you put it, a “small microcosm of Americana.” I am lifted up recently by the precious little students that I have been working with in preschool. One day last week was their picture day, and they came to school in their little skirts, suits, bows and ties. They got to pose in front of the camera like they were little rock stars…and they kinda are πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

