Thursday’s Doors ~ Full view, Delaware home

Image

One of my favorite houses isn’t

really fancy nor too much in cost

compared to some of the newer,

more elaborate houses.The brick

with creamy white details outline

how nice this is, but not ostentatious.

The land property around it displays

older, shady trees as well as lush,

thick carpet of green grass.

What kinds of details

are ones which make

a difference between

a nice looking home

and one you dream

and wish for? 

This house with front door,

featured in next post on same day,

is part of Thursday’s Doors, which

is a group of bloggers whose leader,

Norm Frampton, displays his own

door post as well as links to a 

wide variety of doors.

Check out our doors’ collection at:

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

35 responses »

  1. This is a pretty house. I like the beautiful windows and French doors with the fan shaped window above it, and the gingerbread arch at the doorway.
    My sisters and I love the house we lived in when I was in high school. It was a big center hall house with lots of windows and two fireplaces, probably built c.1920? That neighborhood is “trendy” now, so I’m sure the house has been renovated since we lived there. It needed a new kitchen even then. πŸ™‚

    • Oh, Merril! Thanks so much for liking the door post home I chose to feature. I am honored with your sharing details of this house today.
      Your memories of the home you lived in during your high school years warm my heart. ❀
      When my parents sold my junior high and high school home, they fixed some "trouble spots" and I know I miss that home most of all of their houses.
      The lake cottage has wonderful memories but that was more special for my children, then for my "coming of age" memories. I did get some after the first wedding reception photos which resonate with me. . . πŸ™‚

      • I think my old house may have been in my mind because when I did the Lupus Walk I was mentioning to my daughter and son-in-law some of the places we used to go to, and then said we should show them our old neighborhood sometime.

    • I just know our town’s homes aren’t as expensive as ones closer to Cincinnati, Columbus or Cleveland. Funny all the big cities start with a “C.” πŸ™‚ I am guessing with help from my youngest daughter now a realtor, about $200,000. I will let you know if I know it comes up for sale. . . I love the street and the elementary school down the same street is called Smith Elementary. My 3 grown kids and 2 of my grandies attended there. We trick or treated here many times! πŸ™‚

      • Yes, I actually am not sure where in OH you are…sorry…did we talk about that before?? Anyway, I’m sure it’s more expensive near the cities. $200,000??!! That would be a million dollar home in L.A.!

      • You now understand why I mentioned it being rather “reasonable,” Marissa!! This is an older neighborhood where many homes are still in the 90’s or low 100’s! I lived only a street away in a rental home for $350 a month, about 20 years ago! πŸ™‚

  2. That is a beautiful designed house, dignified yet with promises of a comfortable and loving interior, for some reason the word Delicious comes to mind viewing that beautiful ornate home.
    Yes I could comfortably retire to the inner sanctums of that abode.
    Cheers.

    • Ian, your description should be the way I posted about it. You are fantastic with this elaboration.
      I think the word delicious comes since it looks like a gingerbread cookie with sugar icing! πŸ™‚ Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

