Thursday’s Doors ~ belated Halloween skeletons

Image

Skeletons in the windows,

Could be still here in December,

since the ghosts of Christmas

past,  present,  and future 

are relevant throughout

the seasons, right?

πŸ˜‰

Just kidding!

They may take them down

the day of Halloween, but I am

visiting my Mom. She loved the

photos of my grown children’s 

and families’ home town,

Delaware, Ohio.

This door as well as the next 

photographs are part of 

Norm Frampton’s

Thursday’s Doors

program. Please 

feel free to head over 

to his blog and check other

bloggers door posts with links.

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

Happy Thursday and have 

a wonderful week!

26 responses »

  1. This was my first real Halloween by which I mean that across in Europe. We have pinched the idea and run with it but really it is the USA that rules it. I was amazed at all the decorations and pumpkin lanterns and costumes and fun and then, just like that, most of it gone on November 1. Maybe its the law here (kidding) …. πŸ˜‚

    • Oh, so glad to know that we are the Halloween celebration leaders, Fiona! In my area, they leave decorations up for awhile. I am not sure if this is just a random stroke of luck or reluctance to continue into harvest and Thanksgiving decorations. ( !?)

      • Most definitely. We never celebrated halloween in England when I was a child – it was strictly Guy Fawkes/Bonfire Night and in France it is all about Toussaint (All Saints) the next day. It has crept over and there is trick or treating and many trinkets to buy but here it is pumpkin heaven and all those decorations are wonderful. I’m now looking forward to my first Thanksgiving πŸ¦ƒ x

      • I forgot about Guy Fawkes and Bonfire day but my Mom never lets me forget that her birthday is All Saints Day, since you know she is one of them! πŸ˜‰ She used to say this when we were kids but now less likely to joke about it.

      • She shares her day with my late Uncle then. His daughter lives in Ohio. How’s that for a tenuous connection!! Guy Fawkes is actually my third daughter’s birthday and she owns the day rather as your mother does All Saints!

      • Oh, my goodness! I like connections, whether they are tenuous or not, dear! Was it your father’s or mother’s brother?
        Did we think of this Ohio connection before this? This gives me hope our paths may cross someday, with our own tweaking and planning a bit. πŸ˜‰

      • My mother’s brother. She was one of 6 and he went to Harvard Business School after leaving the British Navy and never left the States – first California and then New York (lived in Conn with a lakeside summer home in NH). His daughter, my cousin, lives in Shaker Heights – her husband is a professor at the University in Cleveland. I will get over to see her (it’ll be next year as I have to be back in France from the end of the month til summer) and I will make plans with you – too much opportunity slips by in life and I like to grab the chances

  2. The skeleton in the window is spooky looking…here pumpkins after Halloween lie by doors, sodden, sad-looking affairs after the bright spark of the 31st. Lovely photo, capturing the essence of autumn and the door, even with the decoration, is so welcoming and pretty.

    • The skeletons reminded me of those in science lab classes and in doctor’s office posters. I agree, not sad looking like pumpkins which, once frozen at night, fold into themselves.
      Glad you found this to be welcoming and a pretty door, Annika. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

