Unique sculpture and lake rock murals

Image


When Randy had his home in

Columbus, he had a place to

Store wood and found broken

Furniture and knew guys from

the Franklin County and

City of Columbus road

work and ODOT.

When trees died,

They would call

Randy to see if he

Would like to sculpt

From the “remains of the day.”

What do you think of his heavy

worn out brick pieces found

along the shores of Lake Erie

put into large sturdy wooden frames?

There are probably a dozen of these

made, while some have “found homes.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I see a river or a stretched human form

on what I certainly wouldn’t want

to offend anyone by calling the

“V” sculpture, “tribal.”

My good friend, Karen,

and her partner wanted

me to forward several of

Randy’s art pieces, they

would like to consider

purchasing one indoor

and one outdoor

sculpture. Since

Karen works with me,

Randy is open to their offers

and installment payments.

I just like so much his new location,

more quiet and less dangerous than

his old city neighborhood in Columbus.

Now, Randy needs to “make new

friends” and contacts with city

departments, so pieces of

sawed down trees can

become fresh and

alive through the

Magic of Art!

::::::::::::

Photograph by Robin,

Original artwork by

her brother can be seen

in person or check his public

access Facebook page,

Randall David Oldrieve.

62 responses »

  1. Your brother does some really interesting and creative work. I like the idea that he repurposes materials in his artwork. I’m particularly fond of the wooden swirl on the right of the photo.

    • Joanne, I like that art piece, too. The wooden swirl reminds me of “action” or like a symbol of some natural “force!”
      Thank you for your thoughtful summary describing positive elements of his artwork.

    • Dan, I like the roadside debris part of your comment! It makes it seem like quite a transformation into their final stage. Thank you for describing it as beautiful, too. πŸ™‚

    • It is definitely unique and may not fit into home decorating, Diana. Randy’s art appeals to the senses, I think. Your description of “dramatic” and “stunning” makes me think of how it could be used in a theatre production. πŸ™‚
      If I were to choose my favorite part of Randy’s art it would be the way he sculpts out of wood. This will be demonstrated in another post soon. Thank you for such a fantastic comment! πŸ™‚

    • Sorry to send off a belated reply, Pauline! xo I love the idea of a “Viking” since it has been my own thought about another sculpture he left behind on the cliff, at the Lake Erie house of a, “headless fisherman.” I always appreciate your artistic “eye” and caring words shared with us. xo

    • Thank you, Colleen! My younger brother and his wife used a circular lake softened stone and brick art piece on their front porch wall. πŸ™‚ It really looks nice there.

    • I really like your enthusiasm, Deborah. πŸ™‚ Thank you for these nice wishes for my brother. He did an amazing mural for a place called Bluescreek Meats Market. Itvhad family members photos included and not sure if a search would bring this up. . .
      I post about his artwork often, since it does inspire interesting comments and I don’t need to get permission. πŸ™‚
      He did hieroglyphics on the Luxor Hotel (pyramid) in Vegas and the ceiling for Magic Johnson’s theater in Harlem. He works on logos for Fathead’s Brewery, their resident artist in Cleveland, Ohio. He did the murals for then in Pittsburgh and Seattle, Washington. Art is such a feast or famine profession!

      • I know, Deborah! There still are year where it is close to starving for him! I used to say, “in the olden days, people would have chosen to be his “Patron of arts” or “Wouldn’t Randy have been wonderful as the royal court’s artist?”

    • The comment was intended for you, Deborah. πŸ™‚ We had been talking about artists and then accidentally I mis-named you. Old conversation but I thought of something to add. . .

    • Annika, if it were mine I would be happy to give it to you. I like almost all of his work. I featured a Lake Erie beach scene I have, as well as paper collages which my grandies love. He has been very good at networking across the country to get jobs. Thank you for saying he has a gift. xo
      I have been bereft over the election but so glad to concentrate on peaceful friends here on my blog and theirs, too.

Leave a Reply

