Watercolor inspired by Anneli’s photograph

Image

Anneli’s travel post from

going through Missoula, Montana

will share five photographs which

included the inspiration for this

Sunday morning painting I did.

It could have more details or depth 

but I tend to worry about messing

with watercolors and how they

“get muddy!” I hope you will

check out my dear friend,

Anneli’s post found at:

Turning Seasons

While you are visiting her,

take a look at her books she wrote,

as well as the natural wonders,

her dogs, Emma and Ruby,

and much more there! 

67 responses »

    • Colleen, I just was in a mood to try this, attempting to depict Anneli’s softened photograph which has a dreamy, meandering stream flowing through it. Thank you for your loving it!<3

    • Jen, thank you, sweetie! ❀ I am happy to have spent time relaxing while envisioning myself along this meandering, rippling stream. There were a lot of weeds turned white which I could not help wanting to fill in more color but set the paintbrush down. Have a wonderful week and I think K. may let you share. . . xo

    • Jill, this was such a special message and thank you! πŸ™‚ I like to practice with my grandkids coloring. I only occasionally work with watercolors to create a painting. I feel my art training could use more practice and lessons.

    • I appreciate this compliment, Fiona. I love Anneli’s posts, her baking, cooking, her wild birds and animals, where she creates “conversations” with a great sense of humor.

    • It was so nice to try and create the essence of your lovely photograph, Anneli. You could enlarge any of the five featured on your post. I took some “artistic license” with the painting since I couldn’t quite get all of details the way they appeared.
      It really was enjoyable and was hoping you would like how it came out.

    • The possibility of messing up did occur to me, Sarah. I even told Anneli of my choosing to relax and paint when I saw her post. Then I had to try to do well enough not to embarrass myself. Ha ha πŸ˜€

  1. Oh, Robin, this is lovely and I think you are accomplished. I tried watercolours a few times but found it impossible as they always ‘ran’ into each other – I’m so impressed by people who can avoid this!

    • I think I use smaller dabs of colors and less “free range” water puddles. I used to like the way it would run together. Someday, we have an arts castle where I can take a course or two on watercolors and probably could use one on perspective, Annika. πŸ™‚
      Thank you for such accolades!

    • Beth, always such a sweet breath of fresh air. Thanks so much, but I do feel I could use some classes. It is fun to practice and I give Anneli’s photograph of this scene, the “credit.” πŸ™‚

  2. All things bright and beautiful aptly illustrated in that painting.

    About 3 months ago we had a forest in front of the residential apartment I live in outside the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife Campus(Nigeria). Fortunately a large portion of the forest have been cleared to make way for the development of an Estate. The laudable project was commissioned by the King, Ooni as we call him.

    Unfortunately, the course of the stream which runs beside road have been disrupted and I fear that the aquatic life there is in danger.

    If I were to make a painting of this place (I last painted something in High School) it wouldn’t be as beautiful as this. Nature should be preserved. Even in watercolors.

    Very nice painting Robin πŸ‘

    • This was a sad story and I think you may wish to write “unfortunately” at the forest cut down.
      I am blessed with your sharing this with us.
      Thank you for such a nice compliment on my watercolor painting. Take care and after this week, I will be less busy. πŸ™‚

    • Yonni, I am happy with both of your kind responses! I dabble in watercolor painting and appreciate your saying this is calming.
      I started out in one direction, (100 dates in 6 months) and then decided to write about shared experiences. My “byline” is “Relationships reveal our hearts.” πŸ™‚

  3. HOW’D I MISS THIS? Been too crazy with holidays and traveling last week, but so glad I found your watercolor. It is BEAUTIFUL and evocative. You’re an artist of many venues, Robin. xo

  4. Thank you for such a nice compliment on my watercolor painting. Love the soft colors πŸ™‚ Also love the name of your blog by the way – cute πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks very much, Computer or Billy.
      I had this idea to start the blog with my 100 dates in six months. I posted a lot of the best of the stories on my early days of blogging. Then cooks came by, so I would post a good article, poets came by and I tried to rhyme. . . Thanks for your nice comments! Smiles, Robin

Leave a Reply

